Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

I Hate Mary Ellen Walton!

on February 3, 2013

The_Waltons_Title_Screen

Yeah, that’s right and it is personal! That girl has plagued me for years, along with her entire family.

A little back story is called for here. Mary Ellen Walton lived in a cabin on a mountain with: her four brothers, two sisters, her parents and her grandparents, in a place called TV land. The series was called “The Waltons” (duh), and was sugary sweet, full of moral lessons and placed at the time of the Great Depression and World War II.

At the end of each episode, the family would follow a nightly ritual which involved saying goodnight to each other from their rooms. So, it went like this. “Goodnight, John Boy.” “Goodnight, Mary Ellen.” and on..and on..and on, until all family members had been called upon to have a good night. I guess with no television, this was the family’s only entertainment.

So, why do I hate Mary Ellen Walton? Well, I happen to have the same first name, (not Mary, not Ellen, it’s Mary Ellen, thank you very much!). From the start of this series through today (yeah, the series went into syndication, lucky me), people will greet me with “Goodnight Mary Ellen!” and they will actually stand there and wait for me to call back, “Goodnight, John Boy!” They think it’s funny. They think it’s cute. I think it sucks.

Why me? When my parents named me after two separate Irish grannies; I’m sure they didn’t know that I would be hounded in future years. Before this show, Mary Ellen was a unique name and I liked it that way. After the series, the name Mary Ellen became popular; there are many of us now wandering the world stuck with this moniker; and I believe they are going through the same hell as I have.

So, Mary Ellens of the world, UNITE! When you hear “Goodnight, Mary Ellen”, stare that person in the eye and say “Goodnight, dumb-ass!”

Have you ever been teased about your name? How do you handle it?

14 responses to “I Hate Mary Ellen Walton!

  1. Susan Norden says:

    In my case, it’s really not so much about being teased about my name (although it does get a little old when people cite the famous Johnny Cash song, “A Boy Named Sue.” I never got that. I’m female, and a very feminine one at that, and I guess for some reason — eh. Whatever.) What I do face with my name is the mangling of it since I was in my 30s; so this is what I’ve been up again for the last 20 years or so: My name is Susan. NOT Suzan. NOT Suzanne. NOT Sharon. NOT Sandy. NOT Suzin. I either ignore it, or politely correct these dingbats, depending upon the situation. One of these days, however, I just know I’m just going to slap it right back to ’em and called the person “Felicia Underwood.” As in, “Glad to meet you, Felicia Underwood, right? May I call you FU?” But, really, I can’t even get to that base level; even the hint of a nasty word/phrase would make me choke, and just let it go. 😀

  2. I, too have an example of how the media can dump on a name. My not quite two-year-old granddaughter is named Britney – spelled like Britney Spears. That’s another story. Anyway, there is a popular song on the radio now with a little tag that runs in the background – Britney bitch, Britney bitch. Guess what my four-year-old granddaughter was running around the house calling her sister the other day? Hopefully this song will not have the long shelve life that “Goodnight Mary-Ellen” hand.

  3. Love your ending line; it’s good for other situations too :>)

  4. Aurora says:

    I used to get teased as a kid, but mostly about my last name. My maiden name was Maxwell, so I of course got called Maxwell House incessantly by anyone and everyone. In a way I was almost relieved to get married and take my husbands last name. However he has it much worse than me in the being teased about your name department. I am the proud wife of Mr. John Smith. (I kid you not)

  5. TamrahJo says:

    You make me laugh! My favorite Aunt is a Mary Ellen – – – I never once thought of the Waltons – thanks – now I’ll never forget it….LOL

  6. htkilburn says:

    crying with laughter. My name is Hamish and I used to get upset when the kids in the school playground used to call me ‘Ham sandwich’ – it doesn’t really live up to your anecdote though! (and I was six when it used to upset me).

  7. kerbey says:

    Fortunately, most of us old enough to remember’s John Boy and his mole are slowly losing our memories, so you shouldn’t have to endure it much longer. I’m sure no one is asking any Wards if they’re being hard on the Beaver any more.

Leave a Reply

