Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

When A Reader Jumps

on February 4, 2013

stopsign4c

I’ve only been blogging for a few months, as some of you may know.  I have noticed that at times, some readers follow a disturbing path.

They read through part of the material, find something that either disturbs them or that they disagree with..and then they jump into the comment section to make their feelings known.  Now, how do I know they haven’t read the whole piece?

Because, the very issue that disturbs them has been addressed in the part of the material that they didn’t take the time to read or they stopped mid-sentence before really understanding what the writer was trying to say.  Let me give you an example.

I wrote a post titled “When Writers Use The F Bomb”.  This post was widely read and I received a lot of comments from readers on one of my other sites; some were supportive and some were not.  That’s what I look for in all of my articles..feedback.  That’s how I learn.  But, negative feedback is not what get’s my goat!  It’s the failure to really read what I’ve said!

“If you argue that it is necessary to use the bomb to keep up with today’s readers, I point you to the books of one of the most read writers over the past 3 or 4 decades, Stephen King. He’s a master at using characters from all walks of life, and I may be wrong, but I don’t believe that I’ve had to duck the F bomb in any of his books, and I have read the majority of them. If he has used the F word, it was so subtle that I didn’t feel I had been slapped in the face with it.”

This is the paragraph that caused all the uproar..not my view on being against using the F bomb.  Comment after comment nailed me to the wall for saying that Stephen King Never Uses The F Word!  Now, read the paragraph above and tell me truthfully, have I really said that?  Did I not say that “I could be wrong?”  And, didn’t I also say that if he did use it, it wasn’t used so often that I objected to his dropping the bomb here and there?  One young lady commented that I was wrong when I said that Mr. King never curses.  I couldn’t find that sentence in my article either. I thought I only wrote about the F word.

When I read an article, a post or a book and something strikes me the wrong way, I go back and reread the section that caught my attention or , if necessary, I’ll start at the beginning and start fresh.  I make sure that I’ve read what the writer actually wrote to be sure I haven’t missed something.  I might still disagree with the writer’s words and that’s OK.  At least I have given them the respect to go back and make sure that I understood what they were saying.

We are writers who depend on our readers for feedback.  Without that feedback, we are lost.  But, we are also readers, and when we comment on someone’s work, we need to be sure that we have fully read and understood what the writer has tried to say.

So, readers, don’t jump to the comment section before you’re really sure of what you have read and that you have read all the words. It’s only right and it shows respect for the writer’s efforts.

Now, I want my WP friends and followers to know that none of you were guilty of following this path.  All the comments have been very helpful and any criticism has been constructive; I have enjoyed each and every one of them.  And, I do not want you to get me wrong.  If you see a different view on a subject than I do..please let me know!  I love that stuff!  If I’ve screwed up, let me know that too!  I won’t know unless you tell me.

And, I’ll tell you something funny.  The other site I posted this on?  I received the highest number of views and comments that I ever received since I developed a blog on that site.  I guess if you want to get someone’s attention, tell them not to use the F bomb. 🙂

8 responses to “When A Reader Jumps

  1. Gwen says:

    Controversial topics will draw attention, no matter what it is. Great post (and I read the whole thing!)

  2. John says:

    Swear words sell copy! 🙂

  3. TamrahJo says:

    I have, on great occasions, dropped the F bomb – usually to get the attention of those who aren’t listening (or reading) – – – – apparently, accusing someone of Not Using the F Word works just as well…..
    Who woulda thought?
    I hope my mother doesn’t read your blog – – – I’ll never hear the end of it….
    LOL – enjoyed your post!
    :>)

  4. I totally understand what you mean. Sometimes I find myself doing it and make sure to stop and re-read so as not to jump before the end. Has the instantaneous nature of the internet made us impatient?!

  5. htkilburn says:

    When I read your blog, its like reading a complete circle. I don’t understand how people cannot read the whole post! I haven’t disagreed with anything that I have read of yours yet, instead I feel like I leave your page having learnt something new, showing a different side to a discussion. Most of all I love how you fully describe things. I can’t really explain it, I guess I am just trying to say that I thoroughly enjoy reading what you write about!!

    • Thank you so much. I sometimes gasp when I push that “publish” button. As a new blogger, it is so gratifying that there are readers out there and they enjoy what they’ve read!

      You made an old lady’s day!:)

Leave a Reply

