Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Kill That Roach…Please!

on February 7, 2013

roach_cartoon1

Hey, WordPress, enough with the Roach.  You’re scaring this old lady to death.

You know I love ya.  But, I am sitting here at my laptop, armed with ideas and a can of Raid.  Why?  Because of that pesky roach that keeps crawling across my screen.

The first time I was reading a post, this critter scared the bejesus out of me!  I almost fell out of my chair.  Before exiting, I gritted my teeth and managed to hit the Like Button before I ran for the hills.  Now, this pesky insect seems to be haunting me.  It crawls on the sidebar; it slithers across the top of my posts and scares me to death.

The few times I was able to stay sitting at my laptop without losing my cookies, I found that this bug was in an advertisement for a game.  I’m not sure but I believe it’s called, “Kill that Roach.”  Maybe that’s not the name, it could be just wishful thinking on my part.  I can only speak for myself, but I cannot imagine anyone wanting to play this game.

Here in Florida, we spend our time trying to kill these varmints in real life; I don’t see the need to spend my spare time chasing them.  By the way, we don’t call them roaches here; we call them “Palmetto Bugs.”  Makes them a little bit classier but no less irritating.

So, to my fellow WordPressers , if I fail to leave a comment on your great post, it’s because I’m being chased by this huge insect.  Thankfully, I can “Like” your post from outside your site and will continue to do so.

Now, WordPress, I realize that you are only able to provide your most excellent services due to income from advertisers.  After all, I’m not complaining about the barely clad females that live in your ads..a girl’s got to make a living, right?  And the male eye candy?  Thank you for that!

I know that I can eliminate this pest by upgrading to Pro WordPress.  But, this little old lady is on a limited income and it will take time to save enough to do this.  I guess that until then, I’ll just keep an eye out for the next attack and keep my Raid by my side.  (My screen is getting hard to see with all the dried residue however.)

And, I’m going to pray that this particular bug is not going to procreate.  If it does, we’re really gonna have to sit down and have a long talk!

9 responses to “Kill That Roach…Please!

  1. I’ver never seen the bug you speak of – glad to say. I did get a bit freaked out over November and December when it would all of a sudden start snowing on other people’s sites.

    • Oh, you lucky woman. Maybe it really is in my laptop? No, seriously, it is out there. I was in the middle of commenting on a post and had to apologize for not finishing because the thing freaked me out!

      I haven’t seen snow in 25 years..guess I wouldn’t have minded that one!

  2. the rose says:

    The snow is an option you can select for you blog. The roach? I don’t know. I have never seen it.

  3. mewhoami says:

    Your sense of humor reminds me so much of my mother. One of many, many qualities I love about her. I thankfully have not had the pleasure of chasing roaches across my screen, but will surely be on the look out for them. Great post. Had me laughing almost all the way through.

  4. Jess says:

    Haha! This made me laugh. I haven’t yet experienced “The Roach.” I will keep an eye out though 🙂 Thanks for the laugh!

  5. Pete Denton says:

    I’ve not seen the roach yet. Hope to keep it that way 🙂

  6. […] put my claims of a Roach haunting my laptop as the ravings of a senile old Biddy. You can click here if you wish to read my desperate cry for […]

Leave a Reply

