Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

The Snoring Room

on February 7, 2013

15808701-smiley-emoticons-face-vector--sleeping-expression

Last night, after a full day of housework and cooking, Danny and I retired to the bedroom for a good night’s sleep.  I woke up when Danny attempted to gently roll me over.  “What’s the matter?” I asked.  “You’re snoring!” he replied.

Ok, so I roll over onto my tummy, a position that Danny claims prevents loud, obnoxious noises from spewing out of my mouth and went back to sleep.  I must have returned to my original position though, because I was awoken once again to the same complaint.  After the third time, I got out of bed, slipped my scuffy’s on and shuffled off to what I call the “Snoring Room.”

Since the kids have left us with an empty nest, we have two spare bedrooms and I have claimed one as mine for those nights when snoring becomes an issue.  Either I get tired of being woke up or I can’t sleep because my man is snoring to beat the band.

Now, I only have his word that I snore…I stayed up an entire night and didn’t hear myself snore once!  But I have been a victim of sleepless nights due to Danny’s snoring…so, I can appreciate the torture of listening to the sounds of a chainsaw cutting through the night.

The Snoring Room offers me shelter from these issues and has saved Danny and I from losing those Z’s that we need to wake refreshed in the A.M.  The only downside to this solution is that both Danny and I like to wake up in the same bed!  Corny, but true.  It’s a comfort to know your loved one is within arm’s reach and snuggled safely next to you.

Danny got up this morning, and I left the Snoring Room to get him a cup of coffee.

“I missed you when I woke up this morning.” he said.

“Well, you kept waking me up and saying I was snoring!” I shot back.

“You were snoring.”

“And you kept waking me up, so I went to the Snoring Room.” I replied.

He hung his head and said, “Next time I guess I should just send a note!”  God, I love this man!

Now, I did find what might be a solution to this dilemma, but I’m not quite sure that Danny wants to wake up, turn over and snuggle with me while I’m wearing a CPAP!

Do you need or have a snoring room?  How do you cope with a snoring partner…or are your snores keeping your partner awake? 

11 responses to “The Snoring Room

  1. Aurora says:

    My husband and I both snore, but I’ve never had it wake me up.(does tend to keep me awake if I’ve woken up for another reason though) The biggest thing that wakes me up in the middle of the night around here are either the baby, or the cats. The cats are the biggest culprits, they love to chase each other around the bed, or start pestering us for their morning feeding about 5am.

  2. mewhoami says:

    My husband frequently wakes me up in the middle of the night because of his loud snoring. I too must tell him to roll over often during the night. For about two months when the snoring got really out of hand, he made the living room his permanent sleeping quarters. But, after much convincing he has since moved back to the bedroom. Now our Snoring Room (aka living room) has been turned into the Snoring Escape Room. Instead of waking him up, I just grab a blanket and go curl up on the couch for the night, which he rarely notices since I wake up before him anyway.

  3. P. C. Zick says:

    For a long time we sprayed lavender scented mist on both our pillows and my husband’s snoring improved (or lavender relaxed me enough to ignore it); we do have a snoring room but don’t use it much anymore. I have friends who tried the anti-snoring mask. When the husband put it on, it set the wife into spasms of laughter. Whether it worked or not, I’m not sure, but at least one of them is laughing.

    • Really? Lavender scented Mist just went on my shopping list! Do regular stores carry it? And yes, looking at someone wearing a scuba type breathing device is sure to set off the laughter machine! Thanks for the tip!

      • P. C. Zick says:

        The one company in France that sold it, discontinued it! So using their spray bottle, I bought lavender essence oil and sprinkle 10 or so drops in the bottle and fill with bottled water. Works just as well, if not better.

  4. TamrahJo says:

    I had a Snoring Room, when I was married….
    And now, we’re divorced – – –
    He discovered he liked not waking up next to me…..
    LOL

  5. Jess says:

    My husband constantly wakes me up for snoring. Drives me nuts! I wish I had a snoring room!

Leave a Reply

