Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

What Do You Do When You’ve Got Nothing?

on February 15, 2013

At times, my muse takes off to parts unknown and leaves me flat.  So, I got to wondering how my fellow writers tackle the problem.  When you’ve got nothing, and I mean nothing to write about, are any of the following the path you choose to take?

Do you spend hours dressing up your pet so you can take it’s picture?  This usually doesn’t bode well for human and dog relationships.

Do you dig through your photo library and dig out the only picture you haven’t shared yet, which happens to be a picture of you, stuffing your face with ribs?  The obvious display of beer, cigarettes and barbeque sauce dripping off your chin might not be good for your image!

Or, do you cruise through the Internet to find a special, motivational message?  One that you feel represents your true, inner feelings?

578600_486398491411047_1122846829_n

Do you pull out all the stops and insert a video with cute, adorable kids because not many people can resist cute, adorable kids?

So, what do you do when your Muse has left the building?  Any suggestions?

Me?…I got nuthin!

20 responses to “What Do You Do When You’ve Got Nothing?

  1. 1tric says:

    Usually grab a glass of wine. Have an opinion on everything when I have a drink! Not great though if you like to blog in the morning.

  2. Traci says:

    I spend time with friends who have small children and wait for the inevitable chaos to ensue. That always produces a good story.

  3. yourothermotherhere says:

    That’s a tough one. I’ll think of some incident and expand on it. Sometimes it ends up half-baked and I don’t post it, but it does start me cooking again.

    • I hear you. You ought to see how many drafts I’ve got stored. Just can’t get going on them..which might mean their garbage or I’m just not in the right mindset!

      • yourothermotherhere says:

        I’m laughing because I keep all of mine too. Every now and then I force myself to work on one until it is good enough to post. In the meantime, I’ll just keeping adding to my “slush pile”.

  4. Jess says:

    You are the best. I love your posts!

  5. Me, when I lack inspiration I simply don’t write. Sure, it may piss off some of my readers but, the loyal ones know this about me & accept it as “Oh, that’s just how she is.” 😉

  6. Aurora says:

    I am there frequently, that’s why a lot of my posts turn into rants and pointless rambles. Maybe it’s better to write something than nothing, if nothing but for the sake of momentum. I find that if I keep writing even if it’s pointless stuff, I’m more likely to keep writing, and not miss posting for months to a year at a time as I have done in the past. (which my archive dates can attest to)

  7. John says:

    I read a lot of essays. No, not the horrible kind you wrote in school, but real essays, by real writers. There’s a series of books called “Best American Essays”, published every year for the past fifteen or so years. And, many books of essays as well — people like David Sedaris, and Dinty Moore (yes, Dinty Moore, though I don’t think he’s *that* Dinty), Amy Tan has a brilliant book of essays. I could go on an on… .but, I find that reading them, reading their creative non-fiction, which is, essentially what we are doing here on our blogs, is a way to be inspired. Their stories remind me of my stories, or their opinion fuels my argument. I’ll dig out these volumes to be inspired.

    Dinty Moore has a blog here: http://brevity.wordpress.com …. it’s worth following, as there are many posts by writers talking about what inspired them to write their most recent essay.

    Music helps me too… some great jazz, or beautiful classical music. Just sitting, listening to the music, drinking tea. Something will usually pop into my mind.

  8. I write about not having anything to write about, and usually use the post to remind myself why I love writing in the first place. Those hit my blog every few days!

    With love,
    Amanda
    withlovecoach.com

  9. TamrahJo says:

    When I have writer’s block, I write….nothing. And don’t worry about it – – – for me, Writer’s Block showing up means either I’ve worn myself out (and indicates the need for rest/rejuvenation) or means my brain is quietly piecing together, in the back-ground, the next leap of imagination or integrating together what seem to be unrelated pieces –

    I actually like Writer’s Block showing up – it means my house gets cleaned once in awhile! :>)

Leave a Reply

