Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A Little Gloating Going On

on February 18, 2013

animated-avatar-hellokitty

Oh yeah.  Why? Well, let me give you a little back story.  Danny and I have a friend named Jerry; we have been friends with him for years.  His wife, who we loved dearly, passed away about four years ago.  Last year Jerry met a woman named Joan and they have become a couple.  I don’t like Joan, plain and simple.  She is loud, bossy, rude and generally unlikable; but Jerry seems happy with her, so we tolerate her..barely.

For the past year, I have had to listen to Joan brag about her 13 year-old granddaughter, whose beauty and talent is unsurpassed (according to Joan).  Now, I have a 13 year-old granddaughter, Elizabeth.  I am a proud grandmother, but I don’t flash pictures of my girl and exclaim on how she is the prettiest child alive.  Joan does.  I don’t claim that my granddaughter will be a star because she appeared in a school musical (once)  and I won’t flash the pictures that a professional photographer took to promote the event.  Joan does.  I don’t force people to listen to me brag for hours on end about her glorious granddaughter.  Joan does.  She gloats.

Now, for those of you who don’t know what gloating is, I’ll fill you in.  According to my pal Wikipedia, its to exhibit a conspicuous sense of self-satisfaction, often at an adversary’s misfortune.  In my book, it means shoveling up crap and rubbing it In Your Face!

I understand taking pride in the accomplishments of your grandchildren.  I get that..but to have to sit and listen to this woman go on and on and on gets tedious.  Now, you might think this is all sour grapes on my part but I would have to beg to differ with you.

Elizabeth has her own share of accomplishments, but I don’t yell about them from the rooftops.  If you ask me if I have a picture of her, I’ll show you the latest school photo.  I won’t carry a folder with the professional shots taken of her, I keep those at home on the walls.  I might mention that she won 3rd place in the town’s singing contest and quietly slide the newspaper with her picture on the front across the table for you to see.  I might complain of all the traveling I have to do to see my granddaughter sing at different venues in and outside of town.  And I might talk about her latest straight A report card and let you know that she’s been in accelerated learning classes since 1st grade.  But, I never gloat.

Well,  the gloves are coming off.  I’ve got the right ammunition now to shoot Joan’s constant bragging down and bring her to her knees.  I’m gonna gloat and I’m gonna gloat big time.  How?

This is how…may I HUMBLY present my granddaughter, Elizabeth An D’Amico, shown here on the COVER of the March Issue of the Harbor Style Magazine.

72620_10151721910258272_1257808549_n

TAKE THAT, JOAN!

24 responses to “A Little Gloating Going On

  1. TamrahJo says:

    I’ve noticed a disturbing trend where people talk about their kids/grandkids in the same manner as they would a celebrity, their new car or half-million dollar home – – – –

    I’m evil – – I ask them what their child’s favorite song or movie is — – that either gets them back on the track I like to hear about (the Being their child is instead of what all Doings they’ve labeled ‘brag worthy’ ) OR shocks them into stunned silence – – realizing they don’t know….

    Either way, I’m happier – It’s not that I begrudge the children acknowledgement of their accomplishments – it just feels like some folks use boasting of the same more for the reflected glory of themselves, rather than to share about their child – – but then, I’ve been accused of misinterpreting intent….:>)

    Congrats to Elizabeth – I see the “2013 Women’s Issue” label – – How nice to see a woman of the future on it!

    • You’re not evil, you’re very smart. I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to use your method. And thank you for your kind words. My daughter and I make very sure we do not inflate Elizabeth’s accomplishments..and her ego is kept in check. I always think of the phrase “Oh, how the mighty have fallen.” I don’t want that for my girl.
      Thanks for reading!

      • TamrahJo says:

        Yes – It’s such a fine line to walk – the road between “I Love You for You – and to prove it, I will never acknowledge your achievements ” and “My Love is tied to your accomplishments” – – I’ve seen so many rigid examples from both ends of the spectrum – I try ever so hard to walk the middle for my children – so they neither grow up believing the world owes them for the simple matter of their birth – nor that nothing they do will never be good enough – – hard to do in our current culture!
        For years, I hesitate to use the phrase, “I’m proud of you” because it seemed to be a phrase that was more about me, than about them — – I waited until they were old enough to understand my hesitation – once we had that discussion, then I could say, “I’m so proud of the man you’ve become” and knew they understood it meant, “I feel so privileged to be a part of your life” – – not, “Since you’ve turned out good, I can hold my head up in front of the neighbors- thank goodness”

        And but of course, you can use this method – Nothing new under the sun and little, if anything, can ever be classified, “Mine” – – :>)

  2. Jess says:

    HAHAHA! You go, Grandma! Elizabeth is beautiful.

  3. Yay!!! Beautiful girl and smart Gramma!!! You should be proud…:0)))

  4. Susan Norden says:

    Back when we in our age group were busy getting married and having kids, the women in the office were aghast that I didn’t carry photos of my son in my wallet. Sure, I love him and think he’s a gem — but my memory is great and I know what he looks like, so I don’t carry a picture with me. I didn’t (and still don’t) brag about him and his life. From experience, if I mention even the slightest two-sentence thing about him, it opens the door to listening to mothers and grandmothers go on and on and on until I’m cross-eyed. The fathers and grandfathers I know aren’t so bad.

  5. Al Kline says:

    That was Hilarious! Thanks

  6. Sallyann says:

    Take that indeed !
    Well done Elizabeth.
    I’m guessing you have a copy or two of the magazine to leave lying around on the coffee table when Joan next comes by to visit. 🙂

  7. Perfect comeback! And congratulations to Elizabeth! 🙂

  8. johnlmalone says:

    She looks delightful. It is good to be proud of our children and grand children and the share their achievements when appropriate. Fortunately I do not know many ‘Joans’ , only one, and he’s male: I bump into him during school reunions

  9. dorothyanneb says:

    TOO funny! My sister and I have the same thing going on…great blog!

  10. John says:

    Congrats to your lovely granddaughter… and, enjoy your moment of gloat!

  11. Shannon says:

    Joan sounds extremely annoying! She’s probably living vicariously through the life of her granddaughter instead of being a “real” grandmother. How sad for the kid.
    On the other hand, it sounds like Elizabeth is a very lucky girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

