Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Blogging From The Heart..Writing From The Soul

on February 19, 2013

494065b223bf374a46fa86150321062c

I was talking to a friend a few days ago and I told her how excited I was to be blogging.  I explained that I had always dreamed of being a writer and I had finally found the venue to work on my writing.  She looked confused and I asked her why.  She said that she understood blogging to be part of a social network, where you post your family pictures, or silly posters and you kept people updated on your life.  So, what did blogging have to do with being a writer?  Bloggers write journals while writers publish books was her point of view, so what did one have to do with another?  I told her it was hard to explain and we moved on to another subject.

I’ve done a lot of thinking about that conversation.  I wondered if I was using my blog site as a means to socialize or to put some serious writing out to the public.  I’ve come to realize that I can do both and still achieve my writing goals.

The pieces I write can vary from one day to the next.  Some of the posts I write come from the heart; some of the pieces come from my soul.

When I write a post about a subject that I find ironic, funny or touches me in some way, I write from my heart.  I write about my views as I see them and I write these posts to get things off my chest or to to cheer myself up.  I enjoy writing them and from the feedback I get; some of the readers enjoy them too.  I visualize this writing as conversations with friends and when I read your posts, I am reading them as a friend, even if I don’t know you from Adam.  It’s fun therapy for me and I love it with a passion.

I have also written pieces about my past, about my family and about events in my life.  These are the things I have written from my soul.  It is sometimes painful to pull these memories and write about them.  But, I believe that these pieces were some of my best and will lead me to being a better writer.  I listen closely to the feedback from the readers and I learn from their comments.

I also learn different things from reading the posts of my fellow bloggers.  I learn about your lives, your feelings and your take on life.  I read some of these posts as a friend; I read some of them as a writer.  I learn daily from all of your posts and apply those lessons to expanding my writing skills.  And, I thank you for that!

My ultimate goal is to write short stories or even a novel.  I realize that what I have been trying to do by blogging is to find a way to write from both my heart and my soul, blend those two worlds together.  And I believe that blogging has me on the right path to achieving those goals.

So, there is really no difference between blogging and writing.  It’s all in how you want to use the medium to achieve your specific goals.  And, that’s what I’m going to tell my friend the next time I see her!

24 responses to “Blogging From The Heart..Writing From The Soul

  1. 1tric says:

    I have only begun blogging, but approach it very much from the same viewpoint as you. However I am very conscious of the social side of it and just yet feel unable to really share myself. I do love writing very much and it is a wonderful outlet for that. Isn’t that moment you press “publish” just the best?
    As for you eventually publishing a book or novel I would be confident you will. You write beautifully. I think the saying “”What’s meant for you wont go by you” is apt. You will find a way.
    Hopefully you’ll keep blogging though because I look forward to your posts.

  2. TamrahJo says:

    Out of my circle of “in-person” friends and family – 2 follow my blog. I gave up a long time ago trying to explain why I blog, why I’m not on Facebook (though I still do the “join me at WordPress” spiel when someone laments the fact I’m no longer on Facebook – -)

    Years ago, I was subcontracted by a great lady to do some content/layout work for her project. She spent the ’60s writing for the San Francisco Chronicle(r?) – She’s written and helped produce documentaries – her CV reads, well, WOW! Who would have thought I knew someone with this kind of publishing/writing experience?

    After a couple of grueling all-nighters to meet deadlines moved up by the client, she congratulated me on my skills and discipline.

    It was the first time I truly felt like a writer.

    She encouraged me to start blogging – She said, “You are a producer – – and you are a creative spirit. Writing is not an option – you must create and craft, or you will destroy yourself.”

    She was correct – and she’s the only person I know who truly understands why I blog – why 4 books are still sitting in ‘editiing’ phase – (durn my perfectionism) and whenever someone in my family comments on the ‘non-productive’ time spent blogging/writing, I think of her, smile and move on….

    I’m very, very glad you are blogging!

    • Thanks for encouraging words. And, I’m jealous! You’ve got one more friend/family than I do. My daughter is my number one fan and the only one that can work her way around the internet.

      But, in a way, I’m not losing any sleep over it. Since I write a lot of material about my family and friends, it is probably healthier that they not read my posts! 🙂

  3. AshKW says:

    There is never any reason to not write if that’s what you want to do. Blogging can be whatever you want it to be, can serve any purpose. I, for one, am glad you’re blogging!

  4. Aurora says:

    I know what you mean about wanting to be a writer, I have always wanted to be one also. I have actually written 3 complete and several other partial novels now. They all started off as projects for NaNoWriMo which takes place November 1-30th every year. Here is the link if you don’t know what that is:

    http://nanowrimo.org

    Yes I am one of those crazy people who tries to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. I have succeeded a few times, but sat the last couple of years out due to lack of a computer, and the fact that I had just had a baby this last year. This November I will be making an attempt again. If this year holds true to form, I will have no idea what I am writing about until the 11th hour on Halloween. (or as we like to refer to it. “NaNo Eve.”

  5. Jess says:

    Agreed. Blogging is not like posting on Facebook. We are all here because we enjoy writing. Writing is more than publishing and selling. It’s about expression. You are a writer. Bloggers are writers.

  6. Pete Denton says:

    Blogging helps your writing. It helps you find a routine, helps you find your voice and also build rapport with people who might want to read your work in the coming weeks, months and years.

    Happy writing. 🙂

  7. You have perfectly captured my thoughts on blogging, too! Thank you for sharing your perspective. I know that blogging helps me to become a better writer and a better person.

  8. AH says:

    This line is so true, “These are the things I have written from my soul. It is sometimes painful to pull these memories and write about them.”
    Sometimes it takes courage to put your heart out there, put your painful memories out there because you might find them painful but someone might dismiss them as something else. It takes courage, and to be a writer, you really need to be courageous and be able to go to your deepest, darkest part of yourself and not only accept it but write it for the world….

  9. Dave Higgins says:

    Blogging about real life is great practice for writing fiction because the best books are about characters who have real lives in parallel to the plot rather than being born on page 1 and living only one story.

    I also find publishing several posts a week helps me to actually write instead of just have ideas.

  10. John says:

    I think you’re right, that blogging is both social, and Writing, all-in-one.

    As has been said in other comments, blogging is a fantastic place for practicing your writing — it allows you to find your voice. And, it helps your confidence, or, at least, it has helped mine. When you write, you never know if anyone will like what you have to say — which is not the main reason to write, since a writer should write for themselves first. But, putting your words out there, and having others respond favorably, helps a bit with the doubt that I think most writers face.

    And, while writing fiction and non-fiction are quite different, blogging gives you the practice of putting words together, of actually sitting down and stringing words together into coherent sentences. Most professional writers will tell you that writing is about writing, every day, whether it;s good or not isn’t always important. It’s the practice.

  11. Shannon says:

    I would suggest if you want to write a book, write what you know. Start with the things you’ve written about here that people like to read, but expand on it – all of the things you’ve written from your heart and soul, things that other people can relate to – I think you could do very well. Writing is a great release!

    • I am writing a short story now based on one of my previous posts. I do find writing to be a wonderful release from my daily grind of a life! Thanks so much for your kind words and for reading!

  12. Great post! I, like most bloggers on this site, love finding new and interesting blogs to read. I too find myself reading blogs as if I’m listening to a friend talk. I know your book will turn out awesome–cant wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

