Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Kickin Back

on March 8, 2013

75551_543331749020285_25362860_n

It’s time to take a breath!  What a ride I’ve been on since I first stepped foot in WordPress country.  It’s been a dream fulfilled to find the writing home I’ve been looking for since I first started blogging in November.  But, I woke up at 4 a.m. (my usual time) this morning and decided that I needed to sit back and start really exploring this new land I’ve discovered.

hi

I’ve decided to put on my walking shoes and start visiting more blog sites in order to expand my writing skills..after all, there are so many of you talented writers, poets and shutterbugs out there that I have yet to meet.  And, I need to catch up with those of you that I haven’t been able to visit while I’ve been so busy writing my own posts.

67344_551360481550745_1385430428_n

In just over a month, I have written over 70 posts; I’ve gathered over 200 followers (a kiss and a hug to all!) and been nominated for more Awards than I feel I deserve (but I’m taking them and running!)  It’s been a real roller coaster ride and I feel like this is the start of something big in my life as a writer.

426424_552568018096658_699989736_n

I also want to take a couple of days to think about how I want to live in this new land and if I want to close my previous blog site I’ve been spending time trying to maintain.  Will WordPress be my primary home or will I continue to flip flop back and forth.  I’m afraid that my efforts in keeping both are affecting my writing;  I need to make a decision and my journey will help me do that.

13050_546078522078941_1073032585_n

I also have to have a little chat with He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Ignored about my dream of being a published writer and setting up a writing schedule that will not make him feel neglected (there’s nothing worse than an SO who wanders around the house pouting and muttering about the time I’m spending on my laptop!)  I want to stop the hit or miss method I’ve been using and get a time frame for my writing and stick to it!

492_551163288237131_143956330_n

So, although you might not see a post from me for a few days (WHAT? O.k.  you might..I doubt I’ll be able to keep my mouth shut for too long) it just means that I’m busy knocking on the doors of my fellow WordPressers and inviting myself in for a look around.  I’ll still be replying to comments and, lord knows, I’ll be tapping out comments all through my journey.

SO OFF I GO ON MY TRIP THROUGH WORDPRESS!  WISH ME LUCK!

Just a quick P.S.  All the wonderful pictures I put in this post were found on the Wild for Wildlife and Nature Website I found on Facebook.  You can find more of these great photos by clicking on the above link!

22 responses to “Kickin Back

  1. 😀 – Big lolz to the pics and to your sense of humour! I am just discovering your blog – it looks like something the ‘doctor’ ordered. Thanks a lot for following : )

  2. 1tric says:

    Enjoy reading. Its one of my favourite parts of all this. So many different categories and ideas. So many people making time to write. Its like being a child in a sweet shop. Whatever you do, I’m sure you’ll keep us posted.

  3. Go Grandma go!!!! More power to you!!! virtual fist pumps and high fives.. :0)

  4. kerbey says:

    Well, I hope your short Walter Matthau is happy!!

  5. Jess says:

    Enjoy your break and your reading, and let us know if you learn anything during your “vacation.” Good luck talking to SO. I have similar issues with my husband about my affair with the laptop. 🙂

  6. I have been doing the same things as well – what is everyone else up to, what about the ones who follow me, I’m way behind in Thank you’s and visits, and when am I going to write and take photographs and work it all out if I go back to work ! (Gotta stop for a breathe!) So, I wrote out a schedule, cutting back a little on the postings . . . and then filled the blank days back up! (sigh) On the other hand, I do have four weeks drafted out, and another 10 weeks in the works!

  7. HaHA! This was my favorite post of yours to date. The adorable images of these animals illustrated your emotions so vividly. I have to admit, though. Your Miss Gulch snippet capped this off perfectly! After all, that image is what drew me to you in the first place. I so love that movie & picturing you riding a bike with that “wicked witch” theme playing in the background surely gave me a good giggle.
    *hugs*

  8. keladelaide says:

    Enjoy your trip and see you again soon.

  9. Emily Anne says:

    This post is so timely for me! I joined wordpress rather recently and am only now getting to know my (few) followers. I’ve enjoyed your posts a lot though! Have fun exploring. I know I am!

  • Laughing here with you is like a saving grace! I love it so much – please keep posting. Huge hugs and thanks to you : )

  • Leave a Reply

