Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

The Secret Language

on March 15, 2013

When my children were toddlers, I often suspected that a “Secret language existed”; one from a world where I was to be an outsider.  My daughter had a vocabulary of about ten words when her brother was born, however she would “talk” to him for hours while he responded with babbling noises.  I swear, if I entered the room, they would stop and look at me as if I had breached their secret society!

A few years later, my youngest son was born and I listened as my now vocal children would carry on conversations with their new brother.  Of course, by now they had a rudimentary command of the language and talked to him as an equal.  He would stare at them, smile and of course, make unintelligible sounds but it was as if he understood everything they said.  Again, I was treated like a spy; they would just shrug if I asked them what their baby brother was telling them.  They were not about to give up their new member’s secrets!

I thought I just had very strange children (o.k. sometimes I still think I have very strange children.)  But, they grew older and eventually learned the language of the adults and decided to forego using their secret language.  They still grew silent when I entered the room which always spooked me!  I’m sure they were plotting against me!

But, then I came across this video of two twins holding an intelligent conversation with each other!  I’m not sure the subject they are discussing (it might have to do with one of them wondering where his missing sock went to), but definitely a debate was going on!  Just take a listen and maybe we’ll learn something about the “Secret Language!”

If you get any of this conversation, let the rest of us in on the secret, will ya?

24 responses to “The Secret Language

  1. Otrazhenie says:

    Very cute video. Loved your story 🙂

  2. Awwh maan! They’re so freakin’ cuuuute! :O 😀

  3. 1tric says:

    I minded kids. My son had very little language and the little girl I minded had loads, but they talked gibberish for hours!

  4. Aurora says:

    Cute. I don’t know what they were saying, but my son immediately puckered up and started crying. He seemed rather upset by it whatever it was.

  5. Aurora says:

    Oh and since you like to write, I thought I would send this link along:

    http://campnanowrimo.org

    It’s almost time for the Camp NaNoWriMo session for April, which has a more flexible word count goal than the official NaNoWriMo event in November. (basically you set your own goal) I plan on participating this year since I didn’t get to be a part of the main event last November as I was a bit preoccupied with a newborn at the time. NaNoWriMo usually ends up being a blast, and I think you would enjoy it.

  6. This reminded me of when I was a kid. My friends and I learned “Ubby dubby” from Zoom on the PBS station and would use it as a secret language when adults were around. I had forgotten that! Thanks for the reminder.

  7. This is so adorable. My son had his own language for quite some time. We used to swear he was trying to contact aliens or something with it.
    I thoroughly enjoyed your story of your own little ones and their secret society of babbling. I do think they know something we don’t.

  8. Dave Higgins says:

    I am fairly certain my cats understand English, so tiny humans having a language seems almost necessary.

  9. […] of the blogs I am following posted The Secret Language which got me procrastinating on youtube for a few minutes. It’s funny how children are […]

  10. Gwen says:

    Very cool. I’m also amazed when mothers can understand their toddlers. Every mother knows what her child is saying, even when it sounds like gobbledy-gook to everyone else.

  11. Sallyann says:

    Thanks for the smiles . 😀

  12. LOL! Wow, thank you for the big laughs – you always manage to find the most hilarious material. I will nominate this one for the goofy ABC award on http://bloggersupportgroup.wordpress.com/

    I have tried to crack the encoded conversation between the kids. As you suggested, I agree: this seems to be a serious debate, yet a laughing version of it.
    I can only resolve this contradiction by the guess that the kids are acting out a debate between their parents – or some other adults with debating habits – and they are laughing because they are actually mocking them.

Leave a Reply

