Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

The Sunshine Award

on March 25, 2013

Hello my friends.  Once again, I want to thank everyone for all your well wishes during my bout with the fearsome flu!  Since I have recovered to the point of being able to sit up for more than ten minutes, I wanted to share my good news with you all.  Lilyluna93 has nominated me for the Sunshine Award and I am once again thrilled that someone has seen fit to consider me for one of these wonderful awards.

Before I begin to meet the requirements to wear this badge with honor, I want to thank Lilyluna93 and point you towards her wonderful blog site “Writers Blog.”  I believe you will enjoy her fresh, youthful outlook on writing and life in general.

Now the rules I must pass on to my nominees are as follows:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog.
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself.
  • Nominate 10-12 other fabulous bloggers.
  • Link your nominees to this post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated you.

So, once again, please let me draw your attention to the right of my post and you will see my pretty little Sunshine Award.  Now, on to my favorite part; answering 10 questions about myself.

What inspired you to start blogging?

Believe it or not, I was looking to start taking my writing seriously when someone I knew mentioned blogging.  Once in the blogging world, I was hooked.

How did you come up with the name to your blog?

It came to me in a dream.

What is your favorite blog that you like to read?

I am definitely going to plead the fifth on this one folks.  There are so many of you with so much talent that there is no way I can pin down one as my favorite.  You’re all my besties.

Tell about your dream job?

Besides being a paid author?  I always dreamed of being a proof reader for a publishing house.  I could read all day and get paid for it!

Is your glass half full or half empty?

I’m definitely a glass half full kind of gal.  I use laughter and look at the funny side of life to keep that glass half full.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Ireland…I have always dreamed of going to Ireland and finding lost relatives who I will force to adopt me so I can stay!  I want 1tric to adopt me!

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Liver does not pass my lips.

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

The darker the better.

How much time do you spend blogging?

Depends on who you talk to.  Danny, my SO, says way too much time..I say not enough.  Between reading posts, writing posts and working on my short stories and now a novel…I probably spend 2-3 hours blogging and 2 hours writing.  Reading  posts is done before, during and after those hours.

Do you watch tv – if so, what are some of your favorite shows?

I watch very little television since I’ve started applying myself to writing..but I do try to sit with Danny when he watches his favorites.  If I had to pick a few, I would say “Rules of Engagement” and “Two and A Half Men.” (The original cast..sorry Ashton..you just don’t measure up to Charlie Sheen.)

Whew, that was rough!  Now, on to my nominees.  Again, there are so many of you out there that bring sunshine into my life, I apologize if your name is not listed.  However, I still have a few awards to answer to and some of you are being saved for those.  So, without further ado, I hereby nominate the following “Sunshiners.”

American Gypsy Gibberish – Hop on and take a ride with this lovely lady and her husband as they travel around the country.  She’s living the dream and sharing it with us.

JohnBalaya – This gentleman never fails to bring a little sunshine into my life with his stunning photos.

The Good, The Bad, and The Ludicrous –  This is a woman after my own heart.  She’s witty, fearless and tells it like it is..definitely my kind of writer.

Encaustic Art Your House – Erica is a sweet girl from the Netherlands who shares her thoughts and her talents as an artist with us.

London Survival – Need a laugh?  This gentlemen from “Across the Pond” is sure to make you smile.  He’s witty as hell and always a fun read.  And I love his gravatar!

DaVida Nature Photography – Want to look at pictures that display nature in all it’s beauty?  This is the place to go!

Traci Carver – Need a laugh..a giggle or an outright guffaw.  Check out this young lady and her family.

Bastet and Sekhmet – Take a trip to Italy and visit this wonderful site.  Great pictures and stories abound.

AndSheLaughs –  Join this wonderful woman for warm and fuzzy posts and for some of the best receipes!  Nom..nom.

How Not To Kill Your Parents – A witty girl shares her experience living with her SO; in her parents house.  Read the funny side of the story!

I hope all of my nominees feel the love and my appreciation for filling my days with Sunshine and I hope they’ll pass the award on to other bright, sunny bloggers.  Got to go now.  Dr. Danny is sending me back to bed for a little more recuperating time!

Love ya all!

Cranky

19 responses to “The Sunshine Award

  1. Bastet says:

    Thanks for the nomination…and I’m glad you found something on my blog which brought sunshine to your life.

  2. Traci says:

    Total agreement for both your choice of chocolate and your cast of Two and Half Men. Thanks for including my blog on your list!

  3. […] the link on the picture doesn’t work just click here and you can read about the Sunshine award of ‘Grandma […]

  4. Thank you , Cranky, for the nomination! And we all could use a good dose of Sunshine every day! Feel better soon ~Mary

  5. ericaatje says:

    Thanks for nominating me! I was very surprised by it. 😉

  6. TamrahJo says:

    Thanks so much for the kind words and nomination – today is a day for taking care of family while they make the medical rounds – but saw the notification in my email box and just had to drop a line to say thanks. Your blog is part of my daily motivation ritual – so glad you’re writing!
    Happy to hear you’re up and at ’em again! Just don’t overdo and relapse!
    🙂

  7. […] the waiting room, I received an email notifying me I had been nominated for the Sunshine Award by Grandma Says – which was funny, because I didn’t feel super sunshiney today, but hey, I’ll […]

  8. TamrahJo says:

    My 2,000 word thesis is complete – how did you keep yours so concise? LOL

    http://ballybin.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/the-sunshine-award/

  9. Congratulations on getting your award, and surviving the flu to boot. Neither is an easy feat.

Leave a Reply

