Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

I Miss My Mess

on March 27, 2013

DSC00351

I was reading through some of the “Mommy” blogs that I enjoy so much and it occurred to me why these blogs hold a special place in my heart.

When I was raising my children, I used to dream of the day when my home would stay clean for more than one hour.  How I wouldn’t have to spend half  of my day picking up toys, wiping fingerprints from the windows and emptying potty chairs.  I thought of how wonderful it would be to greet someone at the door and not worry if they would trip on a forgotten toy or slip in some spilled milk I had yet to discover.

I would be able to sit back and have tea with my neighbors and listen to their compliments of how beautiful my home was and how clean I kept it.

These days, I don’t have small children in the house; I don’t have teens in the house; I only have one kinda short SO who runs around trying to stay busy by getting in my way.  So, I never thought I’d say it...but I miss the mess!

I would trade my shiny clean floors for little wet footprints left after a fun-filled bath; I would gladly sit back and watch the toys pile up in the living room, if it meant I could listen to the children’s laughter as they played.

O.K.,  maybe I don’t miss the potty chair but I would happily leave the dishes in the sink until my little one’s were all tucked safely in their bed.  I would do the happy dance if I could have small ones in my kitchen again; faces covered in chocolate, hands covered in flour while the cookies were baking in the oven.

I would let the dust collect so we could write our names in it; I would let the jackets and sweaters pile up into a mountain while we watched “The Wizard of Oz” for the 100th time and I would tear my best sheets out of the closet to make forts we could camp in.  Just bring back my mess!

So, to all you “Mommy” bloggers out there; know that there is one Grandma reading your wonderful stories, smiling at those happy pictures of your kids and wishing I could jump in and join you.  Enjoy the mess…believe me, you’ll come to miss it someday!

Well, I better go now.  I think I see a dust bunny under the couch!

31 responses to “I Miss My Mess

  1. Bastet says:

    All too true, childhood passes so quickly… 😦 but then we get the grandkids 😉

  2. MommyVerbs says:

    Thank you so so much for this. I try to play that “You’re gonna miss this” song in my head often when I look around at the living room that I JUST picked up, now littered again with socks and shoes and dishes and toys… I practice the art of deep breathing and then play that song in my head again… 🙂 I love your perspective on this. Great reminder to Play More! Engage the day!

    • Thanks for reading! Glad you liked it!

    • Just a note…I want to really thank you for your comment. You’re the 1000th comment I’ve gotten in the short two months I’ve been on this site.

      It’s bloggers like you that keep me going! Again, thanks!

      • MommyVerbs says:

        That is so AWE.SOME! I was wondering why balloons and confetti just fell from my ceiling at work! It was in celebration of YOU and the 1000th comment! I’m sitting here now in my chair, rolling around amid glitter and confetti, popping a balloon every now and then just to make my office mate jump a little. 🙂 Did you get a little WordPress trophy? If so, I recommend that you go ahead and invest in a little virtual trophy case, you will have many, many blogging celebrations ahead! 🙂

      • Thanks..I wondered what that stuff was falling down..I thought it was pollen! I haven’t checked my Awards from WordPress lately, but I am so appreciative of all the bloggers who are kind enough to read my stuff!

        Thanks for your encouragement and kind words. Party on!

  3. ericaatje says:

    Good news, I am giving you the “BEST MOMENT AWARD“. Congratulations and enjoy the rest of the day! It’s just because I love your blog… 😉

  4. mummyshymz says:

    I’m reading this just after discovering that my 22-month old just scribbled on my pillow with a pen. Perspective, perspective…

  5. Basharr says:

    You know a look from another angle, I would give just about anything to be the little boy running around my Grandma’s kitchen again. She was always baking dreams and cooking up love. As a grown up kid at the age of 50 I so very much miss those wonderful times.

  6. I miss Cub Scouts, and T ball, and soccer.

  7. When my next door neighbor saw the little hand prints from my granddaughters on my window, she called it “angel marks.” From that day forward I have never minded the little sticky messes left behind because I know that one day they will be no more and I will be a little sad.

  8. John says:

    I’m more than happy to let you come visit us here in Denver, and help clean the mess here. I’m really sort of over the whole ‘cleaning’ thing… 🙂

  9. Aww! 🙂 If I could frame this post I would hang it on my wall with a red reminder written over it “Someday you will MISS the mess!”

  10. Aurora says:

    Might seem odd to say this, but that’s exactly why I became a mom again at 41. My kids were grown up, and suddenly I began to realize just how much I wasn’t ready to leave all of it behind me. Fortunately it wasn’t too late for me to try again, I’m grateful to be given the chance.

  11. kipandlip says:

    Oh, thank you for this reminder. The mess gets a little overwhelming at times, but I know I will miss it when it is gone! Lovely post!

  12. Sallyann says:

    I know exactly what you mean … I miss following the trail of abandoned shoes, coats, bags etc to find my youngest daughter when she enters the house… I miss having my kitchen completely trashed when my eldest daughter decides to cook … and I miss sitting with my middle daughter as she tidies her things “again” from one side of the room to the other and puts her cd’s into aplhabetical order. 🙂
    Hubby doesn’t miss the mess quite so much … he’s still busy tidying up after me. 🙂

  13. […] little reflection is inspired by a recent post by Grandma Says   She was missing her mess. And in the process, helped me love mine a little more. Thanks Grandma […]

  14. MommyVerbs says:

    You inspired me. Hope you don’t mind…I wrote a little bit about my mess. Thanks! http://mommyverbs.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/mess-but-its-mine-and-i-love-it/

Leave a Reply

