Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

One Egg Too Many

on March 30, 2013

625473_10200290416396292_2001836970_n

Well, I’ve purchased the eggs; the coloring is ready and the ham is thawing.  I’m ready for the big day.  But, I’m already worried about the six dozen eggs I’ve cooked in preparation for Easter Sunday.

Only two of our kids will be in attendance for the Easter festivities.  There will be no hunt; they are in their mid-twenties and deem it beneath them to search for eggs among the grass and red ants that fill our lawn.  Woosies!  The remainder of our kids live out of town or are busy with their own preparations for their family units. My two bachelors will be sitting in their apartment, sucking down beer and pretending the Easter Bunny doesn’t exist.  Humph!

Well, the heck with all of them.  This Grandma is going to color eggs, devil eggs and fry the little suckers for breakfast.  The dilemma I face is what to do with all those eggs that will be snubbed and rendered unfit to carry home.  Last year after buying 10 dozen eggs, I was stuck with a dozen beautifully decorated eggs; one-half dozen slightly withered deviled eggs and two dozen uncooked shelled protein units in the fridge.  Trying to use them up before they turn rotten is an adventure I seem to embark upon each year.

I try to strike the right balance when purchasing the eggs..really I do!  But, each year I open the fridge and I swear the eggs I bought multiplied overnight!  Any other explanation would leave my sanity in question, and I fear those guys carrying the white coats with those special sleeves that fasten in the back will come looking for me and my eggs.

The day after Easter leaves only two of us to consume the overwhelming abundance of eggs; we try, but often fail and they wind up being chewed up in my garbage disposal.  And, I’m afraid I’ve done it again!  Worried, I sat down and figured out how many eggs were actually required.

Decorated Eggs – 2 Dozen – This leaves enough for decorating the table, carry-out bags and to pass out to unexpected guests (of which none ever appear!) Plus, the neighbors who don’t have family coming and the strangers walking by with their dogs.)  Maybe three dozen just to be sure.

Deviled Eggs – 1 Dozen – This is an appetizer for four, usually 6 eggs split in half makes 12, should would be more than sufficient.  However, the two kids coming to visit can suck those babies down faster than a dog let loose in the henhouse.  So, 1 dozen will make 24 deviled eggs.  Wait a minute..what about take-homes?  Better make it 2 dozen, just to be sure.

So, two dozen and three dozen equal 5 dozen hard-boiled eggs which should fill the bill.  Now, what the heck am I gonna do with the other dozen I put a hard-boil to?  Hmmm..how about potato salad, that should use 2 or 3.  That still leaves me 8 to get rid of.  Egg Salad Sandwiches for lunch tomorrow?  Yup, that will do it.  But, that will only use 4 eggs.

I wonder if my SO would notice if I put two on his plate the morning after Easter.  I’ll add bacon and hash browns and he’ll never know.   If  When he complains, I’ll just pop the 3rd egg whole in my mouth and mumble “just shut up and eat” and try not to choke.  So, that gets rid of 3 more…leaves me with just one egg too many.

I can live with that!

happy_easter_vector

Love, Cranky

20 responses to “One Egg Too Many

  1. This made me chuckle. 🙂 Make a ton of egg salad. It should last a few days without spoiling as long as you have a really cold spot in your fridge.

  2. Austin says:

    You should’ve read my latest post and bought your eggs already made from a farm here in Maine. It’s magic… 😉

  3. yourothermotherhere says:

    You could always take them to people you know who are sick or shut-in to their homes. The nursing homes might like any extras you have too!

    • That is a wonderful idea! Thanks..my granddaughter just called and she and her mom are coming in the late afternoon (unexpected guests! Yippee) That is what we’ll do together..Thanks again. And have a happy Easter!

  4. Last year, when I was working, Easter was the first weekend I had off in awhile. We decided to stay home and not cook anything! The main dish was rolled ham and cheese, a chopped salad, sliced cucumbers and roma tomatoes, and olives. Literally! When my mom asked, and I told her what we had, she thought I had prepared something really spectacular! (Add a lot of adjectives to a dish and you get an instant Wow! mixed with admiration . . . ) I still laugh every time I think about it. Happy Easter!

  5. Here’s a page with a recipe for meatballs, made with hard boiled eggs. I dare you to try it:
    http://www.dietsinreview.com/diet_column/03/no-waste-ideas-for-leftover-easter-eggs/

    Oh Cranky, this curry eggs over rice recipe uses a whole dozen hard-boiled eggs!
    http://www.food.com/recipe/curry-eggs-over-rice-for-leftover-hard-boiled-eggs-88371

    Here’s a cute one for grand kids:
    http://www.food.com/recipe/breakfast-mice-218655

    This one sounds like a pasty mess but uses up a whole half-dozen eggs!
    http://www.food.com/recipe/eggs-a-la-goldenrod-216201

    So Cranky, the mistake I think you made was not buying EVEN MORE eggs!

  6. Aurora says:

    I’d put them in a batch of macaroni salad, or even sprinkle them on top of some salad with some cheese.. Happy Easter

  7. mummyshymz says:

    Sprinkle some caviar on the eggs! 😉

  8. kerbey says:

    In Texas, we eat a lot of migas (eggs scrambled w/ tortilla strips, onions, peppers, tomatoes, and cheese). I had a huge migas breakfast taco on Good Friday to celebrate it. I would happily eat all your incredible edible eggs for you, except I found out last month my cholesterol is “elevated.” How can something so wonderful be so bad for you??

    • Thankfully, my egg count wasn’t so high that I’ll be throwing hard boiled eggs at those darn armadillos digging in our yard. But, thanks for the hint on how to use em!

  9. pardenme says:

    Oh my goodness. You have me in tears of laugh-out-loud laughter and I haven’t even read your blog yet! Love that opening picture! Okay, let me read now.

Leave a Reply

