Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Helping A Fella Out

on April 3, 2013

k1330928

We’re all writers here, right?  We listen to our muse’s and we take pen in hand (o.k. laptops) and we all hope to achieve that pinnacle of success as a writer..To Be Published!

As you know, I love all the writers here on WordPress.  It’s a community I have found to be welcoming, helpful and inspirational.  From the forums to the Feedback Request Option, struggling writers can get help with their projects..no matter what their question is; from beginning a book to marketing one, they can find the answer on WordPress.

The most helpful source of writing suggestions, though, come from the writer’s themselves.  They share their ideas, their experience, and their hands-on approach to the skill of getting published or letting people know about your works.  Some of the writers have even made a commitment to help fledgling writers and become a sort of mentor to help the writer emerge and blossom.  They don’t get paid for it, they do it out of a sense of wanting to help.

Although I don’t feel qualified to offer advice; I do offer the experiences I’ve been having exploring the world of writing in some of my posts.  When other writers share their experiences, problems or successes, I read them, learn and grow as a writer.

So, if you’re struggling with your writing, get busy and start reading, reading, reading those posts available to all of us.  You might find inspiration in a few; you might find practical tips in others.  Learn from your fellow writers!

If you’re new to WordPress, I highly recommend you take a hard look at all the features available to us; I recommend you read posts (especially in the Writing Catagory) and find some of these mentors so you can follow them and learn.  I know it has helped immensely in the short time I’ve been in the WordPress Community.

So, thank you to our writers who have contributed their time, their advice and their mentoring.  Your posts are gold in my field of words.

Just saying!

13 responses to “Helping A Fella Out

  1. I know you have helped me, and I really enjoy your writing. I finally figured out how to get the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award” on my site and post, and have sent out a new post on this, and contacted all the new nominees. So sorry it has taken me so long to do this, but I am still learning and finding my way around. 🙂

  2. mcwoman says:

    Very true words. Experience speaks. I’ve found the same value in reading blogs from people around the world.

  3. Thank you! I have been struggling to get my fingers on the keyboard. Reading your post was just what I needed to help me focus and get busy. Reading and writing go hand-in-hand and now I have some reading to do!

  4. So very true. Reading others is one of the best ways I have found to improve my writing

  5. Bastet says:

    Hear hear! Thanks for the advice…hmmm…I’ve been wondering, really, what is the feedback request option? I guess I’ll have to go and look it up….

Leave a Reply

