Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Living In A Different Head

on April 3, 2013

18494495-middle-age-woman-with-insomnia-lying-in-her-bed-in-the-middle-of-the-night-counting-sheep

I think I’m in trouble.  I’m not quite myself lately, my thoughts are traveling in different directions and it feels like I’m living in a different head.

As some of you know, I’m writing a novel for Camp NaNoWriMo, and it is my first attempt to complete such an ambitious task.  But, that’s not my problem, that’s not what has my head spinning.

As with any novel, I have developed some characters and it’s the main character that is taking over my life.  It’s a woman and at first, all I knew of her was her name.  But, with each chapter, I am learning more and more about her.  Her strengths, her weaknesses, her quirky outlook on life are all becoming clearer to me.  She’s taking a journey and I’m on the ride right there with her.

In order to learn about her, I have to live in her head.  I have to do that so I can discover more about her and how she would react to certain events.  What would she think about a certain character; how would she handle a certain situation?  From things I’ve been told, it’s a normal process when you develop your characters to put something of yourself into them.  My character is a piece of myself and more..much more.  She’s small but she’s learning to live big…and as she learns about herself, I am learning from her.

Living in a different head has its price.  My man is looking at me wondering if I need professional help.  He watches as my eyes become glazed or I start chuckling for no reason, when I come to a dead stop while washing dishes or sweeping the floor and become lost in another world.

I’ve lost sleep; she travels often at night and drags me with her on her adventures. The words “Did you hear what I said?” are repeated throughout the day and a far-a-way look has become a constant sight for my poor guy.  But, he doesn’t know that I’m away for the moment, experiencing a new event, a new challenge, a new surprise, a new discovery about my character.

So, until the novel is finished and our journey has ended, I will continue to live in a different head.  But, that’s all right with me!  It’s a hell of a ride!

26 responses to “Living In A Different Head

  1. ericaatje says:

    Good luck on your journey! 😉

  2. grannyK says:

    There is nothing wrong with living in a different head! I do it all the time. My head is so boring some days and I need a vacation.

  3. I know just how you feel. It happened with me and a character in my first novel. I found the hard work came in the second and so on drafts where I had to reign my character in and make him live on the page. He kept trying to get away from me. Sometimes I let him. 🙂

  4. merbear74 says:

    That is awesome. xxx

  5. It is sometimes hard for another person to know about the head thing – when I tell my one sister I can see it in my head, she too looks at me like ‘What?” On the other other, my youngest sister knows exactly what I am talking about!

    Poor guy . . . maybe he could take up fresh air painting. You know, get him out of the house for awhile and into his own creative journey.

    Enjoy your ride!

  6. Ah, ’tis the life of a writer. Oh, but what a wonderful insanity it is. 😛

  7. sarahcradit says:

    This is the best part of writing, my friend! Sometimes when I am thinking, I’ll even observe things the way a character would, without even realizing it. The good news is, you probably won’t need therapy for it 🙂

  8. sheilamariegrimes says:

    Lucky you!

  9. Good Luck at Camp NaNoWriMo! I’m there too this month for the first time. It’s a bit daunting but a great challenge. I can totally relate to the “Different Head” feeling. The hubs asked me why I was talking with a southern drawl the other day… I didn’t realize I was. Ooops! Yes, my city girl main character finds herself knee deep in muck and biscuits in Podunk, USA. 🙂

  10. Bastet says:

    Oh my…uhm….I had a desktop that started out: “Only writers will hold a converstion between people that don’t exist….We don’t talk to ourselves… we talk to the people we created from nothing.” seems to fit the situation here!

  11. There’s so much talk of “method acting” but not of “method writing.” But it makes a whole lot of sense. It sounds like your character is fun if you are laughing to yourself.

Leave a Reply

