Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Halfway Home

on April 16, 2013

17750_330942967035509_1980675580_n

Two weeks ago, I entered Camp NaNoWriMo with a somewhat cocky attitude.  Write a novel in thirty days?  Piece of cake, I thought.  So sure of myself; I even upped my goal of 20,000 words to 30,000.  What the hell was I thinking?

During the short time I’ve been at camp; I made a very important discovery..writing a novel is a lot of damn work.  Contrary to my former beliefs, words and ideas don’t magically appear on those blank white pages.  My cocky attitude disappeared and I found myself wondering if I was actually going to be able to pull this off.

My self doubt started to stall the writing process.  I found reasons to write funny posts instead of working on the novel.  I spent hours reading, I cleaned my yard and I did all sorts of mundane chores just to have an excuse for not writing.

Finally, last week, I looked at my progress with the novel and almost pulled up my tent and trekked back home.  I was seriously behind and although I liked what I wrote so far; I had a long way to go to get to the finish line.  I had to sit down and make a decision.  Was I going to finish this commitment I had made or find some lame excuse for not completing the camp.

Well, Cranky ain’t no quitter!  When I say I’m going to do something; I do it or die trying.  (Okay, maybe a little drama going on there.)  So, I took the necessary steps to make sure I could finish this novel on time.

I’ve had to stop posting so much; I was spending way too much time on writing my posts and way too little on my novel.  This was the hard part, I so love writing my posts and the interaction with my readers.  But, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

I just hope you all don’t forget about me while I’m away at camp.  I sure haven’t forgotten about you and I promise, once I get done here, I’ll be catching up with all of you.

I also had to push that self doubt aside and just get on with it.  Once I made the decision to make this novel happen, things started to really roll.  Now, I can’t think of much else except what my heroine is going to do next and what roadblock she’ll have to overcome to reach her destination!  I’ve actually completed more than half of my word goals and the story has taken on a life of it’s own.

I also changed cabins.  The people that I had been grouped with in my old cabin weren’t writing much at all.  My new cabin is filled with people doing some serious word output and I find myself more motivated with them.

So, I’ve started to kick some serious butt with my novel and I’m feeling good.  Because I found that writing is work, but it is also fun and rewarding when you see the story coming together and start enjoying being with your characters.

I’ll still be peeking in at all of you.  I just have to make sure I keep my priorities straight and keep my mouth shut a little more on my blog site until I’m done.  However, since all work and no play makes Cranky even Crankier, I’m sure you’ll be seeing a couple of posts coming now that I’ve got my writing rolling along at a good pace.

Well, gotta go now.  I was in the supermarket this afternoon and had a great idea for a chapter and I have to put it in the story before the ink I wrote with washes off my hand.

Wish me Luck!

32 responses to “Halfway Home

  1. lynnmorstead says:

    Good Luck! Cheering from you from Houston, Texas!

  2. Self doubt is a B— that I know all too well! Go write your novel, we will be here when you return.

  3. Good Luck! I’ve been thinking of crawling home with my notebook between my legs… sniffling. I hate to admit I’m not going to reach my 40,000 word goal and even worse quit but I’m so far behind now it seems a bit hopeless. However, reading your post has given me a boost of “Can do!” spirit. 🙂 So reach my goal or not – I will write, write, write for two more weeks and get as close as I can. Thanks!

  4. Been wondering where you’ve been! Good luck – see you when you get back!

  5. tric says:

    We are a predictable lot and will be here waiting. We are willing you on and the big news that you are finished will be like a birth announcement!

  6. Gwen says:

    Great, honest post, Cranky! I agree with you – blogging can be addicting, and I also love interacting with readers…which has more than once placed me firmly in the procrastination camp. At the moment I’m facing a May 2nd deadline for a short story. Over the weekend I wrote and asked for an extension, giving a laundry list of lame excuses: my day job’s crazy, my summer part-time job is starting up and I’m swamped…
    Guess what? My extension request was politely denied! At first I was put off by this brutal rebuff, but then I thought: a deadline’s a deadline! I need to quit my belly-aching, budget my time, and write the damn story. Tough lessons sometimes teach us the most.

  7. mcwoman says:

    See you at the finish line. Don’t forget the bug spray so the mosquitoes don’t bother you!

  8. Aurora says:

    Wishing you all the best, I am seriously behind myself, having only written about 3k out of a 25k goal. Hopefully I will get some more time to work on things soon. It’s hard with a little one in the house and so much to do. Hopefully I will get some time tonight after the storms let up before I’m to tired to think about it.

  9. timidvoice says:

    Yes much luck to you- and a clear head, right words and in the zone. Go forth and write!

  10. Julie Israel says:

    Good luck! You can do it!

  11. Melanie says:

    best of luck ,,will be here waiting to read the novel 🙂

  12. […] For another great take on the art of procrastination, check out Cranky’s post over at Grandma Says… […]

  13. Bastet says:

    Fly Artreu on your lovely Artax…you will find the name! 🙂

Leave a Reply

