Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Post Card From Cranky

on April 17, 2013

camping-is-fun

Hi Everyone!  I do truly wish you were here with me to join in on all the great happenings that are part of the camping experience at Camp NaNoWriMo.

 I didn’t expect the turnout for this writing camp.  Over 30,000 writers showed up, ready to sit down and create a novel in 30 short days.

CAMPINGFUNNY

Mornings we get up and take turns making the coffee.  Gotta have the caffeine to keep our energy up to reach our daily writing goals!

58807_319011028227636_468410609_n

I did notice that some campers are just not Morning People!

602138_564146460283587_2057850880_n

But, all in all I get along pretty good with my cabin mates.  One night I let a fellow camper give me a new do!

526589_422687101111182_1010680868_n

And, of course, at night would be the spooky campfire stories.

Carrots-Telling-Camp-Fire-Stories---92305

During breaks, some of us just hang around and shoot the breeze.

9gag-auto-mountaineer-camping-268349

Some campers like to take to the high seas to relax!

Biden-and-Obama-Heading-for-a-Waterfall---82294

And of course, there’s the great taste of food cooked over a campfire.  Sometimes, we get an unexpected guest!

Camping--12013

But, all in all, it’s been a great time had by all.

Well, gotta go now.  Our Leader is beckoning us to join him for some Ice Cream.  He looks a little “Goonie” but he’s really a sweet guy with a big sweet tooth!

561195_326090640854075_1233295692_n

I’ll write home again soon!

Love,

Cranky

24 responses to “Post Card From Cranky

  1. Wish I was there – I love the smell of wood fire!

  2. TamrahJo says:

    Please tell me your cabin is safely on concrete ground footers and not swinging from a cliff face…
    🙂
    I once again am glad of diversity – – for if everyone were like me, there is No Friggin’ Way the tools to hang your tent from a cliff would exist, let alone be used…
    LOL

  3. Bastet says:

    Hello mudder…hello fadder here I am at Camp…. Very funny and glad you’re having so many interesting experiences…wish I was there! ;-D

  4. Gwen says:

    Camp with Cranky sounds like a blast! Say hi to Gwen for me ❤

  5. btg5885 says:

    Does the leader like Baby Ruths? That was one bad hair day hairdo. Thanks for sharing, BTG

  6. mewhoami says:

    I love your photo shots on this blog. They, along with your writing are both hilarious! Also, thanks to you I now know what Camp NaNoWriMo is all about. I’m considering joining the camping experience at some point, but I must admit it sounds a bit intimidating. Will you be sharing your completed novel after camp is over? I’m sure it will be terrific!

    • I’m afraid it won’t be in really good shape until I do some revising. Don’t be intimidated..it’s a great way to really force yourself to write! I can’t believe how much fun I’m having even though it’s a lot of work.

      Any questions, let me know!

  7. ericaatje says:

    Hahahaha!!! Great post!
    Finally I got the time to read your blog again and now I started following you with the email-button. I forgot doing so… 😉

Leave a Reply

