Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Cranky’s Back In Town

on April 25, 2013

HappyDance2

Oh yeah.  Strike up the band and break open that champagne!  Cranky is home and look..look..she’s got a novel under her arm!

I can’t believe it!  I not only completed my Camp NaNoWriMo goal, I actually finished 6 days early.  And, thank goodness for that!  I have missed all of you so much.  Come here, give me a hug!

Huh, what was Camp like?  Wow, I can honestly say that I have never had to work so hard and enjoy it so much.  There were times, I admit, when I asked myself if I really wanted to try and write a novel in thirty days.  As my followers know, I had my doubts.

But, I forced myself to sit at my laptop each morning and place my fingers on the keyboard.  Somehow, after the first few paragraphs, my fingers started to pick up speed.  Before I knew it, I had completed a couple of chapters and had plans for the next few.  The effort paid off and this morning I was able to type those all important, so satisfying, absolutely delicious words, THE END!

Somehow, I have managed to write a story from beginning to end.  I have never accomplished that before (and this was my first shot at fiction.)  So, yeah, I’m bad!

Say that again?  What’s next?  Oh, that’s easy.  I’m going to take this novel and let it sit awhile, because right now, it’s a hot mess.  Although the plot is there, and the characters are in place, there is so much left to do before I even think of submitting it or allowing anyone to read it at this point.

Back stories have to be expanded or even developed.  Dialogue has to be polished and details need to be included so the story-line makes sense.  It’s a just a first draft; I had no dreams of writing a  novel that I could submit to anyone when I headed for camp.

But, I am delighted with the work I’ve completed.  It’s got real potential for a full blown novel!  And, I have made a commitment to myself to forge on with more drafts and build it into a sellable work.

So, I left camp this morning with a great feeling of accomplishment and am so thankful I had the opportunity to join other writers in a such a challenging feat!  And, I packed a whole lot of “You CAN do it” attitude in my backpack for my trip home.

Would I do it again?  Oh yeah..but not for awhile.  I want to catch up with all of you…not being able to write my posts excruciating!  I’m looking forward to reading your posts and interacting with all of you.

And, while we’re on the subject, let me thank all of you for your encouragement; your great comments and for actually checking in on me from time to time.  It kept me going and kept me motivated to make you all proud!

Would I recommend Camp NaNoWriMo?  You betcha.  It’s a great way to learn that to be a writer, you have to write..everyday!  Even if it’s just a paragraph or two, each time you sit down and put words together, you are improving your writing skills.

The camp offered motivational posts periodically and they had great forums you could jump into at any time.  Just be prepared to dedicate the time required to complete the goals you set.  It’s not always easy, but I’m here to tell you, it’s damn rewarding!

Plus, you get goodies if you reach your goal!  What are they?  I have no idea…can’t get them until May 1.  But, I’ve already gotten the ultimate trophy..my first novel tucked under my arm.

Life is Good!

Love,

Cranky

33 responses to “Cranky’s Back In Town

  1. Well done, you old devil you.

  2. Ronnie Ann says:

    I am so impressed with your momentous accomplishment, Cranky. Like so many, I have my own half-finished novel (ok…only 5 chapters) tucked away in my computer drawer. So encouraging that you not only finished this first draft, but allowed yourself the absolutely-necessary luxury to keep going even though you knew things would have to be cleaned up later. Wuhoo! Hallelujah!! Congratulations!!!

  3. Yeah, you bad! Congratulations and welcome home! ~Mary

  4. Basharr says:

    Welcome back and congrats!!!! =)

  5. ericaatje says:

    Congrats on you first novel!!!
    I’m curious what it’s about… But maybe I will see it in the shops some sunny day! 😉

  6. Welcome back Cranky. You’ve probably got lots of laundry and stuff because those camps are not normally well equipped. Delighted to have you back and if ever you doubted it, you can now print a visiting card that says: Cranky, Writer and Novelist

  7. mcwoman says:

    Welcome home from camp; hope you didn’t get too many mosquito bites–but it looks like that doesn’t matter. Congrats on completing your goal! Isn’t great to know that you can do it. I had the same feeling after I wrote my first one. I’m working on the sixth one right now. Each of my babies had to be rewritten no less that four or five times before I was ready to submit to a publisher. And now, I also have an editor and a proofreader to please. Yowie! But there’s nothing like holding your first novel in your hands. You’ve just taken the most important first step.

  8. ioniamartin says:

    Congratulations on your NaNoWriMo win and I love that dancing bunny lol

  9. Yey!!! Congratulations Cranky! Yes, you are indeed bad a**! I am so happy for you and impressed with your amazing accomplishment! I’ve missed your witty posts so I’m glad you’re back – Welcome Home 🙂

  10. John says:

    Congrats! That’s a very big step… even if you never go back to it, never do the polishing… getting it written, start to finish, is a great accomplishment! Be proud, very proud!

  11. Traci says:

    I thought I heard somebody singing “I’m Every Woman” . . . 🙂 Congrats!

  12. mewhoami says:

    Congratulations on your first novel! Also, it’s great to have you back. Without your blog posts, WordPress is just not the same. 🙂

  13. keladelaide says:

    So you cranked out an entire novel! I am impressed, not surprised and inspired. My first picture book has been underway since you left for camp.

  14. I am in awe of your accomplishment and thrilled for you!

  15. Bastet says:

    Wow, i’m very happy for you and thanks for sharing with us this wonderful experience! Looking forward to a sneek peek (?)…glad you’re back with us though…got a bit lonely from time to time!

  16. Sending you big hugs! So glad you’re back–we missed you!!! Very proud that you completed your novel, now is the fun part.

  17. timidvoice says:

    That’s fantastic, well done! Gives me hope I can overcome the doubt and do nanowrimo too.

  18. mummyshymz says:

    Congratulations Cranky 🙂

Leave a Reply

