Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Call Me A Dreamer

on April 26, 2013

Recent events have left a lot of us shell-shocked.  It seems like one bad dream after another became reality.  We have lost innocent lives in war and on our home shores.  We’ve had a hell of a lot to deal with and it seems that just when the healing begins from the effects of one horrific act; another attack occurs.

We shake our heads with disbelief; we pray for an end to the madness and we mourn for those lost to us forever.

But, I still dream.  I dream of a world where we look upon our fellow man and hold out a hand in friendship.  I dream of our children growing up in a world filled with kindness, not suspicion and hate.  I dream that we finally achieve world peace and find peace within ourselves.

Now, I’m not naive.  I know that this is a dream that will take many future generations to achieve.  But, I believe it’s a dream that can come true if we really want it to.  If each person takes a few minutes out of each day to perform a random act of kindness then we get a little bit closer to that dream.

I found a video that shows the effects of one single act of kindness.  You might have seen it before; I think you might want to watch it again; it’s a video that makes me hope that someday my dream will become a reality.

One of my favorite John Lennon songs “Imagine” says it best:

You, you may say

I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.

I hope some day you’ll join us

And the world will be as one.

Let’s work together to make that dream come true.

This post is dedicated to Bloggers For Peace and to one of my fellow peaceniks, Sun at “Simply Charming.”  Check out her site..it really makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside!

9 responses to “Call Me A Dreamer

  1. TamrahJo says:

    Nice – my little logical heart can’t help but ask – – “Why was the woman putting coins in a meter where there was no car?”
    Sorry – just wondering if anyone else noticed – –
    Still
    AWESOME!

  2. Ronnie Ann says:

    This is absolutely wonderful! Ah Cranky…I am a fellow peacenik who joins you with all my heart. Thanks for the video, the John Lennon quote and the link!

  3. ericaatje says:

    I’ve seen this video once! It’s so great!!! And I believe and dream your dream! 😉

  4. sheilamariegrimes says:

    Yes …kindness does keep the world afloat! thanks!

  5. Hey Cranky – Just found you – and glad I did. There’s LOTS of us Dreamers out there – seeding visions – conversation by conversation, idea by idea, every day. Everything is created from thought (think about that, so let’s start dreaming/thinker big. Peace is possible but it has to begin and get nurtured in every mind and heart.

    PS every so often when I watch a film or movie, I realize how slow progress is – and how far we’ve come.

    • Great comments..thanks so much! I agree..we’ve made some progress..if we keep reaching out and paying it forward, we might make the dream come true sooner than we think.

      Thanks so much for visiting! Drop in anytime!

Leave a Reply

