Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Weird And Proud Of It!

on April 28, 2013

528442_175374402617397_1450607181_n

I’ve been called weird before.  I’ve rarely been called normal!  And, that’s cool with me.

What is the definition of weird?  Well, according to my good friends Merriam and Webster, weird has a couple of meanings.

1. of, relating to, or caused by witchcraft or the supernatural.  Magical.

2. of strange or extraordinary character, odd, fantastic.

Oh, baby, I’m loving those definitions.  Because, sometimes, when my fingers are flying across the keys and my thoughts are shooting out like stars across the universe, it is pure magic. It is fantastic.

Now, let’s look at some words that are the opposite of weird.

Common, ordinary, plain and usual as just a few.  Well, who the hell wants to be common or ordinary.  Not me!

To me, being weird is a gift.  One that you treasure; you don’t stuff it away, hoping no-one will discover it.  For it is our weirdness that makes us interesting, entertaining and talented.

Being weird does let us look at the world around us with a different set of eyes.  It lets our imaginations grow and fly in the wind against normal conventions and beliefs.

We are unique; we are the thinkers, the dreamers, the inventors and the world would be a sad and dreary place without us.

So, the next time someone looks at you, scratches their head and says “You’re weird,” do what I do.  Smile and say, “Thanks, don’t you wish you were?”

71450_437433999679818_33231711_n

Be Weird and Be Proud!

Love,

Cranky

23 responses to “Weird And Proud Of It!

  1. dmauldin53 says:

    Amen, sister! 🙂

  2. Gwen says:

    I think being weird is a prerequisite to being a writer!

  3. TamrahJo says:

    Is there a club? With flying pig t-shirts? I wanna join….LOL

  4. Ommmmm . . . embracing my magical, fantastic weirdness.
    Great post!

  5. faeangel says:

    Totally agree……..:)

  6. Meehaan says:

    I can relate to you. I am always being called weird or odd or unique. I own it, though!

  7. sheilamariegrimes says:

    weird is good!

  8. planetili says:

    Keep calm an be weird 😉

  9. btg5885 says:

    I treasure the eclectic. Truth be told, everyone is weird. Some hide it better than others. Of course, I like the folks who walk around in it more. All the best, BTG

  10. tric says:

    Is weird the same as “There’s something wrong with you, seriously”, because that is what my children say all the time. My humor, dress sense, choice of music, everything.

  11. mummyshymz says:

    Embrace the weirdness within. Lol

  12. Not quite 40 says:

    “Normal is just the average of all the weirdness in the world.”

  13. John says:

    Here’s to The Weird! I think we’re a much more interesting group of people…

Leave a Reply

