Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A Great Moment In My Life!

on April 30, 2013

award (2)

Awarding the people who live in the moment

The noble who write and capture the best in life

The bold who reminded us what really mattered

Savoring the experience of quality time

Hey, check it out.  I’ve been nominated for the Best Moment Award by one of my favorite bloggers, Erica whose site “Encaustic Art Your House” captured and has held my attention and respect for quite a while.  This young lady lives in the Netherlands and what beautiful pieces she creates using an iron and beeswax.  “What?”  Yup, this gifted artist has finally found a fun way to use an iron!  Seriously, her art is amazing; her blogs are entertaining, and you really need to check out her site.

Of course, I must comply with the rules of acceptance to truly be able to be worthy of this honor.  The rules are quite simple:

  1. Create an acceptance speech either by video or a written speech post
  2. Pass the award on to 15 other bloggers

Now, a little known fact about Cranky.  She don’t do video..she rarely lets you include her in a picture!  So, a written speech it is!

To my buddy blogger, Erica and to all those in the audience today.  When I was told that I had received the “Best Moment” Award, I thought “SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!”  What an honor to be recognized and included with other illustrious winners of this award.  I’m grateful to Erica for nominating me and I’m grateful to you, my readers, who have shown me what “blog love” is all about.

When I first came to WordPress, I had little hopes for accomplishing anything more that having a place to leave my rants and ramblings.  Three months later, here I sit with another prestigious award, readers that amaze me with their support and encouragement, and fellow bloggers that delight me with their posts.  I have received motivation, inspiration and the “go get em” cheers necessary to drive me to write my first novel.  Finishing that all important first draft was honestly the “Best Moment” of my life!

There is no way I can ever thank all of you for reading my posts, commenting often and pushing that ever important “Like Button.”  That is where the real awards lie.

What’s that you say.  Oh, sorry folks, they tell me my time’s up.  So, let me close by saying thank you Erica.  I’m honored, I’m delighted to pass this award on and I’m seriously CHUFFED! (God, I love that word!)

So, moving on to nominate other bloggers for the great sites.  Before I begin, I want to know that it is always a tough job to choose nominees; you are all noble, you are all bold and you have all written posts worthy of this award.  But, since I’m limited to only fifteen, please know that if you’re not on the list, it’s not because I don’t love ya…it’s because there is no way to include all of you.

To my nominees, I will tell you that I give you this award with the standard “No Strings Attached.”  If you want to, pass it on..if you don’t want to, just take the award and know that I think you deserve the recognition for your great posts!

Here’s my list:

Author McCloskey Speaks – This lady knows of what she speaks of..she’s got a couple of books under her arm and a lovely way with words.

Experienced Tutors – This site is one of the most informative and delightful sites focused on education that I’ve ever come across.

How Not To Kill Your Parents – This girl makes me laugh with her witty posts about being married and living with her family!

Fingerprintwriting – Some lovely pictures and lovely words reside on this site!

Making Meaning – A “Over The Pond” mom with three kids who charms with with her stories and her pictures.I

Raising 5 Kids With Disabilities – This was one of the first sites I found and I count myself lucky to have found it!  If you need a motivational speaker…check out this site!

Mama Bear Musings – I have long loved this woman’s wit and insight into family life!

DaVida Nature Photography – Mary might think I’ve added her name because I’ve run out of choices ( I nominated her for the Sunshine Award).  Nothing could be less true.  This woman’s photos have given me some of the most peaceful moments of my life!

Miniscule Moments of Inspiration – And, this young lady truly inspires me with her lovely words and wonderful insights.

I Want To Be A Billionaire – He makes me laugh, cry and feel inspired!  And, I hope if Frank every hits that Billion, he’ll remember this old lady. 🙂 Kidding, big guy!

Thoughts On A Page – No nominee list that involves the Best Moments would be complete without my Irish buddy, Tric.  She delights me with each post she writes!

Shamanictracking – Want to meet a real Shaman?  Here’s your chance.  This site is beautiful and intriguing.

Neversaidbefore – This site has honest, open and touching posts from a young lady who puts her thoughts out there boldly!

Me, Myself and Kids – Larry is one funny dad.  Get to his site, grab a piece of cake and sit back and enjoy!

21st Century Mom – This young mother gives us a fresh perspective from her site.  I’ve just discovered her and am so glad I did!

All of my nominees are wonderful bloggers and I believe that your visits to their sites are well worth your time!

So, I’m going to go now and shine my award badge; take a breath and move on to my next post.  But, before I leave, let me again thank all of you for giving me the Best Moments of my life!

22 responses to “A Great Moment In My Life!

  1. Wow! Thanks for thinking of me while basking in your own glory!

  2. […] big ‘Thank You’ to Grandma at: https://crankycaregiver.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/a-great-moment-in-my-life/ for nominating me for the ‘Best Moment Award’. This is my first time to receive this […]

  3. Basharr says:

    Hey Hey Congrats to you!!! =)

  4. Cranky, thank you for the nomination and the kind words.

  5. Congrats you deserve it, I enjoy reading your posts and am honoured you enjoy reading mine, you are a treasure among the rocks a unique gem. A keeper. look forward to more.

  6. Congrats! I enjoyed reading your acceptance speech. Thank you very much for reading my blog and nominating me. Cheers!

  7. ericaatje says:

    You’re very, very welcome, Cranky! You deserve it! And thanks for mentioning me and my work with the iron. Also thank you for teaching me a new word CHUFFED! Didn’t know this one yet, but now I know and hoping to remembering it and using this lovely word! 😉

  8. timidvoice says:

    Many thanks to you once again for the nomination. It’s very encouraging.
    So great that you wrote a first draft and are on the path to writing your first novel. For the love of writing…

  9. mummyshymz says:

    Congratulations!

  10. […] shouldn’t be excited about this, but I am. So get over it. The CrankyCaregiver, over at Grandma Says… was kind enough to send this my way, and hopefully you will pop by hers. She is funny and sassy and […]

  11. […] thanks to crankcaregiver yet again for nominating me for this award. She actually gave me one of my best moments so […]

Leave a Reply

