Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

I Just Had To Do It!

on April 30, 2013

154119_572120669484066_633818083_n

I’ve done some stupid things in my life, but nothing tops what I did on Facebook a while back.  Curious about the games, I looked into a few and it didn’t take me long to find out that life is just too short to spend planting seeds, building an amusement park or fighting Vampires!  Somehow, Facebook notified all their game players that I was willing to join in the fun…WRONG!

Now, I know many people enjoy these mindless amusements (my daughter is one of them) and if it makes them happy, I say game on!  BUT, get me off your list of people who want to play the game with you!  I don’t want to play!  Ever…never..no way!

Each day I get messages asking for farm instruments or announcements that game players are looking for my help to achieve their next lofty level.  I DON’T CARE! Leave me out of your merriment; I have more important things to do..like living my life!

I know this sounds harsh, and I may be just a bit Cranky, but I hate having to scroll down all those notifications to finally find one that means something to me.

Please don’t get me wrong, my FB friends and family, I love reading your POSTS and your PICTURES warm my heart!  I find many inspiring signs that have resulted in some great posts for me.  These are the reasons I keep a Facebook page and will probably remain to do so.

Just do me a favor.  Scratch me off your games list…I’m begging you!  Don’t make me send the tractor!

26 responses to “I Just Had To Do It!

  1. sheilamariegrimes says:

    I hope you get removed SOON! I agree …not for me!

  2. ioniamartin says:

    LOL! Oh my, I know what you mean. Every time I get a Facebook notification now I cringe.

  3. frankiedman says:

    I had this same problem. I figured out that there is a way to disable all those notifications. If I’m not mistaken you will have an option in the right hand corner of the notification. 🙂

  4. Susan says:

    I didn’t know FarmVille was still around. Anyway, you can go to your Facebook settings and set it so nobody invites you to games and other insipid pastimes. It worked for me!

  5. mummyshymz says:

    You can disable the FB game notifications 🙂

  6. Sara says:

    From your newsfeed hover over the game post and an arrow will pop up at the top right hand corner of that post. Click it and a drop down menu will appear, click ‘hide.’ Then it will say hide this person or hide this game/app. I click the game every time. Thankfully the friends I have on facebook that play those stupid games play the same 20-25 games so once I’ve hidden one that’s the last I ever hear about it.

  7. TamrahJo says:

    It’s been two years since I was on Facebook, but if you click on the ‘game notification’ post heading, there used to be a way to block posts if they were about the game – I did that, so I could see other posts by that person, but not the game ones….

  8. Bastet says:

    I learned awhile back that all you have to do is block the invitations…this doesn’t block the users, but just the apps…If I remember correctly it’ll ask you if you want to stop receiving news from the app and you say yes…done…oh and I blocked apps completely…so they wouldn’t send invitations to my friends.

    • Just got done with that..let’s see what happens! Tried it once before but maybe now that FB has a new “look” it’ll work this time!

      • Bastet says:

        Yuckky new look…what happens is when you go to play a game, you automatically give them the right to send messages to all your friends (or they won’t let you play)…and of course the same thing happens with other players…so sometimes it gets really tedious…like 15 people will play a game and every two minutes you get invited…but if you block one player…and choose not to have anymore invitations or information about the game, it they can’t send invites from other either… Until someone joins a new game at which point you’ll get invites for that and have to block it too. It’s a pain.

      • That’s the problem. These people jump onto new games like a wolf on a sheep! Hard to keep up…did change the settings..we’ll see how it goes!

  9. Gwen says:

    Wow – what a pain. Joining these games has never interested me (and I get the invitations all the time, too). Glad I never did it!

Leave a Reply

