Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Pull Up Those Pants!

on May 1, 2013

6074914_f520

I hate to admit it, but I can’t seem to get one of our sons to pull up his pants!  It irritates me to no end that this style of dropping the waist of your pants down around your knees won’t disappear!  I’ve tried everything to get him to realize that people just don’t find this fad attractive.

When I take him shopping (he’s an adult, so my disapproval no longer carries any weight) and try to point out that his waist is a 32 not a 36, he just scoffs and heads for the big man’s section.  He even buys belts for these ridiculously oversized jeans that do nothing to hold up his britches.  Shorts become capri length; jeans drag on the floor and his tighty whitey covered butt is always in my face!

Everyone has tried to talk to him, and I suppose I should be proud of his unwillingness to change his appearance based on public opinion.  But, jeez louise, I get embarrassed each time he goes out with me in public.  So, what’s a mom to do?

Yes, he is aware that this fad started in the late 70’s in prisons.  And, he knows that it marked prisoners as another inmates “romantic property.”  But, this doesn’t faze him; he sees rappers and other celebrities still sporting this stupid look and thinks he’s still “in” style.

But, finally, we moms might have a little help getting our kids to pull up their britches!  A nationwide “Pull Up Your Pants” Campaign has been formed in an effort to get the message out that this look is no longer “cool.”

Communities around the nation  are starting to put up motivational posters to encourage kids to cinch their belts!

e87ab7e5d0ce16f6061cc8a8cc4064c9

Businesses are exercising their right to refuse your business if you insist on showing your butt in their establishments.

untitled

Even President Obama has shown his support for the National “No More Sagging” campaign by asking his fellow-man to “pull up those pants” on MTV.

sagging_poster

The purpose of these campaigns is not to discriminate against people who want to drop their drawers in public; the message they send is it is no longer looked upon by the public as being “cool” or “tough”..it’s now regarded as a ridiculous fashion statement.  The campaigns goal is to try to get young people to respect others and themselves by dressing in clothes that don’t offend others.

So, my hope is the message will spread quickly and my son will discover that jeans that fit are not the end of the world and I will no longer have to yell “Pull Up Those Pants!

Just saying!

34 responses to “Pull Up Those Pants!

  1. Sam says:

    Just tell him it looks like he needs to change his diaper… 😉

  2. tric says:

    Many years ago I was skiing. A “cool” snowboarder decided to join our ski class one day. I spent the day behind him and I swear to God I could not take my eyes off those pants. What kept them up I do not know. All day I was sure he would ski that moment too long and down they would come, but they never did. Isaac newton should have been around to see it!

  3. mcwoman says:

    It never ceases to amaze me how stupid ends up to be “cool” in the eyes of the young. Must be due to their frontal lobes not being developed, huh?

  4. mewhoami says:

    I could not agree more. Well said!

  5. Basharr says:

    This to say the least was a much needed post. I cannot stand the saggers and I as well cannot stand the Skinny pants on males. Sagging one looks like they cannot afford a belt and should pray for zero skidmarks. While skinny pants on males makes them look like they are auditioning for the broadway version of Jack The Pumpkin King.It really makes them look a bit Fem.

    Hands down though the Sag has got to go.

  6. Agree Agree Agree Agree…so tired of telling them to pull up their pants and hearing “but it’s the fashion”.
    I don’t want to see someone’s drawers, butt crack or anything else of an intimate nature unless they are my significant other.

  7. Take the photo and a few years down the track he will agree that this is one of the most amusing fashion trends that I still laugh at when someone walks by with undies visible to the world.

  8. Easter Ellen says:

    I’m not sure how old your son is, but perhaps just leaving it alone to let him come to his own embarrassing (in-bare-ass-ing) situation will change his mind. A job interview or workplace that disallows such dress or even better.. a special someone that thinks he looks ridiculous will carry a lot more weight than Mom’s opinion. Some things are just best left alone for someone else to straighten out.. after such concerted effort, I don’t think that anything more you have to say will matter to him on the subject.

    Good read, by the way. I have had two boys go through the pants-down fad and I am proud to say that they finally are back in the waist-zone again! (It sure wasn’t my harping on them that did it though.)

    • Oh, I have thrown up my hands in defeat on this issue with my son (27) as it is fruitless to change his mind. Hopefully, he’ll encounter someone he respects who points at him and says, “Really?”

      Thanks so much for the visit and the follow. Feel free to poke around!

  9. mummyshymz says:

    Thankfully this fad seems to have worn off in my country. I had to cover my dayghter’s eyes each time I went out.

  10. Gwen says:

    I think this fad has seen its day, too. Funny thing is, I never even notice it anymore. Now I think I’ll be paying more attention and thinking about The Campaign!

  11. Kevin says:

    I do seriously hope we can kill this “sagging pants” thing. My stepson is one these guys (he’s 22) who still where’s his pants low. I told him as well about the prison charm of having low hanging pants but he didn’t seem to understand what I meant (and I was VERY clear). One can only hope that after they can’t run out of the way of a runaway car, train, or zombie that they will finally learn.

    And they are the ones that will take care of us in our old age? Yikes!

    As for being ashamed…they could care less and they don’t seem to care if they have a good job or not. Thanks for getting me depressed that your son is 27 and still has sagging pants. Now I get to look forward to at least five more years of this nonsense with my stepson? At least he lives with his dad now and he can deal with it.

    Great post!!!

    • Let’s hope that our sons grab on to another fad and buckle up those jeans! And, you’re right..no amount of our harping on them will change their minds..let’s just wait it out!

      • Basharr says:

        I did some researching, Kmart and Target both used to sell jeans for kids with sewn in boxers that sagged. The idea was to look like sagging from the get-go. I just have to wonder, did the “Dress Yourself Properly Gene” short out in some people? =)

      • Say it isn’t so! Well, those stores are good on feeding our kids crappy clothes so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised!

      • Basharr says:

        True, True.

  12. btg5885 says:

    I would guess you will never have any luck on this issue due to the tone deaf ear, so you should probably stick to offering input on bigger issues. Maybe those words might sink in. Take care, BTG

  13. Bastet says:

    As they say; this too will pass…remember bell bottom jeans and mini skirts and paisley shirts…long stringy hair with a flower in it…ponchos, midis, oversized sweaters…yes, this too will pass.

Leave a Reply

