Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

An Unexpected Moment

on May 2, 2013

35012_175305702624267_498061611_n

Yesterday, I had one of those unexpected moments that don’t come often enough.  Let me share it with you.

The weather was dismal; rain battered the windows while thunder and lightning filled the skies. It was one of those days that you just wanted to crawl into bed with a good read and forget the world existed.

Around five p.m., our visiting son declared that there was a household emergency. NO MORE SODA POP IN THE FRIDGE!  Really? You couldn’t have let me known earlier, when the weather a bit less miserable?  Not willing to tolerate an evening full of mournful looks; I donned my rainwear, my best martyr attitude and trudged out to the car.  I puddle jumped my way to Wally World muttering about having to drive to the store in such crappy weather.

As the rain beat down on my car, I heard the beginning strains of “I Can’t fight the Feeling” by REO Speedwagon. Pulling into the parking lot, I waved shopper after shopper to feel free to cross the lot while I lost myself in the sweet lyrics.  I was having one of those unexpected moments.

I parked the car and sat back and enjoyed the song; I watched the storm clouds swirl in the sky in all their majestic beauty and I smiled at the patterns the raindrops made on the hood of my car.

The song ended and I shut off the car.  I felt at peace and decided to sit and listen to the music of the rain for a while.  I didn’t want the unexpected moment to end.

These moments, when I open my eyes and see the beauty of the world around me, are precious and I never fail to treasure them.  A day I believed to be crappy had transformed into one filled with wonder and joy at being alive. I was able to enjoy the feeling of being of one with the universe.  I don’t see these moments coming but I welcome them with open arms!

I wound up entering the store with a lighter step, a happy heart and a smile on my face.  All because of that one unexpected moment.

So, when one of those moments sneak up on you; grab on and enjoy each second of it. It could be a butterfly on your nose; a smile from a stranger or a sweet song on the radio; it doesn’t matter how it happens.  It just matters that you take the time to enjoy it!

Hope your day brings you one of those unexpected moments!

10 responses to “An Unexpected Moment

  1. TamrahJo says:

    I remember so many times when my dad would come home in the evenings…the truck would pull to a stop in it’s accustomed place, the door would open to allow the family dog to leap up and greet home the master – – and the engine continued running and he didn’t leave the truck….

    I would wander out to the truck, to join in listening to the song he deemed to good to cut-off midstream, or that new tune he was trying to learn how to play on his guitar…

    Thanks for the beautiful post that reminded me of those moments…
    🙂

  2. Bastet says:

    Carpe diem! 😉 thanks brings back memories.

  3. mummyshymz says:

    This is a beautiful post. It’s often the little things that we take for granted, not realizing that we are missing out on the small miracles that happen every day 🙂

  4. ericaatje says:

    When I have such a moment in the car with great music I drive an extra round till it’s over…;)

  5. mcwoman says:

    Little surprises like this keep us going. We just have to be alert enough to recognize them. So happy you are!

Leave a Reply

