Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

And The Hits Just Keep On Coming!

on May 2, 2013

1326672136105-animated_happy_dance_squirrel

It’s official!  I am now a verified winner of Camp NaNoWriMo.  Got me some goodies which included that nifty badge on the right..check it out!  Wow, am I proud to put that on my site!  And, NaNoWriMo doesn’t stop there!  Among my goodies I will get access to sites that will help me take my first draft and show me how to fine tune it!  Didn’t see that coming..thought I’d be on my own after camp.  So, all in all, it’s been a great day for this new novelist.

I didn’t earn this award on my own.  My blogging buddy Aurora was the first to give me a heads up that there was such a thing as Camp NaNoWriMo.  Check out her site at Metal Angel, she’s one of my first and favorite follows.  So, thanks Aurora!  I owe you!

I can’t list the many people who gave me support, inspiration and a “you can do it” push during the rough weeks at camp.  There were so many of you and I can’t thank you all enough for cheering on this old fart across the finish line.  You actually kept me from quitting (and at times, I was very close!) and you made me feel good about what I was attempting to achieve.

Now, I want a word with those of you who have a few chapters written and hidden away in your desk.  Camp NaNoWriMo has another summer session coming up!  Check it out and see if it might be just the thing to get you pumping out those words again.  The great thing about this camp is you don’t have to worry about punctuation; you don’t have to even have the chapters in the right order and you don’t have to spend a lot of time on back stories if you don’t want to.  Your primary goal is to crank out a first draft of your novel.

And, the great thing about summer camps at NaNoWriMo is that you choose how many words you want to write to reach your goal.  I started off with 20,000 words as my goal.  As I started working on the novel, I found that too few to reach the end of my book.  So, I increased my goal to 30,000 and ended up with over that by the end of camp.

So, sign up for the summer camp and get that novel (short story or poem) written and earn the right to say “I’m a Novelist!”  I’ve already got an idea for a new novel swimming around my head and I’m going back in November to write my second novel, come hell or high water!

That gives me six months to work on my first novel; in a few more weeks, I’ll pull out that first draft and start working on the revisions.  It needs major work; most first drafts do.  And, I would like to think that I can count on you again for your help in completing this novel to publication.

I’m hoping to use that “Feedback” button that WordPress has so nicely provided to send chapters to those of you who are willing to look them over and give me some feedback on.  Let me know if you’ve got the time or inclination to help this poor old lady reach her dream of being published (the sympathy card is being played here, in case you didn’t notice)!

So, again, thanks to Aurora, Camp NaNoWriMo and all my supporters during this wonderful writing experience.  I owe you all…big time!  You’ve all made those hits just keep on coming for me!

Love,

Cranky

31 responses to “And The Hits Just Keep On Coming!

  1. Easter Ellen says:

    That is awesome! Congratulations. Someday I will have to dig up the courage to look into entering contests as well! Good for you & bless you lots~
    Easter Ellen

  2. barbtaub says:

    Congratulations! What genre is your novel? I’d love to take a look at a chapter or two.

  3. mummyshymz says:

    Congratulations! Waiting for you to show a sneak peek of your novel once it’s ready 🙂

  4. Ronnie Ann says:

    Congrats on officially making it through such a grueling process. You sure earned that nifty badge! And I know you’ve inspired others. But the fact that you want to do it yet again…are perhaps stepping on the toes of sanity? 🙂

  5. tric says:

    Camp. Writing every day. Interact with other writers. No children. No husband. You got to go to heaven and you didn’t even have to die! Well done. Delighted for you. No experience with revisions but I do enjoy comedy if you ever want to let me have a peek!

  6. Congratulations Cranky! All those voices and characters milling about in your head paid off big time. So happy for you! 🙂

  7. ericaatje says:

    Congratulations!!!! I would love to go to that camp as well, but it’s a bit far away for me… Good luck in fine tuning your first novel! I don’t think I will be much help for you since English is not my first language… Too bad! Maybe I can buy your novel when it’s out there in all the stores! Can I have your signature? You’re going to be famous!!! 😉

  8. Well done you deserve it! if you need some extra eyes, I know what I like, but can’t help with punctuation and grammar send me an email any time I don’t have alot of time to spare but would love to read some of your work, you are on your way.

  9. amanda amanda says:

    Hai Cranky
    Likes to read your texts.
    Easy to read and more difficult to write English
    … but I’m a writing coach

  10. TamrahJo says:

    Congrats and willing to sign up for ‘feedback’ duty 🙂

  11. dmauldin53 says:

    Congratulations! I’m still trying to get up the nerve to do a NaNoWriMo, but I made it through the A-Z, so I may try it. 🙂

  12. keladelaide says:

    You sound proud as punch!

    • I actually never thought I would do it. I’m a great beginner at new things..then either lose interest or give in to defeat. So, I am proud that I stuck to it and proved to myself that I was able to write a book in 30 days.

  13. Bastet says:

    Congratulations, sounds like this has been a fantastic occasion for you….hmmm….pardon my ignorance, but is the camp a physical place, I got the impression it was so…being in Europe…it’ll be great to read your first novel…love your blog and the humor you put into it, so a book will be great!

Leave a Reply

