Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Get Me Out Of Here!

on May 4, 2013

skeltw2

Everybody needs a break once in a while..caregivers, spouses or significant others.  It becomes time to get away and rejeuvenate..take a breather..or just plain get out of Dodge.

I reached that point yesterday.  Danny had stepped on my last nerve and I needed to escape before I blew a gasket! I called my daughter and invited myself up for some quality “Grandma” time.  I informed Danny that he was “on his own” for a couple of days.  I set out his medicine; I made sure he had enough prepared dinners ready and I ran..ran..ran to my daughter’s house.

I looked forward to spending time with my daughter, my son-in-law and my granddaughter (not necessarily in that order).  I threw my overnight bag in the back of the car and headed for my daughter’s house.

First I stopped off to see my son, who manages a Pizza store.  I spent the first hour of my precious time off helping him to deliver pizza…not something I really enjoy doing, but obviously, this was my son’s idea of bonding with his mom.

Finally, I arrived at my daughter’s house, ready to relax, laugh and generally have a good time.  My daughter arrived home from work and had just sat down when friends of hers came in for a short visit.  While we chatted, the wife talked about her appointment with an eye doctor for the next day.

Evidently, her contacts had caused an eye infection and she was wearing an old pair of glasses.  She complained that they were throwing her depth perception off.  After arranging for her daughter to be dropped off the next morning in the morning to join my granddaughter on her trip to school, the group left. We waved good-bye and prepared to sit back and enjoy television together.

Suddenly we heard a shout from outside the house.  My daughter ran out and discovered her friend prostate across the driveway screaming “I think I broke my arm.”  Oh yeah, she did.  In three places.  It wasn’t pretty! The poor woman had tripped over her own feet. An ambulance was called, we made room for her daughter to spend the night, and my daughter spent the evening informing those who needed to know what happened.  So, I bade an early goodnight and looked forward to a better day.

The sun rose, I awoke and looked forward to some quality time with my daughter.  She was getting off early from work and we planned a nice lunch out and a quiet evening.  After picking up the girls from school, we again settled in for a quiet night filled with T.V. and mindless chatter.  Right!

The phone rang and my son, the Pizza Guy was on the line.  He wanted to know if we had any antibiotic…he had an bad tooth and he was in agony.  We didn’t and I advised him to get to an emergency room to get help until he could see a dentist.  To top things off, Danny called and informed me that he had broken a tooth eating the steak I had left for his dinner. (Oh yeah, the guilt card was being played!)

My daughter then went into the kitchen to prepare some dinner for the girls.  She noticed the garbage was getting a little high and thrust her hand in to push the trash down to make room for more.  In the process, she managed to slice her finger open on the lid of a can.

I became aware of her injury when I heard her yelling “Oh, F***, F***, F***. (A little side note here, I certainly didn’t teach her that language!)  I ran and got bandages and we were able to stop the flow of blood and avoid a visit to the Emergency room.

I finished the cooking while my daughter was changing the band-aid on her finger every ten minutes and finally the girl’s were fed and they turned on the Disney Channel.  My daughter, by now exhausted by the stress of her friend breaking her arm and cutting her finger to shreds, retired early.  I was left sitting, with my nose glued to the laptop trying to drown out the sounds of “Jesse” and reruns of the “Hannah Montana” shows.

Now, don’t get me wrong..it’s hasn’t been all bad.  I got to spend a nice quiet morning catching up with my blogging buddies, enjoyed a wonderful lunch with my daughter and my granddaughter played her jazz solo that she will be performing in a concert (she played it over, and over and over).

But, now it’s time for me to go..I want to escape before another catastrophe falls.  I’m afraid that the roof may fall on my head, the cat will give me “Cat Scratch Fever” or I’ll start singing the lyrics to Hannah Montana’s “Best Of Both Worlds.”

It’s been great but get me the hell out of here!

28 responses to “Get Me Out Of Here!

  1. barbtaub says:

    Too funny! I’m sorry that you had so much trouble getting away from it all, but it does make a great read. Maybe it’s the universe’s way of making sure you don’t mind getting back to your regular life?

    Of course, the truly horrifying part of your post is that you know the lyrics to Hannah Montana’s “Best of Both Worlds”…

  2. Bastet says:

    LOL funny how the grass is always greener somewhere else…’til we get there…chuckle…it’s always happening to me too!

  3. mcwoman says:

    I’m sorry your respite didn’t turn out the way you envisioned. Next time go to a hotel. Thanks for the giggle. Barbara

  4. TamrahJo says:

    You need to come visit me – after my 7 years of one durn thing after another, I have turned the corner and we haven’t had a F***, F***, F*** moment for nearly 18 months now…
    🙂
    You can hang out with my mom – she didn’t teach me that language, either….
    😛

  5. btg5885 says:

    Thanks for sharing. It sounds like you are the go-to person on all issues. The “go-to” people need breaks from those who come to you. I am glad you did have some enjoyment. Yet, it sounds like you need an unplug moment or two. Best wishes on that mission, BTG

  6. ioniamartin says:

    F-Bombs are allowed in situations where Hannah Montana is involved. 🙂

  7. John says:

    I envy you the ability to go stay somewhere for a day or two…. my caretaking duties keep me pretty much at home.

    Hope you enjoy your time away!

  8. waynemali says:

    I feel for you, I have to sit through Jesse, Hannah Montana and all that, my seven year old daughter sings all the songs as wel, I can’t get away from it sometimes, I really do feel for you.
    God Bless
    Wayne

  9. michaelanson says:

    Witty, as always. I myself am trying to will myself to be creative–not having much success. It’s hard to write that next Great American Novel, especially since I’m burdened with such pedestrian ideas. At least things happen to you.

  10. faeangel says:

    Can’t stop laughing and at the same time sending you tons of heartfelt hugs.

  11. mummyshymz says:

    Lol! What an eventful “vacation”. Not many people have such interesting stories to post 😉 hope you get a nice, boring vacation soon!

  12. What a crazy time you had! With life, you never know what’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

