Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A Few Words From Cranky

on May 5, 2013

34063_131447926886778_1443233_n

I’m not old…I’m a baby boomer who refuses to submit to the word “geriatric”  I’ve yet to be called an old fart (to my face). My Irish ancestors blessed me with the ability to look younger than I actually am.  (What!  All those people who tell me that I don’t look in my sixties are lying to me?  Begone, doubters!)  Anyway, the years are starting to take a toll on me in many different ways.

942460_382765198494472_1300336901_nMornings no longer find me jumping out of bed; it’s more like a slow sit-up..dangle stiff legs..slide feet slowly to floor routine that seems to take longer each year.  I no longer jog into the kitchen to make that coffee..it’s more of a slow shuffle in scuffy clad footsies.

But, I can’t complain.  If I knew I was going to live this long, I probably would have taken better care of myself.  And, then again, maybe not.

375019_525568667505980_766827039_n

I knew that the foolish things I did in my youth would one day catch up to me; I’m just happy that my mind is still intact (well, kind of, sorta, maybe?)

73366_605187619510704_786199169_n

O.k., a little honesty here.  I sometimes find my mind wandering and wind up pouring the coffee about ten degrees south of the lip of the cup.

156139_479681748745050_2111599572_n

I admit that the new technology sometimes confuses my feeble little mind.

kids

But, at least I still get around on my own two feet.

165404_406757952755613_1416312499_n

But, mainly, I’ve come to treasure the friends I’ve made here in WordPress.  We share all our thoughts, dreams and wishes with each other and it gives me pride to say, Your my Besties!

934101_445972825486252_1824847706_n

So these are just  a few words to say thanks for that friendship and hoping you have a great Sunday!  I’m taking the day off to kick back and relax..hope you get to also!

26 responses to “A Few Words From Cranky

  1. dmauldin53 says:

    Great post! Made me laugh my arse off! 🙂

  2. tric says:

    Those Irish genes are great! Not sure they are working too well for me. Your so right, blogging is great and it makes no difference what age we all are only what we are writing.

  3. Bastet says:

    OMG I actually used the “crispy” cat as my avatar last year! I really really know how you feel…an no one tells me to my face either that I look like I’m in my sixties! (We must have friends in common…well maybe not…just well mannered younger friends 😉 )

    • Actually, a lot of my friends are a lot older than me..keeps me feeling young! 🙂 And, yeah, Crispy Cat rocks!

      • Bastet says:

        Know what you mean…I live in center of a medieval town, most of the younger people have moved to the more modern area…the average age here is like 75… 🙂

  4. Bastet says:

    Hmmm…tried to click the “campnanowrimo.org” badge as suggested yesterday, but nothing happens…suggestions?

  5. Thanks for the laugh. Enjoy a well-earned rest.

  6. Very fun post, and I hear you on the age thing!

  7. mummyshymz says:

    Lol! I really enjoyed this post! And the pictures are hilarious 😀 nice to know you too, Cranky! Have a great day!

  8. sheilamariegrimes says:

    Dearest Cranky, you are loved!

  9. mcwoman says:

    I didn’t read this until Monday because I was out partying on Saturday and had to recoup on Sunday. You’re right, things have changed!

  10. No`ono`o Pono says:

    roflll.. Mahalo/Thank You for the wonderful belly laughs.. and please know reading your wonderful posts has actually pushed my ‘need a cup of coffee’ to a far second to start my days..

  11. Lily Mugford says:

    Thank you for the laugh, I can sooo identify with everything you said, I could have written it myself, but you did it so well, complete with hysterical pictures…. I am still laughing. and yes, I am crispy too.

  12. btg5885 says:

    Love the Biker Bar!!!! I unfortunately have the opposite trait. I have always looked older than I am. It was wonderful not getting carded to buy beer, but now…..

Leave a Reply

