Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

For Better or For Worse – My Idea of Marriage

on May 7, 2013

I rarely reblog, but this post should be seen by all who wonder what true love is. Grab a hankie!

frankiedman

For the past four weeks the church I attend has had a very interesting series titled Roommates,  Bad Dates & Soul Mates. I have learned so many things in this series about my own personal life and what love should be about. I’m sure I will have a blog or two about what I have learned and how I have put it into practice. For the meantime I will share a video that was played for the congregation.

This is a speech by Robert McQuilken. For those readers who don’t know who Robert McQuilken, he was president of Columbia Bible College and Seminar from 1960 to 1990. Dr. McQuilken stepped down from his position at the college when his wife became ill with Alzheimer’s and needed full-time care.  This is quite possibly one of the most moving things I have ever heard. His respect of the commitment which is marriage is just fascinating. He’s a hero in…

View original post 6 more words

4 responses to “For Better or For Worse – My Idea of Marriage

  1. barbtaub says:

    You have no idea what it means to me to see this today, of all days. My siblings and I are facing an incredibly tough decision regarding my parents. We have done everything we can think of for many years with the single goal of keeping them together, as they have been since their marriage over 60 years ago. It is completely obvious, despite their increasingly frail physical and mental states, that both are at their happiest together. The financial strain (full time, round the clock caregivers) is severe, but keeping them together, in the home they love, has been our only goal. Sadly, it looks like one of them will need more care than can be provided at home. Our hearts are breaking.

    • Could they both go to the same residence? Here in Florida, I know that many couples choose to stay together in a total care residence even though one doesn’t require full time nursing.

      My heart goes out to you and your family. My siblings had to make the same hard decision for my parents. My dad required full time nursing care while my mother still was fully functional and ambulatory. It was heartwrenching, to say the least.

      After my dad passed, my mother remarried after a few years to an awesome guy. They are still together but live with my stepdad’s daughter who is a nurse.

      I am so sorry to hear that you have to make such a difficult choice…may something blessed come to light that enables you to keep them together.

      No matter what happens, know that you and you’re siblings have done all you can to make your parents happy in their last years. Sometimes, we all have to make decisions that hurt us and break our hearts; but you must keep in mind what is best for your parents.

      Wish I could be of more help..if you ever need an ear..I’m here for you!

      Love,
      Cranky

  2. sheilamariegrimes says:

    Like throws us curves. We do what we have to, keeping in mind that caregiving is a full time job. My prayers go out to this family. Hard decisions. But no matter what, the circle of their love will never be broken. Life is ever changing and we must weigh options every day. God Bless you during these hard times.

Leave a Reply

