Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A Simple Thank You From The Heart

on May 11, 2013

A Daughter Is A Gift Of Love 

Author – Unknown

841232_3729983307222_1925693138_o (1)

My Granddaughter – Elizabeth An- Feb. 2000

Tomorrow is the big day!  Everyone is getting ready to celebrate and pay tribute to that very special person in their life..their Moms.  And, this is a good thing, this is the way it should be.

But, I want to celebrate Mother’s Day in a different way.  I want to turn the tables, you might say, and send out a special thank you to my daughter.

Years ago, my newborn daughter was placed in my arms..and a bond that was formed that day never weakened.  Over the years, she has been my rock, my confidant and my shoulder to cry on during tough times.  She is my biggest supporter, my constant inspiration and my best friend.

She held my hand during the tough times; she laughed with me during the silly times; and she comforted me during times of illness.  I owe her my life, my love and my thanks for being there when I needed her.

All my children are precious to me, but the bond my daughter is one I hold close and will treasure always.  I want to thank her for keeping that bond strong and sturdy.

But, most of all, I want to thank her for the special gift she gave me…the granddaughter that I love just as much as I do my daughter.  This was the greatest gift a child can give their mother and for that, I want to send her a simple Thank You from my heart and my wishes for a very Happy Mother’s Day.

282891_4955634179521_1422886893_n

Elizabeth An – 2013

Love, Mom

22 responses to “A Simple Thank You From The Heart

  1. No`ono`o Pono says:

    What wonderful post.. and idea.. Mahalo for sharing..
    Ano’ai kou alahele.. May your way be blessed ..

  2. dmauldin53 says:

    That is beautiful! Hope you have a Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. Beautiful post. I have the same sense of joy and connection with my daughter…and now my granddaughter, too.
    I remember an Italian neighbor who always said, “There are two kinds of women…those who have daughters, and those who don’t.” She believed there was something defining, challenging and strengthening about having a daughter that a woman didn’t get anywhere else.

  4. This is so sweet. 😀 Your granddaughter is beautiful. There is something special about us gals. I hope to have a little girl someday. Right now my house is male dominated. I need someone to sway the votes in my favor. 😀

  5. mummyshymz says:

    You have a beautiful granddaughter… Your daughter must have been touched to read this. I know I was 🙂

  6. btg5885 says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day as well as your daughter. I have yet to get to the grandparent stage, but I feel your pride and joy. Best wishes to all three of you. BTG

  7. keladelaide says:

    I did want a daughter but I’ll have to wait and see if I can be a nanna to a grand daughter!

Leave a Reply

