Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Sometimes, They Just Get It Right

on May 15, 2013

cute-ladybug-cartoon_~k13765158

Danny and I have eight kids between us, four on each side, and all are adults.  They are busy with their own lives..and that is a good thing.  Our two youngest, one girl and one boy, are often guilty of forgetting that we exist unless money becomes an issue (they need some) or a favor is needed.  On their visits, they pack the car with “goodies” from our fridge; they hog the couch and forget to say “thanks” for the things we do for them.

And, that’s the way it is for a lot of parents.  We become a little less important in their lives; their calls become few and far between, their visits are short  and we are left wondering if they think about us at all.

Sunday, Mother’s Day, I was having a cup of coffee and thinking we had a double reason to celebrate the day.  It was a year to the day that Danny was admitted to the hospital and damn near died from liver failure.  I reminded myself to congratulate him on not drinking and following a healthy lifestyle since that day.

Since Danny was sleeping in, I grabbed my cup and headed to my laptop.  I jumped on Facebook and started scrolling down when I came upon our daughter’s message she had posted on her wall.  She had written:

“Oh one more thing that just crossed my mind and i gotta give it up to my dad. A little over a year ago my dad was in the hospital for stomach pains, most of his liver shot, hipatitus c and had to get his gulbladder removes. We didnt know what the hell was going on. We didnt know if he was gonna survive or not. But the soldier he is quit drinking and started eating healthy. He is still standing here today and still going strong minus all the partying and drinking. I couldnt picture my life without u. Love you dad. Keep up the good work im proud of you”

Later, when I brought out the laptop and let Danny read what she had written, I watched the tears well in his eyes.  He was so touched and surprised that not only had she remembered the exact day he went in the hospital, but she was telling the world how proud she was of him.  The smile on his face when he finished was the best Mother’s Day Gift I could have ever asked for.

Oh, yes, sometimes our kids can be thoughtless and selfish.  But, sometimes, they do get it right!

Good job, sweetie, good job!

Love,

Dad and M.E.

20 responses to “Sometimes, They Just Get It Right

  1. Basharr says:

    This is a great post as it rings of reality, one of our children gets it right surprisingly quite frequently while the other simply lacks and is proud of it. She posts very bad things about her mom who endured 20 years of beatings to keep her children from getting beat. My wife is quite strong and loves the girls to death and I hate to see what the youngest daughter writes. BTW It was her ex husband did the beating I have spent that last decade plus patching up my wonderful wife.

    • Children in dysfunctional families often take it out on the parent least at fault. And, you my man, are now one of my favorite buddies..keep on being there for that woman..she deserves it!

  2. Oh that’s just lovely.

  3. mummyshymz says:

    Aww… FB is a great way to keep in touch with the thoughts of the younger generation. A pat on your back for raising her right 🙂

  4. Bastet says:

    Grat title…and so appropriate…good kid you got there.

  5. Bastet says:

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    Sometimes it’s the little things in life that makes it all worthwhile…

  6. btg5885 says:

    Wonderful. Isn’t it grand when they do something adult like that. With boys, it is a journey up to manhood. Some days, they fall are kids, and some days they do these things. Thanks for sharing, BTG

  7. Gwen says:

    It’s all about those rewards. Lets you know the hard work and trying times were worth it.

  8. ericaatje says:

    So sweet!!! Kids can and will surprise you more often than you can imagine… 😉

  9. keladelaide says:

    My time is yet to come but I hope they’ll give a hoot about their old lady when we get there.

Leave a Reply

