Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

My Middle Name Is “No!”

on May 16, 2013

dog0033

I’m laying here, head on paws, wondering where I’ve gone wrong.  I know I’m new around here;  just arrived four weeks ago from my cage in PuppyTown.  I thought I was ready for the humans my cage mates talked about.  But, somehow, although my new housemates named me Buddy, I’m beginning to think my middle name is “No!”

My cage mates told me to expect a different life than the one I lead.  They talked of scratches behind the ears (o.k., I admit, I get a lot of those!)  They promised lots of food and snacks (so far, so good on that point).  And, they raved about the glories of walking tall and proud around the neighborhood with my masters (yup, love that part.)

What they didn’t warn me about was something I heard my master’s talking about since the first day I graced their doorstep.  Something they call “Training”!  Wow, where did that come from?  I believed my life would be spent having the humans fulfill my every wish; be at my beck and call and lavish me with love and attention.

But, lately, I’ve been hearing that word “No” a lot..and I have a sneaky suspicion it’s all that “Training’s” fault!  It seems like a day can’t go by without my hearing the word “No”..I nibble the female’s toes; it’s “No Buddy!”  I chew on that nice yummy rocking chair leg and it’s “No, bad dog!”  I jump up into a chair to get a little puppy nap and it’s “No, in your bed!”  I can’t seem to catch a break!

Now, I try to get past those stern “No’s” by batting my big brown eyes and putting on my cutest little puppy face.  I wag my tail so hard it shakes my back end.  But, they are just not falling for it.  I try to persist and they just insist I stop!

To be fair, I also get a lot of “Good boy’s” or my favorite, “Atta boy!”  These happen when I sit when told; leave my messes out in the yard and generally try to please them by not using my nails to rip the screens or sinking my puppy teeth into their ankles.  I also found out that chewing on their shoes was frowned upon in this establishment. (hey, I only take one!)

And, I’m not the only one getting this “Training.”  My humans are learning to be consistent and firm. They know that if they let their defenses down, I’m gonna puppy walk all over them.  They also make sure that I get something called “treats” that are rewards for when I do listen.

They protect me by picking up things that just should not be chewed by puppies, like wires and things called “chemicals”.  And, they always use a leash when we go off the home front so cars don’t wind up running me over and so I don’t get lost.

I’m slowly discovering that if I just learn the all the do’s and don’ts, we can all live happily together.  My humans say that I am progressing on that front and I guess, with a little more of this “Training”, I’ll hear that word “No” less and less and get a lot of those most excellent belly rubs.

But, now I’ve started hearing another word bandied about by my owners. What’s with this word called “Neuter“?

DSCN0134

37 responses to “My Middle Name Is “No!”

  1. ericaatje says:

    Hahaha, the puppy whisperer! 😉

  2. You’re busy for sure! Nice post …cute!

  3. barbtaub says:

    How can you say no to that face? SO cute!

  4. tric says:

    Love the end! ha ha.

  5. helensamia says:

    Gorgeous ….😃😃

  6. mummyshymz says:

    He’s gorgeous!!! Haha… Neutered… Poor clueless Buddy

  7. ioniamartin says:

    My dogs are crying for the puppy. Trust me, they are called “no” “Knock it off” and “Not again!”

  8. Val Mills says:

    LOL, our dog failed traing school!

  9. Bastet says:

    So cute and so patient with his humans too! LOL…

  10. btg5885 says:

    Very good. We have been puppy walked over a lot. You’d think we would learn, but what is cute today becomes less so when they weigh 75 pounds. Thanks for sharing, BTG

  11. lexiesnana says:

    This is so cute. I think that little puppy is adorable. Good luck with the training.

  12. hownottokillyourparents says:

    Yeah, the chewing is rough. Bad Dog did nothing for us. It sounds crazy, but what worked for us was calling the thing “bad.” I would literally pick up a shoe and go “bad heel! bad designer footwear!” The logic is that the pup figures out that the thing is dangerous, or not to be trusted, and so then he doesn’t want to go anywhere near it again. We had to do it for a while, and we all sounded crazy doing it, but it really did help.

  13. keladelaide says:

    Buddy is a budding beauty. ♥

  14. mcwoman says:

    You made me LOL! Terrific piece. Hope you’re having fun with the new baby and all the TRAINING he’s complaining about.

Leave a Reply

