Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

When There Are No Words

on May 21, 2013

Sadness-Is-Everywhere

I sit here, filled with emotion and for once, I can’t find the words to describe what I am feeling.  I am a writer, words are my life, and yet I can’t seem to find the right ones that describe the sadness or the feeling of helplessness I am now experiencing.

I watch the news videos covering the destruction of Moore, Oklahoma and the loss of life that occurred when the tornado hit the small town.  And, I find myself without words.  The usual words sound empty and shallow compared to the pain these tornado victims are going through.  I guess there are no words that can describe the feelings we have when we witness such tremendous loss and agony.

We have seen so much pain in the past year.  Senseless murders of our children; horrific shootings of innocents; and terrorist attacks on our own lands.  But, these events are ones we can find the words for.  We have a villain; we can express our anger, our outrage, our quest for justice.

But, when the natural forces of nature destroys lives and levels a whole town in a blink of an eye; we have no one to rail at.  We feel impotent and unable to comfort those victims.  We have no one to blame and that leaves us feeling helpless and words feel inadequate.

There are some, who although they can’t find the words, are doing what they can to diminish the pain of these victims.  The social media is filling with an outpouring of love and support for the people of Moore. One woman posted on Facebook and offered to provide shelter and feed for horses that are now without stables.  She went further and has offered to pick them up and transport them to her farm.

Many of Moore’s neighbors in towns as far as 300 miles away are taking pictures of the victims’s memento’s and property that the tornado left in their yards.  They are posting these on Websites to enable people to retrieve valuables that they thought were lost forever.

Lost animals, found wandering and hungry, are being cared for and their pictures are being posted so owner’s can retrieve them.

With help from their fellow-man; the town of Moore will rebuild.  They have done it before and they will do it again..I have no doubt about this.

But, for now, while I look at a couple going through the rubble of what was once their home; when I watch the parents try to deal with the irretrievable loss of a child; I find myself without words.  And maybe that because there are no words strong enough to comfort these people.  Only by stretching out a helping hand, will they start to heal.

May those hands come quickly and soothe their pain.

312144_391318930972432_67259919_n

27 responses to “When There Are No Words

  1. No`ono`o Pono says:

    Mahalo for putting into words what I’ve not been able to..
    all I can add.. to all affected by this tragedy.. Paha na Iēhowa `oe e ho`omaika`i mai, ā e mālama `oe palekana. …May the Lord Bless You and Keep You Safe

  2. ioniamartin says:

    This is beautiful sentiment. My the victims know peace within their hearts and may you as well.

  3. Val Mills says:

    Even here far away in New Zealand our hearts are heavy.

  4. That’s beautiful, Cranky.

  5. Prayers …help …we here in Texas are looking to the skies …

  6. Well said. While driving teen girls home from school today, they mentioned Moore. They were saddened and overcome by the power of nature. But as the conversation continued, they were just as overcome by the power of the kindness that has followed.

  7. helensamia says:

    Your words were beautiful and said what so many of us are feeling..,life can be so cruel it is so hard to understand… We have no control over nature… May their hearts heal….

  8. Leanne says:

    I know what you mean. Every time I think I want to say something, it doesn’t seem good enough, comforting enough… so I’ve grown quiet. I don’t have the words because I don’t have an understanding when I think of all the tragedy we’ve experienced in under a year’s time. It’s dark.

    I do find hope and faith restored in humanity when I hear stories of people sacrificing/offering themselves for the sake of others’ relief… like the woman you mentioned offering shelter and feed and transportation for others’ horses. It’s pure, unconditional love in action. All these stories of hope and love are like twinkling stars against the dark… they pop up here and there as the aftermath unfolds. As the sky fills with all the stars, the dark, though still there, is easier to take in.

    Anyway, I feel what you’re saying and understand what you mean. Hugs to you. My heart is joined with yours in prayers for the victims, the disaster relief workers, and the extended friends and families of those affected.

  9. Bastet says:

    Like doen’t seem appropriate…it’s so terrible when these tornados swoop down destroying so many homes and lives. Yes, there just aren’t the right words to express our sentiments which… or be the healing balm for the victums.

  10. keladelaide says:

    Strength, determination and the sheer will of humankind will keep these people from losing hope that all is lost.

  11. btg5885 says:

    Nicely done. When nature rears its ugly head, it makes our other petty issues seem even smaller. Losing a loved one and losing your home where you could have found some refuge from it is hard to fathom. There is no place like home. I wish all the best to those impacted and those helping them.

  12. mcwoman says:

    In situations of such devastating loss, only hugs help. You’re right, there are no words.

Leave a Reply

