Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Is It Too Late To Unbottle?

on May 23, 2013

Since I’m swamped with revisions, I thought I’d share one of my first posts with you. I was brand new to WordPress when I posted this. Hope you enjoy.

Grandma Says..

“Artists who begin late are sometimes said to unbottle.” said Nanuzzi.

Excerpt from Duma Key by Stephen King

 

I have always dreamed of being a writer.

When I was much younger than I am now, I took my first creative writing course.  Before the course ended, my instructor called me aside and told me that I had a talent for writing and that I should pursue a career in it.  I thanked him and walked away.  At the time, I was raising three children, trying to make a second marriage work and had just started a job in the banking industry that offered an opportunity for growth and a career.  So, I stuffed my dreams of writing in a bottle and moved on.

A few years ago, I decided to sign up for online writing courses, curious to see if I did have any talent in that direction.  During…

View original post 433 more words

8 responses to “Is It Too Late To Unbottle?

  1. helensamia says:

    Getting Unbottled is great!!!!… And a new word too….

  2. ioniamartin says:

    It is never too late. Look at Agatha Christie!

  3. Basharr says:

    You are aware that you can put your work on amazon.com correct? I have a friend who writes and he puts single chapters on Amazon.com.

    On a side note, just before bed last night we were granted the unique chance to ride out a 5.7 earthquake here in the mountains of northern Ca. For me it was exciting as I have been through them numerous times but it freaked my wife out it was her first. =)

  4. keladelaide says:

    Never too late. In fact, the later; the better. More life experience under the belt?

Leave a Reply

