Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A Visit By An Angel

on May 24, 2013

harpist-hands-pic-2-for-end-of-blog-289x300

Last May, when my SO, Danny, was in the hospital, I was at my wit’s end.  Putting up with his hysterical sister, negative reports from the doctor’s and the stress of just being in a hospital 24/7 was beginning to take its toll.  I couldn’t sleep; couldn’t eat and was finding it harder and harder to keep up a positive attitude.

One day, feeling low, I stood out in the hallway outside Danny’s room and started to walk outside for a short break.  I stopped in my tracks when I saw an elderly woman pushing a harp.  Curious, I stepped aside to let her pass and watched her as she set up a chair and her harp at the end of the hall.

As she began playing soft and beautiful music, I looked around the hall and was amazed at the effect her magical harp was having on all those within listening range.  Visitors came out of the rooms; nurses seemed to speak more softly, and patients who were able to walk gathered around her with smiles on their faces.

I watched and listened as her magical fingers traveled up and down the strings of the harp, producing heavenly songs.  Too soon, she silently put her chair away and pushed her harp back down the hall.  There was no applause, just silent awe that this angel had come to bless us with such beautiful music.

When Danny returned home from the hospital, he was telling me how little he remembered of the two weeks he had spent in a hospital bed. He spent most of the time in a heavy fog due to large doses of pain medication.  But, he told me, he had dreamed that angels were playing their harps for him.

I smiled, and said “No, honey, that wasn’t a dream.”

My thanks to that unknown angel, who brought beauty and peace to us that day with her magical harp.

Author’s notes: This was previously posted the second day I was on WordPress.  I reread it and felt I had to share the experience one more time.  I hope you enjoy it!

16 responses to “A Visit By An Angel

  1. dhutch729 says:

    WONDERFUL!!!!! i am a nurse and know of the power of music and inspiration in healing. thanks for this post.

  2. helensamia says:

    Wonderful .. Music can bring such peace and calm..

  3. There are angels everywhere, and you never know when they will reach out and touch your life.

  4. Your unknown angel appeared at the right time for you:-) Beautiful post.

  5. btg5885 says:

    What a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing it again.

  6. keladelaide says:

    I must go back in time and read some of your first posts.

  7. jengolightly says:

    It must be wonderful to have a nice anecdote during a difficult time. Sadly, as you say, it’s all too rare.

Leave a Reply

