Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Are You Kidding Me?

on May 28, 2013

943405_571959266171504_1773933624_n

Six short months ago, I was bored.  I was frustrated.  I was lonely.  I was a mess. I went from day-to-day, performing the same chores, talking to the same people and basically just taking up space in this world.

One day, as I sat in the doctor’s office waiting for Danny’s name to be called, I overheard a woman talking about a blog site she enjoyed.  What the hell is a blog? I wondered.  Being the inquisitive sort, I sat down at my laptop and Googled this strange new word.

Hmmm…I saw definite possibilities in the blogging process.  I could try a new adventure.  I could use this blogging thing to vent, to rant and to pick myself up when I was down in the dumps.  More importantly, I could try again at my dream of being a writer.  A dream that seemed elusive and out of my reach.

So, I dipped my toes in the blogging waters.  I first found a site that I thought would connect me to other writers…sadly this site was a “Me..Me..Me” type of blogging world that just didn’t fit my needs.  It didn’t work…it didn’t fit…it just didn’t feel like home.

And then I found WordPress.  I entered your world and gazed in wonder at the vast number of talented writers, poets and photographers…I felt like I had walked through the looking-glass.  People from all around the world were sharing their thoughts, their views and their lives.  Many were like me, writers who had yet to fulfill their potential, struggling to find their way and looking for guidance.

In just a few days I realized that I had found a home.  Yesterday, I looked at my calendar and realized that it marked four months to the day since I dived nose first into WordPress.  When I looked up my stats, my eyes opened wide and I shouted “Are you kidding me?”

I have more than 500 followers, over 2,500 comments (okay, I think half are mine :))and by today or tomorrow, I will have reached 10,000 views.  All in a short four months.  Shut the front door!  I have also received many awards of recognition; I have made friends; and I have enjoyed every damn minute of it.  I have written 180 posts and a novel.  Unbelievable!

My life now has purpose; it has meaning and it is no longer filled with silence.  For that, I thank you all from the bottom of my heart!

Love,

Cranky

41 responses to “Are You Kidding Me?

  1. This is a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Gwen says:

    I’m glad you found your home on WordPress, and even more happy we connected! xo Gwen

  3. This is great and I can totally relate. I just recently started blogging, and I have found that it made me more productive and happy. Best of luck and keep up the awesome writing 🙂

  4. If you keep this positivity up, you’re going to have to change your username!

  5. Dear Cranky,
    I just love your writing style! Keep up the great blogging:-) I’m going try to make friends with some of your followers too!

  6. hownottokillyourparents says:

    I, too, can relate. I’m totally hooked on the format, and have started something longer myself. It’s been wonderful getting to know all of these new folks and faces. 🙂

  7. sknicholls says:

    WordPress is a wonderfully warm community. I am much newer at this blogging thing but you expressed my sentiments exactly. Love the way that you put things in writing. Keep Writing! Keep Reading! 🙂

    • Yes, here in the world of WordPress, I feel the love. In the four months I’ve only encountered one Cyberbully and I put a quick stop to her using my ability to shut her up on my site.

      I never expected to find such a response to my offerings. You will find the same love and support here. Keep writing..they will come!

  8. Susan Norden says:

    Yay!!! That’s a huge following in just a few months…I enjoy your work; congratulations!! 🙂

  9. Congratulations Cranky! 🙂 You’re stats are quite amazing, but I have to say as a reader for close to the entire four months, your wonderful writing is what stands out for me and makes your blog so special. 😉

  10. Oh my, it must be past my bedtime. Did I actually write “you’re” instead of “your”? Yikes! There it is black and white… :-/ hmmm

  11. I’ve tried more than a few sites of “shared interests”, and this is by far the most intelligent, thoughtful and respectful crowd I have come accross. And so i’m still here 🙂

  12. Bastet says:

    Great post and congrats for all those readers! Have to agree blogging is turning into a beautiful experience…just over 4 months???? I thought you’d been blogging for years! 🙂

  13. ericaatje says:

    Keep up the blogging!!!

  14. btg5885 says:

    CC, all good reasons. Plus, we enjoy your company and perspective. Glad you share a piece of you with us. Thanks, BTG

  15. ioniamartin says:

    And those follows and comments are well deserved!

  16. mcwoman says:

    You’ve had great success in my eyes. I have a very small following and I’ve posted about 280 posts. 10,000 views would be so great. I keep plugging away, but then that’s always been my style. Congrats, Cranky. You deserve the recognition.

    • Thanks for your kind words. And, I can’t believe more people don’t follow you. I find your posts suberbly written and very insightful.

      We may have to correct this problem! 🙂

  17. keladelaide says:

    I hear you and echo your sentiments.

  18. melissajanda says:

    I agree. I had no idea just how fulfilling blogging could be. WordPress is a wonderful community of writers who inspire, encourage, and support one another. We writers go through a mix of emotions (This is kind of… good. Oh, this is awful! Hey! I think I can do this “writing” thing! Who are you kidding, this sucks!), so that support system is crucial. I am also continually amazed at the level of talent that is out there and thankful for the connections that I’ve made. Great post and congrats on your success 🙂

    • Thanks so much and I agree 100%. I was on Xanga before (I still have blogger and publicize to them but never jump over there) and just dropped in to see what’s happening to them. They are going down the tubes, so I am so happy I found WordPress!

Leave a Reply

