Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

The Silent Woman

on May 31, 2013

lonely old woman

She hears the slap of the strap and the cries of her child and she sits in silence.

She sees the terror in her child’s eyes as her husband’s fist lashes out and strikes the defenseless child.  She watches in silence.

She listens to the cruel, vicious words her husband throws at her innocent child, words that wound and leave scars, and she sits in silence.

Years pass, and her child asks why…why did she not protect her?  Why did she just stand by and let the abuse go on and on?  Why did she not speak out for her child? The woman just shakes her head and sits in silence.

Now, the silent woman sits alone, lonely and frightened of death.  Her legs are useless, her eyes have become sightless and she can no longer hear her daughter’s words.  The words that say I love you and I forgive you.

The silent woman can only hear the eternal silence.

25 responses to “The Silent Woman

  1. mewhoami says:

    That was beautiful, and heartbreaking.

  2. mummyshymz says:

    Poignant post…

  3. btg5885 says:

    Whew. This is powerful. It is so hard to stand up to DV, but we must.

  4. Wow cranky, that’s excellent! Reminds me of my mother’s last years, Different issues but same sad pain.

  5. Bastet says:

    This was very powerful and it came over like a poem to me…hard stuff to get touch but you’ve come across strongly…thanks for sharing this it was awesome.

  6. tric says:

    When my family discovered what happened to me they did not cope very well. My mom in particular. It was very difficult and we struggled for years. Thankfully time and understanding brought us back together. Forgiveness is not easy but it is the only way to be at peace. I can honestly say now I love her dearly and we are great pals. It is funny but I could not comment on this earlier. Like yourself its all still a bit difficult. I have to be in the right mood to let it in.

  7. The last two sentences are incredible. Very powerful. Thank you for sharing

  8. sknicholls says:

    Wow! What a great post expressing what is always so very secret. I truly love your ending. Having worked in Nursing Homes, I have heard this story over and over, but not so very well put!

  9. keladelaide says:

    How you see your mum’s perspective and write from that must have been very difficult to do.

    • I tried six times to write this piece..it sat in my “Draft” bin. Finally, after a mother’s day phone call to my mother, I was able to complete it. Still hard to read it though, isn’t that weird? Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

