Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Hitting One Out Of The Park

on June 1, 2013

baseball-swing-animation

I was asked the other day how I have managed to get over 10,000 views in such a short time on WordPress.  I had to sit down and really think about why my stories seem to please the readers.

We all want to do it..you know we do.  We want to write that one story, that one poem or take that one picture that really hits it out of the park.  The question is, how?

I’m no expert, but I do know that some of my articles get a unsurprising warm welcome.  Why, unsurprising?  Well, because when I was finished, when I leaned back and read and reread the piece..I got a little tickle that says, “I like it!”

I usually get this tickle when I write about everyday things.  I was washing my car one day and wrote a piece about the bird poo I had to spend hours removing.  I was sitting on the commode and watched a spider head towards me and wrote about my fear of spiders.  I wrote about my experiences in my first writing camp; Danny’s colonoscopy preparation and even a little diddy about shopping at Wally World and encountering a real life Cranky!  All of these got great responses…all of these were articles I enjoyed writing.

Other pieces I have written were the results of childhood memories, some good memories, some horrific memories.  But, when I wrote them, I wrote with honesty, and the powerful emotions that went into writing them showed and told me they were good.  The readers agreed.

I think every writer has to put a piece of themselves into what they write.  Whether it be a personal experience, their view on a particular subject or the feelings they have about the world around them, they have to let go and show who they are in their writing.

There are some things I am totally unable to write about.  Politics…not savvy enough for that subject.  Religion…no way I’m getting into that one.  So, I stick with writing that fits me, tells people who I am or shows them what I have experienced in my life.

I guess that what I’m trying to tell bloggers , who ask me how I have so many views in such a short while in WordPress, is to write from the heart.  Don’t try to follow the pack…write what you know, what you feel and about what you’ve seen.

It’s working for me and I’m sure it will work for you!  Before you know, you’ll be hitting them all out of the park!

Authors note:  Of course, my small success in WordPress is all due to the absolute best readers in the world.  They Rock!  Without them, I’d of packed up my stories and my laptop and stored them away for some poor unsuspecting soul to find when I’ve been put six feet under.  Love you all!  Thanks for hopping on my bike and showing me the way during this wild ride!!

Love,

Cranky

 

14 responses to “Hitting One Out Of The Park

  1. Could not agree more! Be authentic and write from the heart, also a little sense of humour goes a long way. Thank you always enjoy reading your posts

  2. Bastet says:

    Thanks for sharing your secret! It’s no surprise to me you’ve got oodles of views, you write very very well, it’s great reading you! Simple, so says Bastet! 😉

  3. Dear Cranky …………………………you are adorable!

  4. mummyshymz says:

    Spot on! Couldn’t agree more. Of course, you can’t deny that you have a flair for writing. Not everyone can write about bird poo and make it interesting 😉

  5. excellent, congratulations on your success, it is more than apparant that you are an impressive writer, kind regards, Baldy 🙂

  6. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations on reaching such a great milestone. 🙂

  7. mirrorgirl says:

    I Like the fact that you actually sat down and though seriously through that questions. I also think there is something with those people who notice details. I have a friend who can tell with enthusiasm what a movie was about, and I listen, completely caught up. When I tell it myself, I’m not THERE, I must talk about some of my passions if I want people to listen. Like you say, I think people are good at separating the truth and honestly from someone who writes just to write, from someone who love to tell about those things they write about. Thanks for this wonderful reflection!

Leave a Reply

