Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Don’t Ask Me…I Won’t Tell

on June 5, 2013

daddy_duck_with_arms_crossed_postcard-rb4ec4fd0159d4548a7b72c95ca936f09_vgbaq_8byvr_216

Daily Prompt: Never

by michelle w. on June 5, 2013

Tell us about a thing you’ll never write about.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FORBIDDEN. 

My father once gave me a piece of sage advice that I’ve never forgotten.  “Never talk about politics or religion when you drink.”  I bring that advice into my writing, for these are the two subjects that I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole in my articles or stories.

I don’t refuse to write about these subjects because I worry about what people will think of me; I don’t hold back because I feel that I might upset some of my readers. Anyone who has followed my posts can tell you that at times I write with a soft and gentle touch.  Sometimes I come out kicking.

Why do I consider these two subjects off-limits?  Well, let me explain.

Let’s take politics first.  I am just not a political type of gal.  It’s as simple as that.  I leave the filibustering and controversy to minds and voices greater than mine to sort out the political issues that surround us.  It’s not that I don’t care what’s happening in our government, I’m just as American as the next writer.  I just don’t feel it necessary to make my political likes and dislikes public and I definitely don’t want to debate these issues.  I speak my mind at election time in the polls.

Now, give me an injustice, give me a cause to fight for and I run to my laptop and take off the gloves.  Show me some good old American patriotism and I’m the first in line to shout “Well, done!” But comments on the state of affairs in our government are better left in the hands of the political journalists; I don’t feel the need to tread in their waters.  I keep my opinions to myself and refuse to share them in print.

Why is religion taboo when I write?  I am just not a religious type of gal.  I have my beliefs, my faith in a higher power and my set of moral standards that I follow.  I don’t expect anyone else to walk my spiritual path and I don’t write about how others should follow my beliefs.  I avoid organized religion and hold my convictions close and private.  It’s who I am and it’s served me well.

Now, let me see an beautiful sunset, or hear the first cry from a newborn baby, and I’ll write about my beliefs in the beauty of the world.  Show me one human treating another with kindness and love and I’ll put those warm and fuzzy feelings I get in print.  But I leave the religious articles and posters that claim they have the one true religion to other writers and their followers.

To those writers who do tackle these difficult subjects in their writings, I tip my hat to you.  I do read your material and I respect your observations and views as I would when reading your pieces on any other subject.

But,  if you ask me to write about my views on Abortion or Gun Control, I’ll say, “Don’t ask me.”  And, if you want me to write about my religious beliefs, I’ll just shake my head and say “I won’t tell.”

18 responses to “Don’t Ask Me…I Won’t Tell

  1. ioniamartin says:

    Agreed. I don’t touch those subjects either.

  2. We are what we are …it comes out in the wash!

  3. […] Don’t Ask Me…I Won’t Tell | Grandma Says.. […]

  4. Bastet says:

    Very well done…you are so right to stay away from that sticky stuff, sometimes I get sucked in and then I regret it…they are just two subjects people have difficulty being reasonable about, it brings out the swordsman in most people as they set about defending ephemeral ideas just as though they were defending their very life.

  5. mummyshymz says:

    That’s a smart choice 🙂

  6. JayNine says:

    My mother taught me ‘sex, politics, and religion’–NOT up for exterior conversation! Other than with Mom and even just some family members. I agree!

  7. keladelaide says:

    In Aus we say politics, religion and football.

  8. btg5885 says:

    CC, as said in “The Help” you are smart, you are kind and you are important. This is why I blog incognito, as I do business in the south, where in my town you are often asked where you go to church, even today. It is better to make up answer than leave it hanging. Unfortunately, I do fight for causes that are influenced by inane, non-fact based political decisionmaking that harm the pawns in the game, so I need to put on my Don Quixote armor and chase windmills. Signed Man of La Mancha

  9. […] Don’t Ask Me…I Won’t Tell | Grandma Says.. […]

Leave a Reply

