Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Some Of My Favorite Dads

on June 16, 2013

agfathersday4

Today is a day for remembering our fathers and I wanted to do something a bit out of the ordinary.  I wanted to pay tribute to some of those “other” dads that I grew up with and loved to watch on television.  So, let’s talk a stroll back down memory lane and say “Happy Father’s Day”  once more to those dads.

GRIFFITH_337-articleLarge-v2

Andy Taylor – The Andy Griffith Show

Andy Taylor was a gentle, loving dad who always seemed to have the right words to guide Opie along the way.  And, he was wise enough to only let Barney have one bullet for his gun.

189015600-15115241

Charles IngallsLittle House On The Prairie

Charles Engalls was a dad who worked hard to give his children a home and a set of values that they could carry with them through life.

Family_affair_1967

Bill Davis – Family Affair

Remember this dad?  Bill Davis was the ultimate bachelor until three kids showed up at his door.  Who still has their Mrs. Beasley doll?

188864200-15115305

Steve Keaton – Family Ties

Steve Keaton was hip, he was now and he was environmentally friendly!  What’s not to love?

220px-Courtship_of_Eddies_Father_1969

Tom Corbett – The Courtship Of Eddie’s Father

Tom Corbett had his hands full with his son Eddie, who was always trying to “set up” his dad with potential wives.

dnews

Ozzie Nelson – The Ozzie and Harriet Show

I loved Ozzie for his mellow, laid back approach to dealing with life and his two sons.  And, if we were lucky, Ricki would sing a tune or two.

Now, it’s impossible to list all my favorite television dads, but I do know that I spent many delightful hours watching them and enjoying the way they interacted with their kids.  So, to all the television “dads” out there, I salute you!

And, I want to wish all the real Dads out there a very Happy Father’s Day!

13 responses to “Some Of My Favorite Dads

  1. tric says:

    I sat with my eleven year old and watched little house on the prairie this morning. We are working our way through the box set. I had forgotten all about Family Affair, so am off to Google to get it on DVD as she would love it. Good different take on fathers day. Well done.

  2. Awww a trip down memory lane. Love it!

  3. Basharr says:

    I would add Ward Cleaver of Leave it to Beaver. Today I find myself remembering my Grand Father as he was the father figure in my life that instilled positive traits and always gave me unconditional love. Happy fathers day to your SO. =)

  4. Bastet says:

    Thanks for this great blog…how many great hours spent with these great dads! 🙂

  5. btg5885 says:

    Love Andy as a dad and sheriff. Thanks for sharing, BTG

Leave a Reply

