Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Just A Hop, Skip And A Click

on July 2, 2013

v5d6qs.jpg

Ahhh…the sun is shining, the birds are singing and the old man left for the afternoon. Oh yes, life is good!  I’ve been busy, busy, busy today working on my new blog site and although it still has a ways to go, I’m really excited about the initial response I’ve been getting from the readers that have dropped in and followed.

I’ve had the time today to add some new features to “A Dream Come True” and I thought I’d get some feedback from my readers as to whether the new features help them navigate the new site more effectively.

The first concern I had was making my faithful readers navigate between the two sites.  I didn’t want to use Reblog since it seemed kind of cheesy to be reblogging my own posts from one site to another.  And, I’m anything but cheesy…right…right?  Of course, WordPress widgets came to my rescue.  I was able to put an image on both sites that enable the reader to just click on the picture and it brings them to the other site.

How neat is that?  Easy breezy!  Of course, Mrs. Gulch (The Witch Who Wouldn’t Leave) is in both sidebars now…had to do it…the old witch scares me!  Hope you like the new feature.

Another feature that I’ve begun to use on the new site is the Blogroll, which enables readers to link to sites I find awesome with just a click.  Now, I think all of my readers are awesome so I have a very partial list so far.  I’ll be adding links as I get time…I am trying to provide links that readers can use as a tool to find inspiration, motivation and writers resources.  So, if you don’t find your site on it yet, please don’t unfollow me.  As I said, I’m still working on it and I want to make it shine, so give me some time!

All in all, I’m having a great time posting on both sites. I look forward to hearing from you (if you feel motivated to do so) on how you like the site and how it can be improved.  So, if want, hop, skip or click on over to “A Dream Come True” and take a gander!

Love you all!

Cranky

16 responses to “Just A Hop, Skip And A Click

  1. I’m tired after reading your post! You are so full of energy! You go girl!

  2. JayNine says:

    “Cranky” this is amazing! You’ve inished more than i have! Ive found all of tese things very useful–once i figure out HOW to use them (is a whole other story). LOL! So proud of you and I will be looking for the link photo to your other site shortly (when on my PC). J9;)!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Thanks! When I first heard about WordPress, I was warned that it is so full of features that it takes a while to find them all..and boy, is that true!

      Love your visits!

  3. AuAu says:

    After reading this post, I put pictures to the links of between my sites as well, its a great idea, and I hope Mrs. Gulch likes her new job, its very important.

  4. Dunn and Dusted says:

    Thanks Cranky,
    Very useful.
    Dunn&Dusted

  5. Gwen says:

    I’ve checked it out and it’s wonderful! Although I don’t know how you find the time to keep up two blogs at once! Love seeing your photo on your site now, too. Hope this blog won’t be going anywhere!

    • M E McMahon says:

      You couldn’t blast Cranky out of her site with twenty sticks of dynamite. Thanks for the feedback! I have no idea how I’m going to keep up with two sites, but so far, I’m having a ball doing it.

      The novel is still a work in progress, but I had to sit back for awhile. I’m going to write a post about why probably today! Thanks for sticking with me, my friend!

  6. Patty O says:

    LOVE! And the moving rabbit is great too. Thanks for the continual smiles and laughs!

  7. keladelaide says:

    I haven’t stopped by yet but will be sure to do so. This lil blogger has a lot to learn yet.

  8. TamrahJo says:

    Thank Gawd Mrs. Gulch is back – – my days felt empty and bereft without viewing her stern and purposeful bicycling…
    No, really, I’m not kidding….
    🙂

Leave a Reply

