Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Not Another Rainy Day!

on July 2, 2013

crazy_woman2

No, please!  I can’t take it!  Say it ain’t true.  I cannot withstand another day cooped up with Danny.

We’ve been getting a lot of rain here in Florida; we need it..I can dig that.  I can handle a rainy day, in fact, I love them.  They inspire me; they fascinate me with their beauty; they give me an excuse to stay on my laptop and get creative.

Oh, but Danny takes a rainy day personal.  He feels trapped as he is the type of male that must be outside to be feel productive; I think it’s that “King Of The Jungle” feeling that he gets when he’s working out in the yard.  So, when he can’t prowl around outside, he paces through the house and complains..a lot..all day..all night.

Yesterday was a nightmare.  Our morning coffee-time, when I usually listen to Danny’s plans for the yard, turned into an hour spent with a man wearing a pout and complaining about the rain.  I tried to cheer him up.

“Look at that rain coming down.” He groused.

“Well, I’ve never seen it go up!” I quipped.  Hmm..dead silence, not even a chuckle?

A short minute later:

“It’s gonna rain outside all day, dammit!”

“Well, it’s better than raining inside!” Okay…that one was kind of weak but I don’t think I deserved the “drop dead” look I received.

By afternoon, I gave up trying to write as he decided his new hobby was to interrupt whatever I was doing.  I would get up from the table and he would ask where I was going.  I thought the warm, comforting smells from baking would calm him down; but no luck.  “What are you burning?” was the thanks I got for the pineapple upside down cake.  And it’s not burnt…just a little well done on the edges.

By late afternoon, every nerve in my body was screaming!  If I heard one more complaint about the rain, I was not going to be held responsible for my actions.  I watch a lot of crime shows and I’m pretty sure they’d never find the body.  But, if they did, I’ll just get an all woman jury that has spent a day buried in a house with a man that had nothing to do.  They wouldn’t have the heart to convict me.

It was now evening and time to prepare dinner.  Another round of kibbitzing while I prepared his favorite dish; chicken gizzards.  I save this dish just for these occassions, since the look and smell of those disgusting chicken body parts makes me gag.  But, I weather through it if it will put a smile on his mug.

“Remember, don’t put anything in the flour except salt and pepper.” Oh yeah, I need reminding since I’m still a novice..twelve years of making them must not be enough to eliminate the salt and pepper warning.

“You’re making white gravy to go with them right?”  I assured him that I was slapping some oil, flour and milk together for him to dip his stupid gizzards in.

I, myself, do not let chicken intestines or gravy that is nothing more than a liquid glue pass my lips.  So, I got to eat leftover salisbury steak while he popped gizzards into his mouth.  It was the only quiet time of the day, so I guess it was worth the floury mess in the kitchen.  After he finished, he asked for a piece of the fresh baked cake but had to add “if it’s not burnt too bad to eat.”

Oh, yeah, I would walk out of court a free woman.

So, I’m praying that either the rain stops today or that Danny takes the hint when I hand him his car keys and say “It’s time to go…somewhere…anywhere…someplace other than here!”  Because, I just don’t think I could take another Rainy Day with Danny.

Authors note:  Now I might be Cranky, but for those of you who don’t know me, I would never harm a hair on Danny’s grey head.  Really…honest…pinky swear!

22 responses to “Not Another Rainy Day!

  1. CharleneMcD says:

    It’s raining here too. Florida must be sending it up to South Carolina…I love the beautiful colors after the rain has wash away all the pollen. Thanks for my morning chuckle.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Yes, that’s the only good thing…the pollen is being washed away. As I suffer from COPD, it’s nice to be able to go outside without a mask on! 🙂

  2. mummyshymz says:

    LOL… poor you. I’m hoping that it will rain a little more here to clear the haze. Perhaps a bonsai plant might keep Danny busy even when indoors?

  3. Cute story. I like the humor. I have a hubby that complains through most of winter when we have snow in the ground because he hates the cold.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Oh, I feel your pain. Mine does too…he can’t take the cold, the rain or the noise the neighbor’s mower makes. The list is endless!

      Thanks so much for the visit and the follow!

  4. helensamia says:

    We too have had rain rain rain…butmyesterday the sun came out and we all escaped!! Today my other half is happy as a pig in mud playing GOLF!!!

  5. Eyeore is cute when he is with Winnie the Pooh, but not when he is in your house!

  6. JayNine says:

    LMAO Cranky I LuV You, you wonderfully talented woman! Where on earth did you come up with these ‘at least its not raining INSIDE’? ‘Ive never seen it rain UP!?’ Busting a gut! Wow… Phew.. You are too good mrs cranky too good–unfortunately I am more like Danny on this topic. We can swap complaints anytime 😉
    J9;)

    • M E McMahon says:

      I’m glad you chuckled…Danny was less than amused! 🙂 However, the sun came out this morning and he returned to semi-normal…so life is once again calm!

  7. barbtaub says:

    The first time my father (the engineer) retired, my mother stood it until he alphabetized everything in her pantry and scanned all of it into inventory. He wanted her to scan out each item she used. Instead she typed up his resume and sent him off to get another job. The second time he retired, she took a job downtown.

    • M E McMahon says:

      OMG..please don’t give Danny any ideas. I have to remind Danny all the time that he is no longer a “Chief” in the Navy (22 years) and I’m not a “swabby.”

      God, I’m still laughing, your poor mom! If I hadn’t rediscovered my passion for writing, I’d probably be checking out groceries as we speak! She’s a smart cookie!

  8. Basharr says:

    What is truly heartbreaking is the no gravy past your lips!!! Gravy is nectar from heaven, some days especially rainy ones my wife will make some biscuits and gravy and any grumbling about being pent up in the house due to the rain is gone with each bite…=)

    BTW my wife does not like gravy either but she sure knows numerous ways to make it.

    • M E McMahon says:

      I make sausage gravy for his breakfast..had to learn how since it’s not a dish native to New England! But, white gravy for those disgusting innards is just plain bleh!

  9. Bastet says:

    Oh my poor dear…how I do feel for you..basically bacause I feel for myself…we need to make a sort of association for patient women with grousy husbands…a support group…as we are ready to pick up the axe…we call for help! 🙂 Thanks for the very funny blog…we’ll exchange notes sometime…at least, I don’t have to cook Chicken Innards to assuage my the bored buddy…I do pizza, he lives for it!

  10. Patty O says:

    Fantastic! I will be forwarding this to my mother-in-law who can SO relate! Good luck with the keys today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

