Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

When Silence Is Golden

on July 16, 2013

When’s your magic time to write?

A Dream Come True

image quiet

I get up early..very early.  Sometimes, dawn will be hours away, but I pour myself a cup of coffee and sit down at my laptop.  This is when I do my best writing, when the house is silent and I can only hear the voice of my muse.

I treasure those hours, for it is when I do my best work.  It is when I can write my most poignant and soulful pieces.  In the quiet of the early hours, I am free to dig deep and pull out emotions that I don’t let others see.

I know that many writers feel inspired when they play music while they write.  I’ve tried, but I just can’t do it.  I love music, of all kinds, but not when I’m trying to get those feelings into words.  For that, I need silence. I need the private time, time I can spend with my…

View original post 100 more words

4 responses to “When Silence Is Golden

  1. vickidean123 says:

    You are not alone. I think if anyone says they don’t do this they aren’t being totally honest. I will reward a potty success with mini m&m’s, promise swimming if they clean up their toys, offer a treat if they eat all of their dinner, and on and on…. Whatever works. 🙂

  2. I used to study with music on but now treasure nature’s soundtrack while writing. I even find it difficult now to converse in loud environments.

Leave a Reply

