Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Put The Hankie Away

on July 30, 2013

Sad news for any writer…but not a catastrophe!

A Dream Come True

crying_girl_cc

Yesterday, I opened my email and was delighted to find a response from one of the publishers I had submitted a short story to.  I had waited months to hear from them so I eagerly opened the email and read their missive, only to discover I had received my first rejection letter.

Wow, the pain…the dissappointment…the gall of these people to turn me down! My feelings are hurt! I worked so hard on that story…how could they not want it?

Yes, my friends, rejection letters can bring out the worst in us as writers.  Some of us tend to take it personal and we bring out all those insecurities that kept us from writing or submitting our work for so long.  Some get angry and stuff their stories back in the drawer and resolve never to embarrass themselves again.

Others, like myself, will take a few moments to wallow in…

View original post 446 more words

2 responses to “Put The Hankie Away

  1. Sallyann says:

    Aw, what do they know anyway … try, try and try again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

