Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

A House Is Not Always A Home

on August 11, 2013

Moving-animated-picture-of-home-with-smoking-chimney

The heat here in Florida has been stifling…so Danny and I decided to take a ride by the beach.  I love these little excursions as I get to look at all the McMansions sitting along the road.

We play a little game called “Which one is Steve’s house” in which we drive down the road that Stephen King has a winter house and guess which one the King of Horror lives in. Of course, Mr. King gives no clues: there are no vampires looking out the windows, there aren’t rabid dogs running to greet us and there isn’t a clown in sight. So, based on what we know about his house (which is close to nothing) we try to guess which one he roosts in during the northern winter months.

Here’s the one I think it is…

DSCN0240

Why do I think this is the one?  It’s simple, its got enough room for Tabitha to write on one floor while he writes on another and it’s empty (since summer is here, I’m sure he’s enjoying Maine’s cooler temps.)  The Armed Security sign kept us from peeking around and I didn’t want to spend the day getting bonded out for trespassing, so I’ll just keep my conviction that this is where he lives.

We left his road and proceeded to drive down the scenic route that takes us past homes that are hard to imaging living in, such as this one…

DSCN0243

Okay, guys and gals, although we all dream of living the life of the Great Gatsby, would you really feel at home in this huge, huge house?  I know I wouldn’t want to clean it and I’d probably spend half my day searching for Danny in this bad boy.  I probably don’t have enough friends to fill the entryway, never mind the living room.

We did find a touch of Florida at one of the homes in the driveway of this one…

DSCN0241

No, not the luxury car..the golf cart is the new “in” way to travel around the beaches as long as the batteries don’t run out.

At the end of this long, long ride around the shores of the Gulf Of Mexico, I am reminded once again why I love Florida.  The beautiful sea and skies make for a stunning view from any place along the shore.

DSCN0245

And for us that can’t afford one of those McMansions (which we jealously refer to them as) we always have access to the public beaches and you can frolic to your heart’s delight (as long as you follow the rules on this..)

DSCN0248

You’ve all seen these..the signs that say don’t do anything but enjoy yourself while you’re doing it!  Anyway, we poor folk do love our beaches here and as you can see, the weekend is a great time to head to the Intercoastal Waterway as seen here…

DSCN0253

Well, too soon our ride was over and we headed back to our simple little house.  I sat down and thought about all those beautiful houses, but wondered if they were really a home.  I can’t imagine myself living in one since I need a sense of closeness around me…my family, my friends and my dog would be swallowed hole in one of these houses.  So, even though they are great to look at, I’ll kick my feet up here and be glad for the simple things in life.

So, my friends, when you look at the pictures, you can decide for yourself whether these houses look like a home for you.  Me?  I’ll stay where I am, thank you very much.

9325827-typical-architecture-old-clapboard-wood-house-with-bicycle-in-tropical-big-corn-island-nicaragua-cen

Be It Ever So Simple

There’s No Place Like Home

Enjoy the rest of the weekend.  Oh, and by the way, I can’t leave without proof that the photographer of all the pictures, except the cartoon and the last photo, was ME!  Only I could get a picture of me in the sideview mirror…don’t worry…this is why I write and don’t take pictures!

DSCN0236

Happy Sunday!

Cranky

37 responses to “A House Is Not Always A Home

  1. faeangel says:

    The last house will do for me just fine! Cozy, homely, friendly, easy to clean, low maintenance, no danger of crystal vases being broken by happy playful kids. No need to scream at the dog for muddy paw prints all over some overpriced rug. Cranky, you could not get past the security gates on those big houses. If this last little one was mine just pop your bottom on my plastic chair, grab a drink from the icebox and I’ll see you when I get home. A lot more fun!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Yeah, the last house is definitely my kind of shack. Although, my dream house is a one room log cabin in the Blue Mountains. There I could write until I took my last breath!

  2. yourothermotherhere says:

    I enjoyed your post. Florida is beautiful. And warm! I’m in the Midwest and it’s chilly enough this morning that a fleeting thought of winter blew across my mind followed by a desire to live in a warm-year-round-climate. You are a lucky lady even if you don’t live in a McMansion!

    Have a happy Sunday too!

  3. dmauldin53 says:

    I’m like you. I like my home small and simple. 🙂

  4. Well, I would be happy to just have a simple, but pretty 4 bed 2.5 bath home. No stairs, though because I have had back surgery

  5. Great post. I loved this little peep into your area.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Thanks…all pictures were taken in a moving truck and I was surprised they came out as well as they did. Also, the road we were on have these McMansions sitting next to each other for miles…I just used a few of those I took pictures of.

      Glad you enjoyed it!

  6. grannyK says:

    I would not want a huge home like that. I wouldn’t mind having a slightly bigger place than we have now, though!. Six adults in a 1500 square foot, 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom home is just crowded. We converted the dining room into a bedroom and there was an enclosed makeshift room off the patio that we use as a bedroom, too. My daughter and I bunk together in a room that is about 10 x 11 and I sleep on a 4 ft love seat. We are packed in like sardines! lol

  7. I used to love cycling along the bicycle trail in Palm Beach, trying to pick which house I wanted to live in. There was one with this enormous banyan tree, really loved that tree! I’ve been in a couple of those beautiful Mizner houses, a friend of mine was a real estate agent there. They are very spacious and I’m sure you would settle in quickly if you were forced to live in one. Humans adapt very easily to new surroundings and challenges. I don’t think you’re expected to clean the house yourself though when you own a McMansion 😉

  8. Basharr says:

    Finding Steve’s house it is spiders one must look for spiders, the clown in the end was a spider, the dark tower series was loaded with spiders,Insomnia,and in Desperation there are many more like in The Sisters of Eluria.I believe deep down Mr. Kings fear is spiders.

    You are correct, at least for me I would find myself holed up in a single room of one of those mansions as I do not see a need nor desire for such a huge home.and the thought of the cost to heat it in the winter and cool it in the summer is above my pay grade.

    Home is what we make of it, the memories we fill it with the good times we have within it and the comfort a roof over ones head provides.

    Great post..

    • M E McMahon says:

      You know, it’s rare that I run into a fellow King fan that actually read all the Gunslinger series. I will definitely keep my eyes open for them next time!

      • Basharr says:

        Oh man I have the physical books as well as the entire series on my Kindle my wife and I are avid fans of Stephen Kings writings. Did you read the last book in the DT series The Wind Through The Keyhole? I am have pre-ordered Doctor Sleep which goes on sale Sept 24.

        “Stephen King returns to the character and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, The Shining, in this instantly riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance and the very special twelve-year-old girl he must save from a tribe of murderous paranormals” Courtesy of Amazon.com

      • M E McMahon says:

        I have pre-ordered Doctor Sleep…haven’t read the Wind yet. Must get that one. Have you read any by his son, Joe Hill. I must say, I’m quite taken with his style…especially his first novel..Heart Shaped Box.

      • Basharr says:

        I have read “Throttle” By Joe Hill and Stephen King I believe, it is a short story and I did enjoy it. You must read the Wind Through The Keyhole I believe I have an unlocked version for Kindle if you would like I could email it. I found it a wonderful read and a perfect addition to the DT series.

      • M E McMahon says:

        Just downloaded it but thanks! I’ll get back to you when I’ve finished it!

  9. Bastet says:

    Yeah! You made a photo blog…a Sunday trip! Fantastic post m’am! And what houses…fantastic…especially the last one! I just might enclude you in the Pixelventures as one my Unexpecteds of the week! 🙂

  10. I learned a long time ago that it’s not the house that makes the home, but the love that is inside.

  11. Gwen Stephens says:

    Great, entertaining post! Love the photos. I also live in an affluent area that’s overrun with McMansions. “Tear down” neighborhoods are all the rage here (neighborhoods in which older homes are purchased, torn down, and a McMansion is built in its place). Our humble, 3-bedroom abode was built in 1980, and it suits us just fine.

  12. I jumped over here from The Paperbook Blog post today. I loved this post about the McMansions! Your writing is very engaging, and your photos are stunning. –John

Leave a Reply

