Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Packing On The Pounds

on August 25, 2013

5564

A couple of weeks ago, I stepped on the scale and screamed.  I knew I had packed on a few pounds lately…I just wasn’t aware that I had gained so much weight!  I sat down and went through the five stages that mark any shocking revelation I meet.

Denial…the dryer is shrinking my clothes again.  Bad Dryer!

Anger…it’s Danny’s fault for asking me to bake all those goodies.  He knows I can’t resist a fresh-baked brownie!

Bargaining…I’ll give up the sweets if I can keep my pasta!

Depression…(this is also known as a Pity Party around this house)…I feel so lousy about gaining weight that I’ll just stuff this pastry in my mouth.

Acceptance…the pounds must go.

So, I considered my options.  Weight Watchers was of course the first thing to pop into my mind.  While it’s a very good program…I don’t have time to go to “weigh-ins” with the other woman in my weight bracket and try to yell “Yahoo!” when I shed 1/2 pound.  Nope, that’s not the way to go for me.

The second option was for me to just cut all the sweets, potatoes, and pasta…basically, I would stuff my face with “rabbit food”…lettuce…more lettuce…and even more lettuce with a small portion of meat with it.  I had tried this diet before and had absolutely no success.  Danny would find me in the cake plate in the middle of the night with German chocolate cake jammed in my mouth and cake crumbs tumbling off my chin.

“I was sleep walking!” I would tell him.

“You were sleep stuffing” he would answer.

The third choice was to go out and find a sensible weight loss plan and stick to it. So, I looked on the Internet and found a great site called Spark People and started a 1200-1500 calorie diet.  The FREE program comes with a great tracking system that breaks down your intake into carbs, fat and proteins and lets you eat regular food.  Not a hell of a lot of it, but it’s teaching me about portion control and sensible eating habits!

Of course, many foods I love would consume my daily calorie allowance in one bite, so I have had to make some sacrifices.  But, I’m committed to losing these unwanted pounds since my back and legs cannot tolerate the extra load.

And, of course, I had to get off my lazy butt and start an exercise regimen.  Ugh…I hate exercise!  WITH A PASSION!  But, since I don’t believe a word that Dr. Oz says about all those magical pills that turn you into a svelte size ten in ten days…I knew I had to start walking.  Walking is something I have only done in the past when absolutely necessary…like getting to my car fifty feet from my front door.

The first day I struck out into the open walkways, I felt a little embarrassed by the family of turtles that sped by me.  But, I soldiered on and now I walk a mile a day in 30 minutes and am hoping to increase that to two miles by next week.  I’m determined to wipe those smiles off those turtles!

After seven days of dieting, it was time to step on the scale.  This was the moment that would decide if I wanted to continue with the diet or just settle back with a Twinkie in my hand and say “The hell with it!”

To my delight, three pounds have been left by the roadside!  Happy Dance!

Now, on day ten, I find that the diet isn’t so hard, the walking is actually becoming something I look forward to and my dream of fitting into my “skinny” jeans by November just might happen after all.

Wish me luck!

38 responses to “Packing On The Pounds

  1. feel the same way, hun, I fo9und out last thurs. that I had gained a total of 38lbs. since this past January.. I was so angry!!

  2. Bastet says:

    Ok…so we become a team…since my knee went out on me last spring, I put on just about 15 chilos…doesn’t sound bad ’til you translate into pounds, that’s just about 30 lbs. I’ve been counting the calories and the is melting…then I Lu does a Lu thing and I want to rund for a hand full of peanuts! :-/

    • M E McMahon says:

      Hey…teamwork is the best! Check out that site Spark People and check it out. All I have to do is enter what I want to eat and they do the figuring for us. I found it an easy way to count calories, carbs, fats and protein. They are here: http://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/nutrition.asp

      I know that it’s been working for me. I don’t have any urges…I eat 3 meals a day and two snacks…real food! The best snack I eat is a Jello Chocolate Sugar Free Pudding cup…really curbs that urge for sweets!

      Let me know how you’re doing and I’ll keep you up to date on my progress! WE CAN DO THIS!

  3. Good luck! You can do it! I wouldn’t mind a few pounds if some of it goes to my boobs. Unfortunately, they never do. They always get stuck on my stomach.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Oh…trust me. I look like the Pillsbury Dough boy. Only difference is when you poke my tummy…it’s solid! It’s funny how we lose in the places we don’t want and not the ones we want? The first place weight loss looks obvious on me is with my boobs and my legs…the areas I least want to slim down!

  4. btg5885 says:

    I have added a few over the summer as my walking and swimming routine was impacted by college visits, kids to camp trips, etc. I resembled your animal on the scale. Best wishes on your journey. I am glad you are walking as it is the best exercise to sustain in spite of my comments above. Take care, BTG

  5. Aurora says:

    Weight has always been a struggle for me. I keep having to remind myself that I just had a baby not long ago, and not to be too hard on myself. I have lost every pound I gained while pregnant, but I haven’t managed to lose any more than that. (I wasn’t thin even before) For some reason, no matter how little I eat, my body seems to not want to let me get below 200 pounds. I walk as much as the huge hills here in Pittsburgh will let me without me passing out and rolling head over heels back down again. I may give that site a look and see maybe if there’s something I’m just not doing right here.

    • M E McMahon says:

      I know that learning the right things to eat in the right amounts are the key to a successful weight loss. This program just made it easy for me. If you need a dieting buddy, keep in touch and we’ll get through this together. By the way, baby weight is perhaps the hardest to lose but those little ones are so worth it!

  6. erink says:

    I just wrote about the woes of dieting and all the conflicting information regarding nutrition out there. It can be so frustrating. I’ve got 15 to go before I’ll be satisfied…UGH. Painful isn’t it? Well, here’s to willpower and skinny jeans!! Good luck!!

    • M E McMahon says:

      I’ve got a goal of shedding 20 lbs. Last year, I lost 30 due to stress and giving up drinking. But, it slowly creeped back up until I now have to think about the food I eat.

      My most painful sacrifice has been spaghetti and meatballs….ohhhh, how I miss them!

      Thanks for the comment and let’s just “get her done” and celebrate our loss…keep me updated!

  7. Basharr says:

    Depression, pity part call it what you want, My wife has seasonal depression, winter has a negative effect on her. We found that over the counter Vitamin D has been a great help for her. Now on to weight gain, I am a big guy 6’2″ and usually weigh about 260, I went to the doctor last week (the only time I step on a scale) and had gained 6 pounds. Now back in the day this would not alarm me because I was an avid hiker but now most of my hiking is to my driveway where I hop in the car even if I am just going a block away.I told my wife I have decided to quit working for the six-pack abs and just go for the keg look. =)

    • M E McMahon says:

      I know what you mean! For months now I’ve been shouting…”Hey, I’m 62 and I can be plump if I want to!” The problem is, I don’t feel well when I weigh more than 10 lbs over my goal weight…so the diet is on!

      I’ll look into the vitamin D but my depression came from stress over my sons. I’ve had clinical depression before though and luckily, this time I was able to pull myself up without meds.

      Thanks for the comments!

  8. bittygirl51 says:

    I do, indeed, wish you much luck! Sparkpeople is great. I am on there(not currently active) and have been since 2009. I got on there after I lost 55 lbs. with Weight Watchers. I worked as a leader for WW for over four years and got on SP to further my healthy lifestyle education. I would just caution you about the “chats” you will get into. Much of the info you will receive on SP from folks is inaccurate. WW is based on sound scientific data – SP, some is very debateable.

    I too have gained 20 lbs in the last year to year and a half. I am the FT caregiver for my 93 yr. old bedfast MIL and until Friday was taking care of two grandsons five days a week. My lifestyle changed so drastically – that it was virtually impossible to exercise and eat the way I had been to maintain my 55 lb. loss. Unfortunately, the weight began to slowly creep back on.

    I would remind you as I have so many that it’s not the program, but you that determines your outcome. #1 Tracking your intake daily #2 Holding yourself accountable by weighing (weekly not daily), #3 Having a support network #4 Eating a high fiber/low fat diet #5 Limiting your sugar ..blah, blah, blah

    No matter what you do, WW, SP, Jenny Craig, Metabolic Research etc; – some are better than others and some are downright dangerous (they shall remain unnamed)..Consistent, and dedicated exercise is imperative!

    I am with you. My start date is Sept. 1. Tomorrow I will begin having just one 2 yr. old grandson to care for. We will be going to the park with the jogging stroller on a more consistent basis and I will be renewing my gym membership for fall. Who knows, maybe I will even get back on SP…since I just detest the WW meetings in my area. Maybe we can hook up over there and be accountability partners. It’s where my “blogging” first began.

    Congrats on the 3 lbs. and I look forward to hearing more good reports!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Thanks for the info. I haven’t gone into the “chats” as yet and probably won’t…unless you notify me and then I’ll get on to be your accountability partner.

      I agree..some diets out there are unhealthy and dangerous. I worked for a diet center years and years ago and the main thing I learned is that to lose weight and maintain that loss…you must learn to eat properly.

      Thanks for the encouragement!

  9. Patty O says:

    You go girl! I have to start the diet soon too. But first the MN State Fair. My youngest has a piece of artwork she’s showing there and of course we’ll have to enjoy a few treats there, so maybe next weekend. My pounds have to go too. Nothing fits right! Ugh!

  10. Aurora says:

    Eating well may be the key, but it’s not always possible for me. What’s healthiest usually isn’t what’s cheap enough for us for us to afford. With diapers and formula alone running us about $250 a month on the average, the adults kinda have to eat on the cheap around here. At the moment I am almost living on pasta and whatever kind of cereal is cheapest this week, meat, and fruits and veggies that don’t come out of a can are a rare treat around here with how much the price has risen after last years drought. I think a lot of people on a fixed income tend to have the same problems.

  11. Kevin says:

    Don’t worry about the turtles passing you by….you’ll catch them next time!

  12. mummyshymz says:

    LOL! Sleep stuffing?! Good luck with the program… I think I need to lose some weight too!

  13. Geraldine says:

    Following your blog now. 🙂

  14. mcwoman says:

    Be sure and post a picture of you in the skinny jeans! You’re an inspiration for the rest of us chubby writers.

  15. Gwen Stephens says:

    Glad to know I’m in good company. I gain weight every summer without fail…probably because I don’t work in summer, so I fall out of my routine and munch my way to a few extra pounds. But school is back in session now, so hopefully those few extra pounds will find company with yours! Weight loss is hard work, and being a writer doesn’t help — too many hours sitting on your rear. Keep up the good work, Crank!

    • M E McMahon says:

      I believe that the long hours with my butt in front of the laptop is the primary reason for the poundage, too! That’s why I knew calories weren’t the only method of attack I needed…walking must happen!

  16. […] Packing On The Pounds (crankycaregiver.wordpress.com) […]

  17. AnswerIt says:

    I agree that sitting at the computer is the main cause for weight gain. I picked up 8kg since January and was shocked when I got on the scale and discovered what had happened. Here is a tip that is working for me. Eat a sprinkle of pumpkin seeds sprinkled over breakfast or lunch after about 15 minutes the craving/hunger/snack urges subside.

    • M E McMahon says:

      My weight gain comes from horrific eating habits…not cravings. I might go all day and not eat a thing and then spend the evening gobbling every thing in sight.

      My diet now depends on my eating at least 3 times a day…and sometimes I have to force myself to do it! But, the pounds are slowly dropping off and I’m training my body to eat properly.

      Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

