Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

The Wacky Walk

on August 28, 2013

woman-running-6W

I decided to add a little excitement to my morning walk this A.M.  Since it was Wordless Wednesday, I came up with the hair brained idea of taking a picture of the sun coming up over the lake at the end of our street!  Wow, I thought, those pictures will be sure to knock my friend Bastet’s socks off!

I donned my walking shorts, a thin tee-shirt, my new, pristine white Dr. Scholl’s sneakers and jammed a baseball cap over the Wally World haircut I got the other day that now makes me look like Bozo the clown.  Grabbing my water bottle and my cheap digital camera, I headed out the door.  I had a plan!

The one and one-half mile walk I take each day consists of circling the same block three times (I fear getting lost among the streets in my development…they all look the same and one gets easily confused.)  Each complete circle around the block takes fifteen minutes (the turtles make it in ten…but whatever!) and I wanted to capture the sunrise in stages so I felt that one shot each time I reached the lake would do the trick!  Round one I walked to the mound that surrounds the lake and raised the camera to take the first shot.

I forgot about the heavy rainfall the evening before and wound up slipping down the wet, slimy mound and succeeded in getting my legs covered in lake slime.   I did remember that there are snakes and gators in the lake so I crawled back up the mound on my hands and knees, took the picture and resumed walking with mud covered legs.  I passed two neighbors who usually greet me with a “Good Morning” and became confused when they just waved a weak hello.

I reach the lake once again and prepare to take the second shot.  I raise the camera and step up to take the perfect shot.  My now not so pristine white Dr. Scholls disappear into a hole in the mound and I once again wind up flat on my butt.  Wincing in pain from an ankle that doesn’t appreciate being turned in new directions, I pulled myself up again and took the second shot.

I was beginning to doubt the wisdom of straying from my normal path to take these damn pictures.  But, I am a Warrior, I told myself!  I limped off to finish my walk with mud crusted legs, a grass-covered behind and a hope that I would live to take the last shot.   Two more residents of my neighborhood approached and turned their heads as they passed me…probably because I now resembled a manic clown returning from a mud wrestling competition.  The last fifteen minutes of my walk to the lake was actually more of a walk..limp..walk regimen but I did make it to the lake.

This time, I scanned the terrain for possible traps that would cause me further bodily harm.  I took the last shot and headed home, mission accomplished and only a bit worse for wear.  Okay, I was scraped, dirty and crawled the last few feet up our driveway, but I did make it home alive!

After showering off the mud and slime, I limped to my laptop and posted the pictures on my sister site “A Dream Come True” so if you want, you can click on Mrs. Gulch to the right of this post and take a peek or you can see them by clicking here.  I hope that since I risked life and limb taking these pictures, that Bastet is happy and that you enjoy them.  I do think that it’ll be awhile before I repeat this wacky walk!

I have to go now and put an ice pack on my ankle.

Love,

Cranky

20 responses to “The Wacky Walk

  1. Bastet says:

    I’ll write later…din-din time 😉 and thanks!

  2. mewhoami says:

    It does sound like quite an adventurous walk. Although it wasn’t me who got covered in mud, I’d like to say it was worth it, because the pictures are beautiful. Hopefully your next walk is a little less eventful. However, incidents like these make for great blogging material!

    • M E McMahon says:

      All in all, it was worth the effort! I’ve received a lot of positive feedback on the pics…but I think I’ll stick to writing. Less risky to the old bones! 🙂

  3. tric says:

    I saw those pictures earlier. Well you know what they say, “every picture tells a story”. Funny the story above isn’t the story i read on wordless wednesday!

  4. Gwen Stephens says:

    What a typically Cranky tale! Gave me a nice after-work smile. Heading over to the sister site to have a look!

  5. Well I hope you are ok and now look what happened to wordless Wednesday, lol. 🙂 Thanks for your support!!!!!

  6. ioniamartin says:

    That sounds like quite an adventure. I am sorry about your ankle:(

  7. grannyK says:

    We could be related. This sounds like something that would happen to me! I admire your determination!

  8. Bastet says:

    OMG…first of all when I saw Mrs. Gulch I said; Who’s filtched Cranky’s old avatar! What is this some spammer doing a mascharade trying to get me to open their post…but then voilà..it was you! Happy to see Mrs. Gulch and this piece made me laugh my butt off. Thought I realize that is naughty of me, it was just so funny in the good old Grandma Says style we’ve all loved and missed. How can I express the joy of someone going out to face the elements and risking life and limb to make me happy! I saw you photos before I saw this post of course and they’re not bad at all. Now, I’m going to borrow them for a mo’ and will send them back to you via e-mail. You are the sweetest Cranky person I’ve ever met. A big hug and hope your ankle gets better quick! As the Italians say TVB (which means ti voglio bene which means I love you in a platonic sister sister way) Bastet!

    • M E McMahon says:

      I thought you knew that I had a sister site…for some crazy reason I decided to have one site for fun (Grandma Says) and one that is all about my journey in writing (Dream Come True). I’ve gotten a decent following on the new site, so I guess I was too wrong to start it! Hard to put my serious face on at times though!

      But don’t worry…crazy old Cranky will always be around.

      • Bastet says:

        I remember that you couldn’t use Mrs. Gulch and your serious face at the same time…in fact your back to Mrs. MaMahon now again, It was seeing Mrs. Gulch that threw me!

      • M E McMahon says:

        Somehow..Mrs. Gulch pops up now and again..I have no idea when she’s going to do it! Must be a WPress glitch!

  9. […] writer would do on her other blog she wrote of the adventure it was to get those photos “A Wacky Walk“.  Take a few minutes if you haven’t done so yet and have a look.  You’ll love […]

Leave a Reply

