Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Premature Post Phenomenon

on September 6, 2013

canstock10525524

Yesterday, I started a post for the WordPress Award.  Somehow, someway, somebody pushed the Publish button instead of the Save Draft.  Consequently, the stupid post went to the reader bearing only a title and a picture of the award.

The worst part of the situation is that I wasn’t aware of what happened right away.  While I was busy collecting nominee names, comments and likes started coming in for a post that I didn’t even know went out to the public!  I hurried over and marked it trash (easy to trash when there was hardly any work done on it).

I want to apoligize to anyone who took the time to put a Like or Comment on the post…and I sincerely hope that when I get the post finished…you will take a second look.  I have a great list of nominees ready but will be unable to complete the post until this weekend.

So, mea culpa and I hope you all have a great Friday!

Cranky

4 responses to “Premature Post Phenomenon

  1. grannyK says:

    I’m sorry but I’m just giggling away over here!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Would you believe that I taught software computer classes at one time! Of course, in all fairness to me, the technology was still very limited and I’m still trying to keep up with all the do’s and don’t…and one of the do’s is to pay attention to what I’m doing…at my age, not always easy to do! 🙂

      No reason to be sorry…I would have giggled too!

  2. Sallyann says:

    I’ve done this before too, and received a like on the post. The problem is, the post was completely empty and there was nothing to like.
    I’m usually the first to give someone the benefit of the doubt but in this case, and probably many other cases by the same person before and since, I’ve had to conclude that the like button on the reader has just been clicked in hope of a return visit without even looking at the actual blog.
    Hold on to the possibility that the like was for actually getting the reward and not for the post with the acceptance, otherwise it leaves you with a feeling of betrayal.
    Congrats on the reward anyway, looking forward to your acceptance speech. 🙂

    • M E McMahon says:

      One of my pet peeves is when I do publish a post and check the reader to see if it actually got out there (I’ve had problems like that before) before I can scoot over to the reader…someone has hit “Like”. I agree that it is to get a read back from the writer of the post…and I also feel insulted when it happens.

      I spend a lot of time (normally) working on a post and if someone isn’t going to read it…fine! But, don’t hit the like button just because you think it will bring readers to your site. I’ve got one that does it all the time! But, eventually they will learn that you must produce good posts in order to be read so they will give up after a while…I hope!

Leave a Reply

