Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Breaking News…Cranky’s Back!

on September 18, 2013

61942

Yes, my friends, after a long period of silence, I’m finally able to jump back into my “other” life here on WordPress.  And, oh, how I have missed being here.  But, the days of my turning a wistful eye towards my laptop are over for now and I hope that it will be a long time before I am dragged out of my WP world again!

An update on Danny…the surgery proved successful but Danny’s recovery has been slow…very slow.  His spirits have been a little on the down side since this was the second life-threatening illness in the past 16 months.  I can’t blame the guy for being scared.  But, I spend each day pointing out even the smallest improvement in his health and assuring him that he will improve even more as time goes by.

Of course, we now have a slew of doctor’s appointments for follow-up care and medication changes that have occurred.  Danny still has a lot of health issues (Hepatitis C, a damaged liver and now this damn ulcer) but I assure him that I’m in this for the long haul and he won’t be facing these challenges alone.  I love the guy and want to not only keep him around but want to make sure that whatever time we have left together is spent looking at the beauty and the humor in the world around us.  After all, that’s the best medicine you can give to someone like Danny!  When I can put a smile on his face or comfort him when he’s down…then I know I’m doing what’s right for him.

I can not begin to thank all of you for the thoughts, prayers and good energy you sent our way during this difficult time.  There are no words to express how much that meant to me but the tears in my eyes might give you some insight into how touched I was to read all your comments!

So, although a large part of my day is still spent on Danny’s care; I hope to be able to spend time daily keeping up with all your adventures and sharing some of mine.

I want to end this with a kernel of wisdom that I have gleaned from going through these health events with Danny.  There is no promise of tomorrow, so please, make sure that your time spent with your friends and loved ones is filled with laughs, love and hugs.

Again, thanks for all your love, support and well wishes.  But, be warned, Cranky is back!  And she’s got a lot to say!

Love,

Cranky

31 responses to “Breaking News…Cranky’s Back!

  1. Glad to have you back. Pass on my regards to your Superior Other Half. 🙂

  2. Bastet says:

    I’m so relieved that things are getting back to “normal” and Danny is doing better. You’re such a bright soul, that I’m sure Danny won’t be able to stay down in the dumps…hmm what the calendar all about? What’s so special about Oct. 15?

    • M E McMahon says:

      Oct 15 is a day that I look forward to ALL summer! That’s the day the humidity takes a hike and the glorious winters of Florida begin. At least, that’s the day I hope it happens…it’s usually pretty spot on, believe it or not.

      I am also glad to be back among the living and among my friends here! Thanks so much for everything!

  3. Welcome back! I love your newly found wisdom about living life fully in the present moment and to the best that you can (even if thats not always perfect or what you would like), and yes love and hugs, always, and also to the two of you, xox

  4. bittygirl51 says:

    Welcome back, Cranky! I’m so sorry to hear about your “SO” or “SOH” aka Danny, but he’s blessed to have a woman that’s committed and fully invested in his well being. Our traditional vows that say “in sickness & in health” are often downplayed or eliminated all together nowadays. “Old fashioned” is often the right thing to do. May God richly bless you both and keep you in His care. If you haven’t been reading lately – I lost Granny Friday, Sept 6th. God saw fit to take her home and did it in such a loving and gentle way. I feel like I’ve lost my purpose and am floundering like a ship without a rudder right now…but know I will get back on the bandwagon real soon. Enjoyed reading.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Please accept my condolences on your loss. God takes the good ones and does so gently…I’ve always believed that!

      I know you feel a hole in your heart right now, but Granny would want you to fill it back up as soon as you can! I have faith that you’ll do so.

      We’re here for you!

  5. Basharr says:

    Good to see you have returned, the older we get the longer we take to heal. Tell Danny to be patient and keep on his required schedule (meds, exercise, etc) I know recuperation takes time and it is frustrating, the thing he probably needs most is to get comfortable understanding time, lots of time heals all things.=) Best wishes to you both.

    • M E McMahon says:

      Oh, from your lips to the Master of the Universe’s ears! We have a follow-up appt. with Doctor tomorrow and I’m certainly going to make sure that Dan’s recuperation is going as expected.

      By the way, read the Wind Through the Keyhole…WOW…it was great to be back in the Borderlands! Now I’m counting the days till the 25th for Dr. Sleep!

  6. mewhoami says:

    Welcome back! You’ve been missed. I am so glad to hear that Danny is recovering. Although it’s a slow process, at least he’s been given the opportunity to go through the process. I agree – we are not promised tomorrow. We must cherish the time we have with our loved ones.

  7. btg5885 says:

    Cranky’s back and your going to be in trouble, shay-na, shay-no, Cranky’s back. Please sing to “My Boyfriend’s Back” which dates me terribly. I am glad Danny’s doing better. Give him well wishes from this Old Fart. You take care and do more of the things you love doing together. You can hold his hand as well. He is lucky to have you around. All the best. BTG

    • M E McMahon says:

      I laughed when I read this since I’ve haven’t been able to get that darn tune out of my head since I wrote the post! Hey, we were lucky to be around when you could understand the lyrics to a song! 🙂 Thanks again for all the good wishes!

  8. btg5885 says:

    I think it is John Fogerty’s fault when he started singing about “the bathroom on the right.” Or maybe it was Jimi Hendrix singing about “Excuse me while I kiss this guy.” :>)

  9. Welcome back! Sending lots of positive thoughts your way for both you and Danny. Keep the faith and just keep smiling “Cranky”! 🙂

  10. barbtaub says:

    I’ve been away too, and am finally returning with the same message. I’m glad you’re back, and best wishes to Danny. He’s lucky to have you!

    • M E McMahon says:

      My condolences, my friend, on the passing of your mom. There are never the right words for a time like this except to say that she is at peace now and will be watching over you!

      Thanks so much for your kind words!

  11. Aurora says:

    She’s got a chicken to ride?…anyway good to see you back. I am glad things are going better 🙂

  12. John says:

    Welcome back …. glad that Danny is getting better each day … that’s great news.

    Be sure to take care of yourself too …

Leave a Reply

