Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Cranky’s Believe It Or Not

on October 2, 2013

1588622_vb

As some of you may know, I finally got back to blogging a few weeks ago after having to stop to nurse Danny, my SO after his hospital stay for a bleeding ulcer.  Then, last week, increasing pain in my stomach and back forced me to the Emergency Room and I had to stay for three days for tests.  UGH!  After being released, bed rest has been mandatory and this is the first chance I’ve had to try and sit in a chair long enough to chat a bit with you.

I can’t believe that my pain was due to walking my rambunctious puppy two miles a day.  Evidently, his pulling and jumping on the leash resulted in pulling all the muscles in my back and my stomach!  So, I guess a new exercise regime will be required or I fear that my precious puppy may have to find another home.  I am signing him up for behavior classes in a last ditch effort to keep him here…it’s all up to him!

I did come to believe that I was not meant to diet!  After three weeks of dieting (and never cheating) Dan was put in the hospital.  I was back on track for one week and then I got thrown in the hospital.  So, the diet is on hold and all my concentration is going to be on getting our health back, catching up with my blogging buddies and my writing projects.

I hope you all will still visit even if my posts are erratic since I would hate to lose touch with all of you!  Well, back to the heating pad and my pain killers…we’ll talk soon!  Believe it or not!

Love,

Cranky

36 responses to “Cranky’s Believe It Or Not

  1. Basharr says:

    Cranky, glad you are back I was worried it was further issues with Danny. Look my wife an I are huge dog people, our Lab was a puller, a jumper, very erratic on the leash it got to the point we dreaded walking him at all. We ended up purchasing the Cesar Millan Illusion Training collar and I kid you not the very first walk with that leash was awesome and we used it for a couple months and then back to regular leash with no further problems. Just a thought, Have a great day I am going back to bed…lol

  2. I hope you both get better soon!

  3. Gwen Stephens says:

    Best of health, Crank. I check up regularly on your blogs and look forward to your posts. ❤

  4. TamrahJo says:

    Rest and get well – we’ll be here, anxiously awaiting your return!
    🙂

  5. btg5885 says:

    Best wishes on a fast mend. I hate it when my body aches or back hurts and I can’t remember why. At least you have it diagnosed. When I hike or walk, it is sans animals, so I can enjoy the surrroundings and not hurt myself. All the best, BTG

  6. mewhoami says:

    Just when you think things are getting back to normal… I am so sorry to hear about what you’ve been going through. I sure hope you will be feeling better soon, and that Danny is feeling well also.

    • M E McMahon says:

      We’re both slowly getting back to normal..if feeling frustrated at not being able to do the regular things we enjoy is back to normal.

      But, time heals all wounds…so hopefully soon we’ll both be kicking our heels again!

  7. bittygirl51 says:

    I can totally relate to your dilemma. I also am “well intentioned” and still trying to eat right, but once Granny passed and I made a conscience decision to get fit once again, I managed to throw my back out lifting the grandson in and out of the car (which put a kabosh on the gym for awhile) and then, I no sooner get my back well and get back to the gym, I managed to get planter’s facitis in my left heel after a long neighborhood walk!! As I often like to say, “I can’t win for losing”…Grrrrrr… Heel on ice, and almost mended. Been 10 days.

  8. Not quite 40 says:

    Yes, I’m still here. Look after yourself, and I’ll see you when you feel better!

  9. I hope you are both on the mend I had a small hiccup with a virus that had me in hostpital recently and it slowed my creative process down. I guess we have to go with the flow. Stay well and keep us posted.

  10. M E McMahon says:

    Reblogged this on A Dream Come True and commented:

    Cranky’s back…again!

  11. I was getting ready to send the search team out looking for you – knew you’d been away too long! Get well soon and I will be watching for you!

  12. grannyK says:

    Get better fast!

  13. Of course we will visit. Hope all gets better

  14. Bastet says:

    Oh dear…I was getting worried and now I know I was right! So sorry for the back problems etc…hope you can get the problem with your walking mate sorted out. Hope your problems have decided to move on now!

  15. barbtaub says:

    Sorry to hear about the back and puppy problems. Seems like you and Danny just can’t catch a break. I do hope you’ll be back full strength soon, but Do. Not. Push. It. Really.

  16. barbtaub says:

    Oh, and screw the diet. Sometimes chocolate is the only answer.

Leave a Reply

