Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Happy Days Are Here Again

on October 15, 2013

blkgranny

Why is Cranky dancing?  Why is she jumping for joy?  What’s the reason for her grin spreading ear to ear?

No, the Government Shutdown isn’t over.  No, she didn’t win the Lottery.  No, she didn’t wake up and find that she’s a best-selling author overnight.

No, my friends, none of the above are the reason that I now wake up looking forward to each day with a new, rejuvenated desire to greet the morning.  I’m just slap happy that the summer has ended…the humidity is gone and the sun is no longer burning up every living thing.

Our fall usually starts around October 15th…the calendars say September, but here in Florida we don’t get any relief from the sweltering heat until October.  We don’t get the pretty fall leaves, we don’t get pumpkin patches sprouting up by the roadside and the logs aren’t crackling in the fireplace.

What we get is beautiful mornings in the 70’s and the highs in the mid 80’s during the day (and the mid 80’s feel like the mid 80’s…not the low 100’s).  We get to go to the beach and be able to walk on the sand without peeling the skin off our feet.  We get to open our cars and not be blasted with the stored up heat it’s accumulated.

This week has been right on the mark.  The humidity dropped, the skies are clear and the roads are still relatively easy to ride (most of our Northern folk don’t come down here until November.)  So, I’m a very happy camper!

I am removing the “countdown” calendar from my site and hope that it will be a nice long winter for us here in Florida.  Heck, the coldest I’ve seen it get here in dead winter is the 30’s…bring it on I say!

So, I hope that everyone is enjoying their fall….I know I am!  Well, I have to dance on out of here now.  I hear some gardening that I’ve been dying to do all summer calling me!

Love,

Cranky

21 responses to “Happy Days Are Here Again

  1. It is good to find something to celebrate!

  2. barbtaub says:

    Cranky, we DO have pumpkins and crisp clear nights and trees painted every possible shade of red and gold. I’m about to start the wood stove (first time this season!) and I have to agree with you. I love Autumn!

    • M E McMahon says:

      If I had to name the one season I miss from my time up North, it would be the fall. BUT! The sacrifice is worth it when I’m wearing a sweater while Northerners are wearing long johns! 🙂

    • Bastet says:

      Italians didn’t do Halloween until a few years back…but now pumpkins have popped up here too…I started the wood fire day before yesterday! Autumn is great, but I agree Cranky…it’s the winters that makes one shudder! ‘m still considering the Canary Islands one day! 😉

  3. mewhoami says:

    Good to see you so happy! You’ve got some good dance skills too. Since you like the cooler weather, I’ll be glad to trade you. You can enjoy this lovely snow in Colorado and I will be more than happy to take your 30’s in the winter. Let me know when your ready to switch places. 🙂

    • M E McMahon says:

      Sorry, I haven’t seen snow in 25 years…it’s still not long enough for me after those harsh New England Winters! The winters here are the reward we get for living through the summers! 🙂

  4. btg5885 says:

    Maybe the gators will leave you alone in this cooler weather. Enjoy.

  5. bittygirl51 says:

    Sounds like E. Texas weather!! October 15 is about when we start getting a break too…not much change in the leaf color tho. We also don’t get much break in the humidity so…although it has been a tad bit cooler still very muggy!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Palm trees and scrub brush don’t change color here! But, the humidity does leave! Isn’t it nice though not to feel like you’re walking in a furnace? Stay cool, my friend!

  6. Brenda says:

    I’m enjoying fall. I’m a Northern, but plan to visit Florida for the first time in a long time in February. Yep, taking the kids to Disney. I’ve never been myself.

  7. Sallyann says:

    I just love the picture of the dancing grandma. It’s the same one I found online and sent to Mum-in-law’s phone when she first joined us in the 21st century with a phone with pictures. 😀

Leave a Reply

