Grandma Says..

Observations and views from a different set of eyes

Guess Where Cranky’s Headed?

on October 26, 2013

elderly3Some of you might have noticed that Cranky’s been kinda quiet for the past week. Well, I’ve been pretty busy working on something that has been on my bucket list for a very, very, long time.

Need a hint? Okay, here it is!

leerkrachten40

Yes, my friends, I’m going back to school! I have spent the last week going back and forth to Keiser University and jumping through the hoops necessary to enroll for my Associate of Arts Degree!

Whaaat?  Wondering how I’m going to take care of Danny, the house, and be a full-time student? Well, all of the classes are going to be Online and I only take one class per month. I’m sure that those 30 days are intensive, but since I’m sitting home twiddling my thumbs I decided to give it a shot.

My goal is to get my Associates Degree and, if I’m still alive and kicking once I get my diploma, I’m going on to get a degree in Journalism. Why?  Because I want to…and I’ve always dreamed of being a journalist.

But, what does Danny think of my daring return to the hallowed halls of education? He is proud as punch that I was accepted and has been a strong cheering team through the entire week.

sport-graphics-cheerleading-377102

But, I also think that Danny envisions me turning into the college co-ed he always fantasied about!

sm_53046leg

Sadly, my school clothes will probably look more like this!

elderly41

But, since he’s being great about the whole deal, I might have to go out and get something special to wear for the evenings!  I know I’ll be tired, but I’ll give it my best shot!

elderly34

The man deserves no less!

Seriously, folks, I am so excited and thrilled to have been accepted and to be finally living my life long dream.

Now, they tell me since I only have one course per month, I’ll still have enough time to keep up with my writing and my blogging.  Goodness, I hope so, since I now need the money from a best seller to pay the student loans I signed my soul away today to get!

9721644-this-is-loser-eagle-with-empty-pockets

So, my friends, wish me luck.  I just know that I’ll have lots to tell you as the school year goes on, so hang in there and I’ll keep you updated!

Love,

Cranky

P.S.  You might want to click HERE to find out what other exciting news I got this week!

27 responses to “Guess Where Cranky’s Headed?

  1. […] S.  If you want to know what my other half, Cranky has been up to just click Here or click on Mrs. Gulch’s picture and she’ll give you a ride over to Grandma Says. […]

  2. Bastet says:

    Good for you ME! I’ll add myself to the cheerleader team! yeah for you!

  3. tric says:

    I’m delighted for you. I empathize all too well with the desire for new qualifications and a new path in life. I hope you really enjoy it.

  4. barbtaub says:

    I remember an old advice column, probably Ann Landers, where someone wrote to say they were considering going back to school, but hesitating because of how old they would be when they finished up in four years. Her response was, “How old will you be in four years if you don’t go?”

    Congratulations! This is fantastic news. I don’t have to wish you luck, because I know you will be terrific. But I will say that I hope you don’t disappear into the halls of academe entirely, because we’ll all miss you too much.

  5. Congratulations and good luck! I am so excited for you. You are now among the ranks of what we used to refer to as the NTS “non-tradtional student”. I was once one of them, but nowadays they are much more the norm then they once were.

  6. btg5885 says:

    You are so funny with the school clothes. Good luck on your learning endeavors.

  7. Congratulations on school and your latest publication! What a good year you are having despite a few setbacks! I am really happy for you and proud! I have never regretted going back to school and finishing my degree. More adventures from Cranky – how you spoil us!

  8. M E McMahon says:

    Reblogged this on A Dream Come True and commented:

    Beep..Beep. Watch out for Cranky!

  9. grannyK says:

    Congrats and good luck!

  10. You are so cute. These animations along with your storytelling cracked me up. I’m so excited for you!

  11. Gwen Stephens says:

    Crank, that’s absolutely wonderful! I can sense some great blogging material will come of this new adventure. Isn’t it amazing that you can sit at home and earn your degree? What great times we’re living in. Keep your readers posted!

    • M E McMahon says:

      Yes, online courses were the only way I would commit to continuing my education. This way, Danny is safe and I have the freedom to study at will!

      I’ll definitely keep y’all updated!

  12. D.G.Kaye says:

    Good for you M.E., kudos to you for being so ambitious, you are an inspiration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

